Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs - Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
FAQs  |  Contact
spacer image
get adobe reader

About OBN - Commission

OBN is governed by a seven-member commission. The Commission includes one sheriff, one police chief, one district attorney, and four lay members. Commission members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Oklahoma Senate. Commission members serve seven-year staggered terms. To contact the OBN Commission, please call (405) 521-2885 or email by clicking here.
Gretchen Zumwalt_Smith 2020

Gretchen Zumwalt-Smith, Chair

Gretchen Zumwalt-Smith is an attorney in private practice in Northeast Oklahoma. She served as Assistant Attorney General to three Attorney Generals (Susan Loving, Drew Edmondson, and Scott Pruitt). Ms. Zumwalt-Smith also served as General Counsel and Interim Director for the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics. She has served on the OBN Commission since 2015.
Greg Mashburn 2020

Greg Mashburn, District Attorney

Greg Mashburn is District Attorney for District 21, which includes Cleveland, Garvin, and McClain counties. He has been a prosecutor since earning his Juris Doctorate from the OU School of Law in 1998. DA Mashburn has served on the OBN Commission since 2015.
Layne Subera

Dr. Layne Subera, Lay Member

Dr. Layne Subera practices medicine in Skiatook. He is board certified in family medicine and pain medicine. A 2010 graduate of the AOA Health Policy Fellowship Program, Dr. Subera is currently studying bioethics and health policy at Loyola University – Chicago. He is interested in rural healthcare and community safety issues. Dr. Subera has served on the OBN Commission since 2014.
Jan Miller

Jan Miller, Lay Member

Jan Miller served on the Oklahoma Law Enforcement Retirement System (OLERS) Board for many years. With over 44 years’ service in the banking industry, Mr. Miller is a past chairman of the Oklahoma Bankers Association and a past chairman of the Government Relations Council of the Oklahoma Bankers Association. He also served as a board member on the Community Bank Council of the American Bankers Association. Mr. Miller has served on the OBN Commission since 2010.
Sheriff Manning

Derek Manning, Sheriff Member

Since 2016, Derek Manning has served as Sheriff of Beckham County. He is a retired Oklahoma State Trooper who joined the OHP in 1986 (serving Logan and Beckham counties). During his time at the OHP, Sheriff Manning was assigned to several specialized units, including the Drug Recognition Expert Program where he served as an instructor. Following retirement, Manning and his wife founded the Daily Elk Citian, a community newspaper, which was awarded the coveted Sequoyah Award in 2012, naming it one of the best newspapers in Oklahoma. Sheriff Manning and his wife have been married 41 years, and they reside in Elk City. Manning was appointed to the OBN Commission by Governor Stitt in March, 2020.


John Coonce, Lay Member


John Coonce, Lay Member

John Coonce was named an OBN lay member on March 30, 2020 by Governor Stitt. In 1970, Coonce earned his Bachelor of Science degree in Business Management. Mr. Coonce served in the U.S. Marine Corps. Reserve, then later was with the U.S. Army. After serving in the military, Mr. Coonce gained extensive experience during his 30 years with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA), where he held many positions in the ranks from Agent, Resident Agent-in-Charge, Staff Coordinator, Hqs, Wash DC, Watch Commander for the El Paso Intelligence Center, and Assistant Director of the National Drug Intelligence Center (NDIC). After retirement, he served as consultant to the National Drug Intelligence Center for the State of Oklahoma for eight years. Mr. Coonce is the second eldest of 12 children. He is married to his beautiful wife of over 50 years and is the proud father of two sons, both graduates of Oklahoma State University. 


2020 Commission Gibson

Todd Gibson, Police Chief Member

Todd Gibson serves as Police Chief for the Moore Police Department. Chief Gibson began his career at the Warr Acres Police Department in the 1990's. He then joined the Norman Police Department in 1998, retiring as a Captain in 2016. While at Norman PD, Chief Gibson served as Division Commander of patrol and criminal investigations. He also served as Incident Commander during multiple natural disasters in Cleveland County (including the 2010 and 2013 tornadoes). Gibson was recognized as Norman PD's Supervisor of the Year in 2012. He was also named Officer of the Year at Warr Acres PD in 1996 and again in 1997. Gibson served in the U.S. Air Force Reserve and earned degrees in corrections and criminal justice from Oklahoma City Community College and the University of Central Oklahoma. 


Special Announcements

  • Commission Mtg 01/12/21 at 9 am