
    

                
              

                 
               

 

              
             

                  

  

             
            

              
             

        

            

               
    

            

                   
     

                  
             

       
    

  

Oklahoma Work Permit Instruction Guide
 

Schools 

In accordance with Title 40 Section 79 of the Oklahoma Statutes, the issuing officer is the principal, 
headmaster, or equivalent administrative officer of the school. If the minor is being home-schooled, 
the parent or guardian becomes the issuing officer. In accordance with Title 40 Section 79 of the 
Oklahoma Statues, the issuing officer is prohibited to issue a work permit to minors UNDER 14 
years. 

Employers 

Before employment begins, employers are responsible for having 14 and 15 year old minors obtain 
an Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling (work permit) from their school’s issuing officer. 
Minors 16 years of age and older are not required under state law to get a work permit. 

Work Permit Process 

Principals will download Form 600 (Application to Secure Certificate of Age and Schooling for 
Employment) and Form 601 (Employment Certificate of Age and Schooling) from the Oklahoma 
State Department of Education website located at www.sde.state.ok.us The principal will go to 
"School District Reporting Site" where they will enter their Username and Password. The 
appropriate documents will be on the "Systems Menu" screen. 

1.	 The principal will print Form 600 and give to the student. 

2.	 The student section, employer section, and parental or guardian section will need to be 
completed on the Form 600. 

3.	 The student then returns the completed Form 600 to the principal. 

4.	 The principal will complete Form 601; then print, sign and give one copy of the form to the 
student to take to the employer. 

5.	 The principal will send one copy of the Form 601 to the Oklahoma Department of Labor and 
retain one copy with Form 600 in the school district's records for five years. 

Questions? 

Oklahoma State Department of Education Oklahoma Department of Labor 
School Personnel Records Child Labor Unit 
(405) 521-3369	 (405) 521-6591 


