Frequently Asked Questions about Oklahoma Work Permit

What is a work permit?

A work permit is a document which shows the employer that a minor is the legal age to be employed
and that she/he is meeting the compulsory school requirements. Before employment begins, a work
permit must be issued by the school’s Issuing Officer for minors under the age of 16 years.

Can school records or a driver’s license be used as evidence of age?

School records or a driver’s license cannot be accepted as evidence of age. Legal proof of age must be
one of the following in the order listed: birth certificate; certificate of baptism showing date of birth
and place of baptism; passport showing age of child; certificate of arrival in the United States issued
by the United States Immigration Officer and showing age of child; life insurance policy at least one
year old showing age of child; Certificate of Degree of Indian Blood (CDIB) showing date of birth.

Who issues the work permit (also known as Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling)?

The work permit shall be approved by the principal, headmaster, or equivalent administrative officer
of the school which the child attends or should be attending. This person serves as the school’s Issuing
Officer. Employers are not allowed to issue work permits.

What if the minor is homeschooled?

The child’s parent or guardian shall approve such certificate if the child is being schooled at home. To
secure the work permit, the parent or guardian will need to contact the Oklahoma State Department of
Education at (405) 521- 3369.

What are the age requirements?

The minimum age to be employed in Oklahoma is 14 years. A work permit is required for minors under
16 years employed in Oklahoma. Children working either on farms or for parents or any entity in which
a parent owns an equity interest are exempt. Children engaged in the sale or delivery of newspapers to
consumers are also exempt. Review the federal guidelines at www.youthrules.dol.gov for more
information on the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Is a work permit required for minors 16 years of age or over?
State law does not require that a work permit be issued for minors 16 years of age or over. However,

if the employer has a policy requiring that a work permit be issued for all minors under 18 years, the
process to obtain the work permit is issued by the school.

What if the school is closed?

If the school is closed during the summer months, the minor may secure the work permit from the
Superintendent’s Office.
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Is a work permit required for out-of-state minors wishing to work in Oklahoma?

Yes, a work permit is still required for out-of-state minors under 16 years who plan to work in
Oklahoma. Out-of-state minors under 16 years will need to bring evidence of age (i.e. copy of birth
certificate) and a recent transcript to the school district where she/he will be residing over the summer.

What is the process of completing Form 600 - Application to Secure Certificate of Age &
Schooling for Employment?

A student who is at least 14 years of age and in good standing at school may complete the work
permit application (Form 600). The student section, parent/guardian section, and employer section of
the work permit application (Form 600) is to be completed in its entirety. Once the Form 600 is
completed, it is returned to the school where the Issuing Officer verifies that the minor is the legal age
for employment and is meeting the compulsory School Laws, Title 70, Section 10.

On Form 601 - Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling, what happens next?

The school gives a copy of the work permit (Form 601) to the student to take to the employer. The
school sends a copy of the work permit (Form 601) to the Oklahoma Department of Labor (fax number
and mailing address on the top of the form). The school keeps a copy of the work permit (Form 601)
with the work permit application (Form 600) in school records for five years. Form 601 is not released
until Form 600 has been completed and returned to the school’s Issuing Officer.

What is the employer’s obligation once a work permit is issued and on file at the workplace?

The employer is required to comply with all federal and state child labor laws related to hours and
times standards, breaks, and jobs which are prohibited. Those in violation may be cited with a fine.

Is a work permit required during the summer months?

The employer has to have the work permit on file at the workplace, even during the summer months,
for teen workers under 16 years. Those in violation may be cited with a fine.

Is a work permit transferable from one employer to the next or is a work permit to be issued
for each employer?

The work permit is specific and tailored to each employer. Therefore, if a minor under 16 years leaves
one job to go to another, she/he will need to get a work permit for the new employer through the school.

What do employers do with the work permit when the minor is no longer employed?

The employer mails the original work permit to the Oklahoma Department of Labor with a note that
the minor is no longer employed.

Who can | contact to get more information about work permits?
For more information, please contact the Oklahoma Department of Labor (Child Labor Unit) at
statewide toll-free 1-888-269-5353 or 405-521-6591 or the Oklahoma State Department of Education
(School Personnel Records) at 405-521-33609.



