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14 
Fourteen (14) years is the 
minimum age for work. 

 

Work Permits 
Issued by the school 

14 and 15 year-olds are required 
to get a work permit from their 

school before work begins. 

 

Hours of Work 
14 and 15 year-olds may work: 

 

From Tuesday after Labor Day to 

May 31st 

3 hours on a school day; 
8 hours on a non-school day; 

18 hours in a school week 
between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. 

 

From June 1st to Labor Day 

8 hours on a non-school day; 
40 hours in a non-school week 

between 7 a.m. and 9 p.m. 
 

Break Periods 

30 minutes for every 5 hours worked; 
1 hour for every 8 hours worked 



Some Work Restrictions 
Minors under 16 years CAN NOT 
be employed in work related to: 

 

•Construction 

•Cooking or baking 

•Fryers or grills 

•Hoisting devices 

•Ladders or scaffolds 

•Lawn mower & weed eater, other 
than working for self 

•Loading / unloading 

•Manufacturing, mining or processing 

•Motor vehicles or service as helpers 
on vehicles 
•Power-driven machines or equipment 

•Public messenger service 

•Public utilities and communications 

•Slicers 

•Transportation of persons or 
property by rail, highway, air, water, 
pipeline or other means 

•Warehousing or storage 

•Youth peddling 

 
and any occupation declared particularly 

hazardous by federal law, federal 
regulations or the Commissioner of 

Labor. 
 

Questions? 

Oklahoma Department of Labor 

Child Labor Unit 

3017 North Stiles, Suite 100 

Oklahoma City, OK 73105 

405-521-6100 

1-888-269-5353 

www.labor.ok.gov 
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