Youth Farming in Oklahoma

Can Oklahoma youth engage in youth farming?

The state child labor laws do not apply to children working either on farms or for parents or any entity
in which a parent owns an equity interest. Please contact the United States Department of Labor at
1-866-487-9243 or www.dol.gov for more information.

Do federal child labor laws apply to youth engaged in farm jobs?

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) sets standards for child labor in agriculture. These standards
differ from those for non-farm jobs. The FLSA covers employees whose work involves production of
agricultural goods which will leave the state directly or indirectly and become a part of interstate
commerce. Please contact the United States Department of Labor (USDOL) at 1-866-487-9243 or
www.dol.gov for more information.

What minimum age standards does the USDOL set for youth agricultural employment?

Age of Child USDOL Standards

16 and above | May work in any farm job at any time

14 and 15 May work outside school hours in jobs not declared hazardous by the Secretary
of Labor
12 and 13 May work outside of school hours in non-hazardous jobs on farms that also

employ their parent(s) or with written parental consent

under 12 May work outside of school hours in non-hazardous jobs with parental consent,
but only on farms where none of the employees are subject to the minimum wage
requirements of the FLSA

10 and 11 May hand harvest short-season crops outside school hours for no more than 8
weeks between June 1 and October 15 if their employers have obtained special
waivers from the Secretary of Labor

other Youths of any age may work at any time in any job on a farm owned or operated
by their parents

What happens if the state child labor standards differ from federal standards?

Many states have laws setting standards for child labor in agriculture. When both state and federal child
labor laws apply, the law setting the most stringent standard must be observed.

Who enforces the federal child labor laws?

The United States Department of Labor Department enforces the federal child labor laws.
Employers may be fined up to $10,000 for each child labor violation. Therefore, COMPLY.




What agricultural jobs are prohibited for minors under 16?

The USDOL Secretary of Labor declared the following farm occupations to be hazardous for any minor
under 16. Occupations which threaten health and well-being include, but not limited to:

anhydrous ammonia
auger conveyor
automobile driving
automobile passenger
buckling

bus driving

bus passenger

corn picker

cotton picker

crop dryer

driving

earthmoving equipment
explosives

feed grinder

felling

forage blower

forage harvester

operating

passengers

potato combine

potato digger
power-driven band saw
power-driven chain saw
power-driven circular saw
power post drive

power post-hole digger
riding

scaffold

skidding

timber

tractor of over 20 PTO horsepower
tractor helper

tractor implements

tractor parts

fork lift tractor passenger
grain combine tractor riding
hay baler trailer

hay mower transporting
heights over 20 feet trencher

ladder truck

loading truck driving
mobile pea viner truck passenger
nonwalking-type rotary tiller unloading

Working in a yard, pen, or stall occupied by:

A bull, boar, or stud horse maintained for breeding purposes
A sow with suckling pigs
A cow with a newborn calf (with umbilical cord present)

Working inside:

A fruit, forage, or grain storage designed to retain an oxygen-deficient or toxic
atmosphere

An upright silo within two (2) weeks after silage has been added or when a top
unloading device is in operating position

A manure pit

A horizontal silo while operating a tractor for packing purposes

Handling or applying toxic agricultural chemical identified by the words: Danger, Poison, or
Warning or a skull and crossbones on the label.



What exemptions if any apply to youth farming?

The prohibition of employment in hazardous occupations does not apply to youths employed on farms
owned or operated by their parents. In addition, there are some exemptions from the prohibitions:

14 and 15 year old student learners enrolled in vocational agricultural programs are exempt
from certain hazardous occupations when certain requirements are met.

Minors aged 14 and 15 who hold certificates of completion of training under a 4-H or
vocational agriculture training program may work outside school hours on certain equipment
for which they have been trained.

Who do I contact to get more information regarding the federal child labor laws?

United States Department of Labor
866-487-9243
405-231-4158

www.dol.gov
www.youthrules.dol.gov




