Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Oklahoma Board of Examiners for Speech Pathology & Audiology - Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact  |  Site Index
spacer image
 
get adobe reader

License Information 

All applications for licensure must be received one week before each board meeting.   

Information received after that time will be accepted and approved at the next scheduled Board meeting.

 

Please send  all correspondence to OBESPA, P.O. Box 53592, Oklahoma City, OK  73152

 

1.  How to change your name on your licensure card or certificate? 

A licensee must provide the board office a copy of the legal documentation of name change, i.e. a marriage certificate, divorce decree or legal name change document. There is a $5.00 fee for the office to remake a licensure card and $25.00 for a new large certificate. If you have lost your card and need a replacement send $5.00 to the office.

 

2.  How to get a verification of licensure?

An individual or company must send the board office a check for $5.00 and a request in writing for a verification of licensure. 

 

3.  How to get a list of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists in Oklahoma?

An individual or company must send the board office a check for $25.00 and a letter listing the database items wanted on the list. Example:  First Name, Last Name, Address, City, State, Zip Code, License Number, License Type, etc.

The individual or company must provide their e-mail address or mailing address. The list will then be e-mailed or burned to a CD in Excel format.  

 

4.  Do I have to prove citizenship in Oklahoma to be licensed?

Currently the federal and state laws prohibit licensure of an individual without proof of citizenship. The citizenship form is used for proof of citizenship.  You will find this form under "forms."

 

5.  How many continuing education hours must a licensee complete to remain licensed in Oklahoma?

      Clock hours required for license renewal.  A minimum of twenty (20) clock hours of acceptable continuing education will be required for renewal of a license to practice speech-language pathology or audiology in a two year period.  The continuing education period begins in January of every odd-numbered year.  A speech-language pathologist or audiologist obtaining initial licensure during a two year period shall have his or her continuing education requirement prorated to 2.5 clock hours per full quarter remaining in that period 

     Exceptions to the requirements.  Exceptions to the pre-approval requirement may be granted at the discretion of the Board for programs presented by recognized sponsors whose programs have been pre-approved by the Board.  The university academic semester hour is equivalent to fifteen (15) clock hours, and shall be verified by the presentation of an official academic transcript showing course or audit credits.  The licensee is ultimately responsible for providing all information necessary for the Board to make a final determination concerning the acceptability of any requested continuing education hours.

 

Change in requirements for Audiology Licensure

Each audiology applicant, until December 31, 2006, shall hold not less than a master's degree, or its equivalent, with a major emphasis in audiology from an accredited academic institution offering a graduate program in audiology. After December 31, 2006, each audiology applicant shall hold not less than a post baccalaureate residential professional doctor of audiology degree (Au.D) from a regionally accredited academic institution, a post-masters distance education professional doctor of audiology degree (Au.D.) from a regionally accredited academic institution, a Doctor of Philosophy degree (Ph.D.) with emphasis in audiology from a regionally accredited academic institution, or its equivalent as determined by the Board.

 

State License Income Tax Compliance Information

Oklahoma Statutes Citationized
  Title 68. Revenue and Taxation
    Chapter 1
        Article Article 2
        Section 238.1 - Application for State License -- Compliance with State Income Tax Laws


 

A. Upon receipt of an application for the issuance, renewal, reinstatement or transfer of a state license, the licensing entity shall notify the Oklahoma Tax Commission that the application has been received and shall supply such information as may be requested by the Tax Commission for purposes of implementing the provisions of this section. The provisions of any laws making application information confidential shall not apply with respect to information supplied to the Tax Commission pursuant to the provisions of this section; provided, such information shall be subject to the provisions of Section 205 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes.

B. A state license shall not be issued, renewed, reinstated or transferred until the Tax Commission has verified that the individual applying for the license is in compliance with state income tax laws and has so notified the licensing entity. The Tax Commission shall make every effort to verify such information and notify the licensing entity in a timely manner. If the only reason for delaying action on a license application is the lack of notification pursuant to the provisions of this section, the licensing entity shall proceed to act on the license application within thirty (30) days of receipt of notification by the Tax Commission. 

C. If the Tax Commission finds that the individual applying for the license is not in compliance with state income tax laws, it shall so notify the licensing entity, which shall deny the application and notify the applicant of the reason for denial. A licensing entity shall not be held liable for any action with respect to a state license pursuant to the provisions of this section. 

D. The State Regents for Higher Education are hereby directed to provide information received from state licensing entities pursuant to the provisions of Section 623 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes, including Social Security numbers, to the Tax Commission for use in the implementation of the provisions of this section. The Tax Commission shall promulgate rules for the implementation of the provisions of this section. 

E. As used in this section: 

1. "State license" means a license, certificate, registration, permit, approval or other similar document issued by a licensing entity granting to an individual or business a right or privilege to engage in a profession, occupation or business in this state; and 

2. "Licensing entity" means a bureau, department, division, board, agency, commission or other entity of this state or of a municipality in this state that issues a state license. 

 

  

 

 

On: 11/01/2009
See Historical Data for Current Version

 

A. It is the intent of the Legislature that the provisions of this section operate to provide for the collection of income taxes due to the State of Oklahoma by persons holding state licenses in a manner that will maximize flexibility for licensees to pay any such taxes due while minimizing disruption to operations of licensing entities. It is the further intent of the Legislature that the Oklahoma Tax Commission allow at least six (6) months notice to licensees pursuant to the provisions of subsection C of this section prior to notification of noncompliance to a licensing entity. 

B. Each licensing entity shall, on a date that allows the Tax Commission to comply with the notice provisions of subsection A of this section, provide to the Tax Commission a list of all its licensees and such identifying information as may be required by the Tax Commission. Such list and information shall be used by the Tax Commission exclusively for the purpose of collection of income taxes due to the State of Oklahoma. The provisions of any laws making application information confidential shall not apply with respect to information supplied to the Tax Commission pursuant to the provisions of this section; provided, such information shall be subject to the provisions of Section 205 of this title.

C. The Tax Commission shall notify any licensee who is not in compliance with the income tax laws of this state. Such notification shall include:

1. A statement that the licensee’s license will not be renewed or reissued until the taxpayer is deemed by the Tax Commission to be in compliance with the income tax laws of this state;

2. The reasons that the taxpayer is considered to be out of compliance with the income tax laws of this state, including a statement of the amount of any tax, penalties and interest due or a list of the tax years for which income tax returns have not been filed as required by law;

3. An explanation of the rights of the taxpayer and the procedures which must be followed by the taxpayer in order to come into compliance with the income tax laws of this state; and

4. Such other information as may be deemed necessary by the Tax Commission.

D. A licensee who has entered into and is abiding by a payment agreement, or who has requested relief as an innocent spouse which is pending or has been granted, shall be deemed to be in compliance with the state income tax laws for purposes of this section.

E. If the Tax Commission notifies a licensee who is not in compliance with the income tax laws of this state as required in this section and such licensee does not respond to such notification or fails to come into compliance with the income tax laws of this state after an assessment has been made final or after the Tax Commission determines that every reasonable effort has been made to assist the licensee to come into compliance with the income tax laws of this state, the Tax Commission, notwithstanding the provisions of Section 205 of this title, shall so notify the licensing entity, which shall not renew or reissue the licensee’s license at such time as it is subject to renewal or thereafter and shall notify the applicant of the reason for nonrenewal or failure to reissue. If a licensee who has been previously reported by the Tax Commission to a licensing entity as being out of compliance comes into compliance, the Tax Commission shall immediately notify the licensing entity. A licensing entity shall not be held liable for any action with respect to a state license pursuant to the provisions of this section.

F. If the Oklahoma Bar Association receives notice that a licensed attorney is not in compliance with the income tax laws of this state as provided in this section, the Bar Association shall begin proceedings by which the attorney may be suspended pursuant to Rule Governing Disciplinary Proceedings. If suspended, the attorney may be reinstated pursuant to reinstatement procedures as provided in the Rules Governing Disciplinary Proceedings.

G. The Tax Commission shall promulgate rules for the implementation of the provisions of this section.

H. As used in this section:

1. "State license" means a license, certificate, registration, permit, approval or other similar document issued by a licensing entity granting to an individual or business a right or privilege to engage in a profession, occupation or business in this state. "State license" does not include an inactive license issued by a licensing entity which does not grant an individual the right to engage in a profession, occupation or business in this state; 

2. "Licensing entity" means a bureau, department, division, board, agency, commission or other entity of this state or of a municipality in this state that issues a state license; and

3. "Reissue" means to issue a state license to an individual who has been in possession of an equivalent license issued by the same licensing entity in the previous twelve (12) months.

 

 If you have any questions please contact the Professional Licensing Compliance Unit of the Oklahoma Tax Commission at 405-522-6800.