OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD (OAB)

PERMITS

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN A PERMIT TO PRACTICE PUBLIC ACCOUNTING

1. Where can | find the law pertaining to individual permits? The Oklahoma
Accountancy Act (Act) is available on the OAB website at www.ok.gov/oab. Refer to
Section 15.14A for the requirements relating to individual permits. See Section 15.35
for the CPE requirements.

2. Where can | find the rules pertaining to individual permits? The Oklahoma
Administrative Code (Code) is available on the OAB website at www.ok.gov/oab.
Chapter 15, Subchapter 25 pertains to permits. The CPE requirements and standards
can be found in Chapter 15, Subchapters 30 and 32 respectively.

3. Who must hold a permit to practice? All OAB registrants engaged in the practice
of public accounting are required to hold a permit.

4. Where can | find a definition of the practice of public accounting so | can
determine whether | need a permit? Section 15.1A.31 of the Act defines the practice
of public accounting. The Act is available on the OAB website.

5. I'work for a public accounting firm, but I don't sign anything. Do | have to hold
a permit? Yes, CPA and PA staff employed by Oklahoma public accounting firms are
considered to be engaged in public practice and are required to hold permits if they
work on client records.

6. May | hold a permit if | do not practice public accounting? Yes

7. 1 work full time in industry (or government or education) and do not practice
public accounting. Am | required to hold a permit now that | must complete CPE?
No. You are required to hold a permit only if you also perform public accounting
services for anyone, other than non-compensated services for immediate family
members (defined in Code 10:15-1-2).

8. What are the requirements to obtain an initial permit to practice? To obtain an
original permit, you must report a minimum of forty (40) hours of CPE, including two (2)
hours of professional ethics, earned within the previous calendar year or within 365
days immediately preceding the date of the application. In addition, you must provide
evidence of the successful completion (90% or above) of the AICPA Ethics Examination
or its equivalent as determined by the OAB.
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9. What are the requirements to renew a lapsed permit? To renew a permit that
has lapsed, you must report a minimum of forty (40) hours of CPE, including two (2)
hours of professional ethics, earned within the previous calendar year or within 365
days immediately preceding the date of the application. In addition, you must provide
evidence of the successful completion (90% or above) of the AICPA Ethics Examination
or its equivalent as determined by the OAB. The exam course is called "Professional
Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course." It can be counted toward the 40 hours of
CPE and the 2 hours of professional ethics required for the permit as long as it was
earned in an appropriate compliance period.

10. What are the requirements to renew a permit currently in effect? To renew a
permit currently in effect, you must comply with the CPE requirements in Code 10:15-
30-5. Essentially, you must earn 120 hours of CPE in a rolling 3-year period, with no
less than 20 hours in any year. You must complete 2 hours of professional ethics each
year.

11. What is the fee to obtain a permit? $100

12. When will my permit expire? The permit will expire at midnight on the next June
30™ following the date of issuance. It must be renewed prior to its expiration.

13. Is there a late fee for renewing the permit after the filing deadline? No, but you
must provide evidence of successful completion (90% or above) of the AICPA's
Comprehensive Ethics Exam (or its equivalent as determined by the OAB) to renew a
lapsed permit. This is currently a 14 or 17 hour self-study course in professional ethics
called "Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course." Furthermore, the
law does not allow you to practice public accounting once your permit has expired.

14. Since | must earn the same amount of CPE required of a permit holder, should
| not apply for the permit to practice even though I'm in industry? You may apply
for the permit if you wish. However, there are additional requirements for those
applying for permits that do not apply to non-permit holders. Please refer to question
15.

15. What requirements would an industry CPA/PA have to meet in order to obtain
a permit? To apply for an initial permit or to apply for a permit once a previous permit
has lapsed, you must report a minimum of 40 hours of CPE, including at least 2 hours of
professional ethics. In addition, you must successfully complete (90% or above) the
AICPA's Comprehensive Ethics Examination or its equivalent as determined by the
OAB. The course, entitled “Professional Ethics: The AICPA’'s Comprehensive Course,”
can be ordered from the AICPA at www.cpa2biz.com; or it may be available from your
state’s professional society. The CPE credit for the course may be counted toward the
40 hours of CPE and the 2 hours of ethics required for the permit.

Secondly, if you apply for a permit to practice, 72 hours of the total 120 hours earned in
a 3-year period (60%) must be earned in areas related to the practice of public
accounting. You must complete 8 hours each year in the areas of accounting,
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assurance, or taxation. If you do not hold a permit, other than your two hours of ethics
each year, all of your CPE can relate to your professional industry, governmental, or
academic position as long as it enhances your professional competence and is properly
documented.

16. | am in public practice and have just passed the CPA examination, but | have
not yet earned the 40 hours of CPE required for the permit. What should | do?
You can apply for a 60-day transition period which, if approved, would allow you to
practice for 60 days while you earn the CPE required to obtain the permit. (See Code
10:15-25-5 for detalils.)

17. | earned 40 hours of CPE in the current calendar year to obtain my initial
permit. Can | report these hours again next year when | report my hours for this
year as part of my 3-year CPE requirement? Yes. Example: 40 hours of CPE were
earned between 1/1/06 and 10/15/06. The initial permit was issued 10/20/06. The 40
hours earned for the initial permit can be reported in June 2007 when you are asked to
report your 2006 CPE hours.

18. Can | apply for reciprocity and a permit online? No. The reciprocal application
process is fairly involved. You can download the application form from the OAB
website, but you will need to complete the forms and mail them to the OAB office along
with the application fees and any additional information requested on the application.
The application must then be processed by the Registration Coordinator, approved by
the Executive Director, and sanctioned by the Board before reciprocity is granted. The
permit cannot be issued until reciprocity is granted.

19. Do | have to apply for a permit when | apply for reciprocity? If you intend to
practice public accounting, you must apply for a permit. You are not required to apply
for a permit if you do not intend to practice public accounting.

20. 1 do not practice public accounting but wish to hold a permit. For CPE
purposes, what type of CPE is considered "related to the practice of public
accounting"? Ask yourself the following and other similar questions: 1) What areas of
the accounting profession would | be most likely to practice if | were to begin practicing
public accounting? 2) What areas of the accounting profession would | like to explore to
find out if I would be interested in practicing in those areas? 3) What skills do | need to
develop to make myself more marketable in the public accounting arena? The answers
should give you some direction as to the type of courses to take. Some courses or
programs could apply to both industry and public accounting, depending upon the areas
you think you would practice in if you were to begin practicing public accounting.

21. | am applying to renew a lapsed permit. The application tells me | must
provide evidence of successful completion of the AICPA Comprehensive Ethics
Examination. | have already completed the two hours of ethics required for the
permit. Will that suffice? Two hours of professional ethics does not meet the
requirements for renewing a lapsed permit. Please refer to question 9.



22. | intend to enter Oklahoma and practice under the substantial equivalency
(SE) requirements. Am | required to hold a permit in Oklahoma or to report CPE
to the OAB? No. If you enter Oklahoma under SE, you simply must comply with the
requirements of section 15.12A of the Act and Title 10, Chapter 15, Subchapter 22 of
the Code. The Act and the Code are available on the OAB website at www.ok.gov/oab.

Note: The following CPE brochures are also available from the OAB: "Comprehensive
Ethics Examination and Ethics CPE"; "Qualifying CPE and General CPE Information";
and "CPE Reporting Requirements and Exceptions." This information is also available
on the OAB website at www.ok.gov/oab.
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