Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women - Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact the Commission
spacer image
get adobe reader get adobe reader

Yellow Rose1.jpeg


History of the Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame

The Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame was created in 1982 by then-Governor George Nigh to honor Oklahoma women who are pioneers in their field or in projects that benefit Oklahoma; who have made a significant contribution to the State of Oklahoma; who serve or have served as role models to other Oklahoma women; who may be "unsung heroes," but have made a difference in the lives of Oklahomans or Americans because of their actions; who have championed other women, women's issues, or served as public policy advocates for the issues important to women; and who exemplify the Oklahoma spirit. Currently there are 101 inductees in the Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame.


Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame Inductees

2015 - 1982

2015:  LaDonna Harris, Mary Mélon , Dr. Marion Paden, Thelma Parks, Dr. Ramona Paul, Patty Roloff, Avis Scaramucci

2013:  Ida Blackburn, Elaine Dodd, Linda Haneborg, Lou Kerr, Nancy Miller, Terri Watkins

2011:  Dr. Laura Boyd, Minister Chloe L. Brown, Joy D. Culbreath, Marcia J. Mitchell, Ardina R. Moore, Dr. Cynthia S. Ross, Kathryn L. Taylor, Helen Harrod -Thompson

2009:  Major General Rita Aragon (ret.), Suzanne Edmondson, Edna Miller- Hennessee, First Lady Kim Henry, Mirabeau Lamar Cole Looney, Secretary of State Susan Savage, Carolyn Whitener

2007:  Sherri Coale, Ginny Creveling, Dr. Joe Anna Hibler, Maxine Horner, Dr. Kay Martin, Terry Neese, Claudia Tarrington, Dr. Carolyn Taylor, Della Warrior

2005:  Wanda L. Bass, Judge Nancy L. Coats, Lieutenant Governor Mary Fallin, Amelia Elizabeth “Bessie” Simison- McColgin, Jeanine Rhea, Judge Stephanie Kulp- Seymour

2003:  Esther Houser, Vicki Miles-LaGrange, Linda Morrissey, Lynn Schusterman, Donna Shirley.

2001:  Jari Askins, Shirley Bellmon, Dorothy Moses DeWitty, Sandy Garrett, Lynn Jones, Yvonne Kauger, Jill Zink Tarbel, Dana Tiger.

1997:  Isabel Keith Baker, Jessie Thatcher Bost, Norma Eagleton, Kay Goebel, Ruth Hardman, Beverly Horse, Mazola McKerson, Penny Baldwin Williams

1996:  Betty Boyd, Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher, Lela Foreman, Sandy Ingraham, Lorena Males, Bernice Shedrick, Valree Fletcher Wynn

1995:  Nancy Goodman Feldman, Barbara J. Gardner, Ruth Blalock Jones, Mona Salyer Lambird, Gloria Grace Langdon, Bernice Compton Mitchell, Donna Nigh

1993:  Marie Cox, Anita Faye Hill, Moscelyne Larkin, Jackie Longacre, Shannon Lucid, Clara Luper, Opaline Deveraux Wadkins, Pat Woodrum

1986:  Sara Ruth Cohen, Vinita Cravens, Rubye Hibler Hall, Elizabeth Ann McCurdy Holmes, Grace Elizabeth Hudlin, Wilma P. Mankiller, Edna Mae Phelps, Evelyn La Rue Pittman

1985:  Mae Boren Axton, June Tompkins Benson, Pam Olson, Betty Durham Price, Bertha Frank Teague

1984:  Angie Debo, Jeane Duane Kirkpatrick, Jewell Russell Mann, Zella J. Patterson

1983:  Zelia N. Breaux, Kate Frank, Leona Mitchell, Jean Pitts, Juanita Kidd Stout, Alma Wilson

1982:  Hannah Diggs Atkins, Kate Barnard, June Brooks, Gloria Stewart Farley, Aloysius Larch-Miller, Susie Peters, Christine Salmon, Edyth Thomas Wallace



Last Modified on 06/09/2015
Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Who is eligible for induction into the Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame?
A: Only Oklahoma women are eligible.

Q: How can someone be considered eligible for induction into the Oklahoma Women's Hall of Fame?
A: An example of who would be eligible for induction would be Women who are pioneers in their field that benefits Oklahoma.