Oklahoma, www.OK.gov
Oklahoma Board of Examiners for Speech Pathology & Audiology - Home
spacer image
Skip Nav Skip to Search
Contact  |  Site Index
spacer image
get adobe reader

Profile of head speaking Board Information Updates


Board Member Information 

The agency is governed by  five board members. The board members are residents of the state and  appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. 

The board members  consist of three licensed speech-language pathologists or audiologists, provided that at least one of the three shall be a licensed speech-language pathologist and least one a licensed audiologist; one otolaryngologist who is certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology and one lay member. 

 The board is established in order to safeguard the public health, safety and welfare, and to protect the public from being misled by incompetent, unscrupulous and unqualified persons, it is necessary to provide regulatory authority over persons offering speech-language pathology and audiology services to the public.

Cynda Olberding

Lucynda "Cynda" Olberding

Cynda received her B.S. and M.A. from the University of Tulsa. Since that time she has worked in a variety of settings-Muskogee Guidance Center, Jenks Public Schools, The University of Tulsa, easterr Seals, Chandler Public Schools and most recently Edmond Public Schools. She has been an active member of the Oklahoma Speech, Language Hearing Association serving as Treasurer for four terms. She was appointed to the Oklahoma Board of Examiners by Governor Brad Henry in 2008 and is believed to be the first person working in the public schools to serve on the board. 



Agency Position Statement on Use 

of the Term "Audioprosthologist


The statement was adopted at the December 7, 2007 board meeting as a result of the Board's concern that use of the term by non audiologists was misleading to the public.  The Board's position concurs with the position of the American Academy of Audiology, and the Academy of Doctors of Audiology.



New Officers:


June 11, 2010 the board members elected our new Board Chair, Cynda Olberding, M.A., Vice Chair, Tracy Grammer, M.S. and Michael Grimm as the new Secretary.

Congratulations to all the board officers!