Oklahoma Department of Labor

COMMISSIONER OF LABOR

ELEVATOR LICENSE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

1. How dol become licensed?

e You need to complete the application at the Department of Labor and provide the
required documentation.

2. Dol have to test for licensure?

e You do not have to test for Elevator licensure. Refer to OAC 380:70 — Chapter 5 for all
licensure requirements.

3. Canlrenew online?

e At this time, this option is not available.

4. Canlrenew over the phone?

e No, you will need to provide an application with the required documentation and fee
either in person or by mail.

5. What do | need to send with my application? (either renewal or new)
e For Elevator Apprentice new applicants, you will need to submit the application, copies
of the required personal identification and $25.00 fee.
e For Elevator Mechanic and Inspector renewal applicants, you need to submit the
application, copies of your 8 hours of continuing education, and the required fee. If the
renewal is past expiration, you will need to include an additional $10.00 late fee. If the

certification is expired by more the 30 days, there is a $100.00 reinstatement fee in
additional to the $50.00 fee.

6. What forms of payment do we accept?

o We accept payments by cash, MasterCard, Visa, money order, cashier’s check or check
payable to ODOL

7. How often do | need to get my picture taken?

e You will need to appear in person every 10 years for a new photo.



8. What forms of identification are acceptable?

. A) For U.S. Citizens — A valid, unexpired driver’s license, state issued identification, or
military identification, AND Social Security card, or certified birth certificate, or
unexpired passport, or W-2 form.

B) For Non-US Citizens — state law requires the verification of immigration status (lawful
presence) of all applicants
9. Where do | need to go to have my picture taken?

. You can find a complete list of licensing site from our website
(http://labor.ok.gov/) Click on licensing, and then click on “Processing Site”.

10. Where do | get my license?

. Oklahoma Department of Labor 3017 N Stiles, Suite 100 Oklahoma City, OK from
8:00a - 4:30p Monday — Friday.


http://labor.ok.gov/

