
NOTICE 
 
Effective July 1, 2003, Distributors and Manufacturers conducting business in Oklahoma 
or shipping products to Oklahoma are required to Register with the Oklahoma State 
Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control. 
 
Pursuant to State Law, any business or individual who is a manufacturer, wholesaler or 
distributor of any product(s) containing Pseudoephedrine is required to register with the 
Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control (OBNDD).  Failure 
to obtain registration is a crime and punishable by a fine up to $10,000. 
 
DEA Registrants are reminded that compliance with applicable state law is required by 
the Controlled Substances Act and that failure to comply may result in action being taken 
by the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA). 
 
Oklahoma registration is $100 per year and must be paid by August 15, 2003.   
After August 15, 2003, individuals/businesses found in violation of Oklahoma State Law 
are subject to criminal, administrative, and/or civil penalties.  Individuals/businesses who 
maintain a current (state) Controlled Drug Registration in Oklahoma will be exempt from 
the fee; however, are still required to register. 

 
Criminals are currently using Pseudoephedrine products to 

clandestinely manufacture methamphetamine. 
 

Under Oklahoma State Law, It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly sell, 
transfer, distribute, dispense, any product containing pseudoephedrine if the person 
knows that the purchaser will use the product as a precursor to manufacture 
methamphetamine or if the person sells, transfers, distributes or dispenses the product 
with reckless disregard as to how the product will be used.  A violation of this section 
shall be a felony punishable by imprisonment in the State Penitentiary for a term of not 
more than 10 years.  Title 63, Oklahoma Statute 2-333. 
 
Under Federal Law, Pseudoephedrine is a List I Chemical.  �Any person who possesses 
or distributes a listed chemical knowing, or having reasonable cause to believe that the 
listed chemical will be used to manufacture a controlled substance, except as authorized 
by this title, shall be fined in accordance with Title 18, or imprisoned not more than 20 
years, or both.�� Title 21, United States Code, Section 841(c)(2). 

 
Questions regarding Oklahoma State Registration, contact: 

Oklahoma State Bureau of Narcotics, Registration Section, (405) 521-2885 
 

Suspicious orders or transactions involving Pseudoephedrine products should be 
immediately reported to the OBNDD, the DEA, and your local law enforcement. 

 
www.obn.state.ok.us 

www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov. 

http://www.obn.state.ok.us/
http://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/

