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Oklahoma Department of Labor 

 
Leslie Osborn 

COMMISSIONER OF LABOR 

 
ELEVATOR INSPECTIONS FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

 

1. Does my Elevator need to be inspected?  
Effective November 1, 2006, except as otherwise provided by the Elevator Safety Act, every elevator in this state shall 
be subject to the provisions as required by this act. Within six (6) months of November 1, 2006, the owner or lessee of 
every elevator already in service or put into service by November 1, 2006, shall register the elevator with the 
Department of Labor, giving the type, rated load and speed, name of manufacturer, location of the elevator, and 
purpose for which used, as well as such other information as the Commissioner of Labor may require. Elevators newly 
constructed or installed on or after November 1, 2006, shall be registered and inspected before being put into service.  
 
2. How often do they need to be inspected?  
Inspection frequencies vary. Please refer to OAC 380:70-3-5.  
 
3. Can I schedule an inspection?  
Yes, please provide us what county you are in for us to direct you to the correct inspector for Elevator inspections.  
 
4. How much is it for an inspection?  
Existing elevator – certificate of operation - $25.00  
New elevator – inspection and certification - $150.00  
Elevator Temporary certification - $25.00  
Labor for chief elevator inspector or deputy elevator inspector to perform inspection for issuance of certificate of 
operation:  

a. Any escalator or moving walkway - $125.00  
b. Elevator, two-four floors - $75.00  
c. Elevator, five-ten floors - $100.00  
d. Elevator, eleven floors and over - $125.00  
e. Wheelchair lift - $25.00  
f. Witness Test Fee – (labor charge dependent on the number of floors)  
Alteration Fee (labor charge dependent on the number of floors-could also include a certificate fee if certificate 
is expired)  
g. Third Party inspections – Certificate fee only - $25.00  

 
5. Do I pay from the inspection report or will you send an invoice?  
After inspection is processed you will be invoiced out of our office, please return a copy of the invoice with the payment.  
 
6. Can I get an original invoice?  
Yes, we can reprint an invoice.  
 
7. Has this invoice been paid?  
Please provide the OK# or Invoice# for us to verify if the payment has been made.  
 
8. Can I pay with a credit card? Can I pay Online?  
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Yes, you can pay with a credit over the phone by contacting the Licensing Division at (405)521-6100 or (888)269-5353. 
At this time online payment is not an option.  
 
9. What forms of payment do we accept?  
We accept cash (in person only), MasterCard, Visa, money order, cashier’s check or check payable to ODOL.  
 
10. I received my inspection/invoice but I didn’t get my certificate. Why?  
If an invoice was issued, you will receive your certificate once the fee has been paid. If the fee has been paid, please 
provide us with the OK# and we will verify if we have received payment.  
 
11. Why did I get a certificate of operation for one object but not the other?  
It may expire a different time or it may not have passed inspection. If you provide us with the OK# we can check on it 
for you.  
 
12. What address do I send the payment to?  
Oklahoma Department of Labor 3017 N Stiles, Suite 100, Oklahoma City, OK. 73105  
 


