- About ODOL
- Safety Inspections & Licensing
- Employment Issues
- Workplace Safety & Health
- Transparency / Rules
- Contact Us
The Public Employees Occupational Safety & Health Division is responsible for the enforcement of workplace safety and health regulations in the public sector, including: city, county, state, public schools and universities, as well as public trusts. These employers do not fall under the jurisdiction of Federal OSHA.
PEOSH is also responsible for rule-making, education and training and limited consultation for public sector employers.
To request an On Site Consultation, fill out this application. PEOSH Consultation Request Form
Workplace Safety & Health Complaints
Who can file a complaint? Employees or their representatives may file a complaint against an employer who has failed to provide a safe and healthful place of employment.
How do I file a complaint? Formal complaints must be in writing on Written Complaint Form and must be signed (or have an electronic signature). Any complaint received that is unsigned or from a person other than an employee or their representative, will be considered an informal complaint, but will still be addressed with the employer.
PEOSH has the authority to enter Public Sector work- places without delay and at reasonable times to con- duct an enforcement inspection without prior notice. Employers are obligated by law to cooperate with the Department of Labor.
Public Sector Employers are required to maintain injury and illness records, utilizing the OK300, OK300A, and OK301 Forms.
Required records must be maintained, complete and in detail, and provided within 4 hours when request by an inspector.
The Oklahoma Occupational Health & Safety Act - 40 O.S. § 401, et seq.- OAC 380:40 adopts most of the Federal OSHA (29 CFR 1904, 1910, and 1926) standards, with a few minor exceptions.
The Act establishes the requirements for each employer to provide a place of employment which is free from recognized hazards that are causing or likely to cause death or serious physical harm to employees.
Reporting Fatalities & Catastrophes
Public Sector Employers are required to notify the Oklahoma Department of Labor whenever a fatality occurs in the workplace, or when a work-related accident or exposure results in the hospitalization of five or more workers. This report must be made in writing within 48 hours. The required Fatality Catastrophe Report Form is available here. ODOL may require copies of internal accident reports, OHP or Police Reports, and official death certificates.