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OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD (OAB) 
 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT APPLICANTS 
 
Please refer to this information when completing the materials included in the reinstatement application 
packet.   

 

Application to Reinstate 
 

OAB FORM R009 - Required of all applicants 
 

This form is to be completed with all information requested. 

 

NOTICE FOR CERTIFICATES/LICENSES EXPIRED FOR FIVE YEARS OR MORE 

 
Pursuant to 15.14(F)(3) of the Oklahoma Accountancy Act (the Act), “an individual whose certificate or license 
has been expired under this section for five (5) years or more may not renew the certificate or license.  The 
individual may obtain a new certificate or license by complying with the requirements and procedures, 
including the examination requirements, for obtaining an original certificate or license.  This provision shall not 
apply to an individual who is licensed to practice in another jurisdiction for the five (5) years immediately 
preceding their application for reinstatement.” 

 

Interim Permit Application/CPE Reporting Form 
 

OAB FORM R002 - Required of all applicants 

This form is to be completed with all information requested. 
 

Notification of Return to Active Status 
 

OAB FORM R006 - Required of all applicants 

This form is to be completed with all information requested. 
 

AICPA Professional Ethics Examination 
 

Required of all applicants  
 
You must provide evidence of successful completion of "Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive 
Course" or its equivalent as part of the requirement for certification [Section 15.9(F) of the Act and Section 
10:15-35-1(3) of the Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC)]. 

 

Letters of Reference 

 

Required of all applicants 

 
All reinstatement applicants must submit three letters of reference.  The authors of these letters cannot 
be related to you, and the letter must attest to your character, ability and experience.  The letters must be 
originals containing the author’s signature and not be over 60 days old. 
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Ethics Examination FAQs 

 

Am I required to complete an ethics examination? All applications for reinstatement of certificates and 
licenses must provide evidence of successful completion of the AICPA's comprehensive ethics examination 
self-study course or its equivalent as determined by the OAB.   

Is there a specific ethics examination that must be taken? The OAB will accept the AICPA's self-study 
course entitled "Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course."  A substitute course may be 
acceptable to the OAB as well.  OAB policy requires that an equivalent ethics examination course be a 
minimum of 8 hours in length to be considered.  Sufficient information would need to be submitted to the OAB 
for it to determine whether the alternative course is equivalent in content to the AICPA course.   

What determines "successful completion" of the ethics examination? OAB policy establishes a 
minimum score of 90% for successful completion of the AICPA ethics examination or its equivalent. 

What if I took the AICPA's Ethics Examination several years ago?  Do I have to take it again? You do 
not have to take the exam again if you can submit sufficient documentation to show you successfully 
completed the exam (score of 90% or above). 

What is the process for meeting the ethics examination requirement? 

 Ordering "Professional Ethics:  The AICPA's Comprehensive Course" 

           The course is available in either textbook or CD ROM format.  Whichever format you choose, the course is 
exactly the same. You may order the course from the AICPA either online through www.cpa2biz.com or by 
telephone (888/777-7077).       

 Grading 
 To expedite the process considerably, it is recommended that you use the AICPA's Online Grading 

System.  If you pass the examination with a score of at least 90%, you will be sent by e-mail a PDF file 
of your certificate of completion.  

 

What if I don't pass the ethics examination the first time I take it?  Will I be allowed to re-take it? Yes. 
You may take the examination using the online grading system up to three times.  If you still have not passed, 
you may continue to re-take the examination as many times as necessary, but you would not be able to take it 
online. 
 

Can I count the CPE credits for the Ethics Examination course toward the CPE requirements for my 

permit to practice? Yes, if the course was taken during an applicable CPE compliance period.  Like any 
other CPE course, it cannot be split between two different compliance periods. 

 
 

Permit to Practice Public Accounting 
 

Required of Applicants Who Practice Public Accounting in Oklahoma  

 
If you are practicing public accounting in Oklahoma or come into Oklahoma to serve clients from out of state, 
you are required by law to hold a permit to practice public accounting, unless you are entering the state under 
the substantial equivalency provisions of Section 15.12A of the Act.   This also includes certified staff 
accountants employed by public accounting firms. 
 
 
If you are not practicing public accounting, you are not required to apply for a permit but you are required to 
report CPE pursuant to Section 10:15-30-5.   Permits to practice must be renewed annually as they expire on 
the last day of the registrant's birth month. 

 

http://www.cpa2biz.com/
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Application for Permit to Practice Public Accounting/CPE Reporting Form 
 

All applicants must complete the Interim Permit/CPE Reporting Form (OAB FORM R002).  If you are applying 
for a permit to practice, you must also submit documentation (CPE certificates) verifying 40 hours of CPE 
obtained in the calendar year preceding the date of the application or in the 365 days preceding the date of 
the application.  For assistance on CPE requirements, please contact the CPE Coordinator at (405) 522-
3092. 

 

 

Background Checks 

 
The OAB will obtain a background check for all reinstatement applicants to verify good moral character 
and adherence to the professional code of conduct. 
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Randall A. Ross, CPA 
Executive Director 

OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD 
201 NW 63

rd
 Street, Suite 210 

Oklahoma City, OK 73116 
Ph: (405) 521-2397 Fax: (405) 521-3118 

www.ok.gov/oab 
 

APPLICATION TO REINSTATE CPA CERTIFICATE OR PA LICENSE 
 

 
Certified Public Accountant Certificate No. _________Issued__________. 
 
Public Accountant License No. _______________Issued_____________. 
 
The Oklahoma Accountancy Act (Act) and Title 10 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code (OAC) set forth 
the conditions under which reinstatement may be granted. 
 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
Submit all forms to the OAB together.  Please refer to the schedule of fees on the last page of this 
application.   
 
The applicant must be familiar with the Act and Title 10 of the OAC.  The application must be typewritten 
or written in ink. 
 
Failure to furnish all information required by this application or to furnish any additional information which 
might have a bearing on this application will be cause for denial of the application.  Additional information 
may be required from the applicant at the discretion of the OAB. 
 
 

INFORMATION OF RECORD: 
 

1. Name on Certificate: ______________________________________________________________ 

 
2. Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________ 

                                        (Number and Street)                         (City and State)  (Zip Code) 

 
3. Primary Phone: ________________              4.    Secondary Phone:  _________________ 
 
5. Date of Birth: ________________     6.   Social Security Number: ______-____-_________ 
 

7. Are you a resident of the State of Oklahoma?        Yes    No  

8. If your certificate/license is reinstated, do you plan to practice public accounting         

       in the State of Oklahoma?          Yes    No  

 
9. Are you affiliated with a public accounting firm engaging in the practice  

       of public accounting in the State of Oklahoma?      Yes     No  

 
10. If not Oklahoma, in what state do you hold your original certificate/license or license to practice? 

  ___________________ 
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CHRONOLOGICAL STATEMENT 
 

11.  Show below a complete statement of your time during the interim when your Oklahoma Certificate or 
 License was not valid: 

 

Inclusive Dates 
From              To 

 
Employed by 

 
Job Title/Postion 

 
City and State 

Public 
Accounting 

             - Present    Y   or   N 

    Y   or   N 

    Y   or   N 

    Y   or   N 

    Y   or   N 

 (Use continuing sheets, if required) 
 
 

MORAL CHARACTER 
 
You must submit with this application letters from three persons who are not related to you 
which attest to your character, ability and experience.  These  letters must be the originals and 
not be over 60 days old. 
 
12. Have any of the following events ever occurred that have not been previously reported to the OAB: 

(1) have you been arrested; (2) have you been charged with a crime or are any charges against you 
pending at this time; (3) have you pled guilty or nolo contendere to any charge(s), (4) have you been 

convicted of a crime?  Yes   No   If YES to any of these questions, attach a written 

explanation. 
 
13.  Since your previous application or registration filed with the OAB, have you ever been disciplined or 
 had  a CPA certificate or PA license of any jurisdiction (other than Oklahoma) or foreign country 
 cancelled, revoked or suspended and/or have you ever been refused licensing or renewal of a 
 license or permit by any regulatory agency; or are any disciplinary actions pending at this time? 

 Yes     No   If ‘Yes’ to any of these questions, attach a written explanation. 

 
14. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered your right to practice or been barred or suspended from 

 practice  by any Federal or State regulatory authority?  Yes    No   If ‘Yes’, attach a written 

 explanation. 
                                                     
15. Other than Oklahoma, have you ever violated the laws or accountancy board rules in the state(s) in 

which you have held or now hold certificate(s)/license(s)?  Yes     No   If ‘Yes’, submit a written 

explanation. 
 
16. Have you ever had any professional credential cancelled, revoked, or suspended by enforcement 

 action that has not been previously reported to the OAB?  Yes     No     If ‘Yes’, attach a written 

 explanation. 
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Please be aware that most information provided to the OAB is considered an open record and may be 
released, except where such release is specifically prohibited by the Oklahoma Accountancy Act, the 
Oklahoma Open Records Act, or the Federal Privacy Act. 
 
I understand the OAB may obtain a background check as one method to verify good moral character and 
adherence to the professional code of conduct. 
 
I hereby certify that the foregoing statements are true and correct and that I have not omitted or 
suppressed any information which might have a bearing on this application.  I further certify that I have 
read the Oklahoma Accountancy Act and Title 10 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code, including 
Subchapter 39, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and I will comply with the provisions thereto 
 
 
____________________________________________   ________________________ 
  Signature of Applicant         Date 
 
 

REINSTATEMENT FEE SCHEDULE 
 

The following fees are due with the application for reinstatement. 
   

Application fee  $ 100.00 
 
Registration fee  $  50.00 ($25.00 if age 65 or older) 

*Late Fee Assessment (Circle One)  $  25.00 / 50.00 / $ 100.00          

             Basic Fees Due  $_______  

The following fees are optional:  (Please mark if applicable) 

       Permit - Annual (if applicable) $ 100.00 

        **Duplicate Certificate/License      $ 150.00 

 
            Total Fees Enclosed  $________             

NOTES: 

*   A late fee is assessed if your certificate or license was automatically revoked 
pursuant to the provisions of Section 15.14 of the Act. 

   
  $50    If applying within twelve (12) months after the revocation date  
  $25 for individuals who are 65 years of age or older 
  $100   If applying later than twelve (12) months after the revocation date 
   $50 for individuals who are 65 years of age or older  
 

**  A duplicate certificate/license will be issued only if the original document was  
 previously surrendered to the Board. 



 
Randall A. Ross, CPA 
Executive Director 

OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD
201 NW 63rd Street, Suite 210

Oklahoma City, OK 73116
Ph: (405) 521-2397 Fax: (405) 521-3118

www.ok.gov/oab
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____________________________________________________________________  
   (Name)                                                                                               (Cert. /License Number, If Known)

 
____________________________________________________________________  
   (Address) 

____________________________________________________________________  
   (City)                  (State)                (Zip Code) 

____________________________________________________________________  

 
 
 
 
 
 

For Board Use Only 
   (Email)                                                                          (Primary Phone)                      (Secondary Phone) 

 
PART I:  INFORMATION OF RECORD – REQUIRED  
 

Changes of employment, professional status or mailing address MUST be reported to the OAB within 30 days of the change. 
     Yes  No 
1. Do you practice any public accounting? (Please carefully review Section 15.1A(34)(a) of the Oklahoma  
 Accountancy Act, available at www.ok.gov/oab, to complete this section.)       
 

2. a.  If you answered "Yes" to question 1 above, is your accounting office located in Oklahoma?        

 b.  Do you enter Oklahoma from another jurisdiction to serve clients in Oklahoma?       
 

3.    Not presently employed     If  checked, skip ahead to Part II 
 
 

4.  Employment 1:    Full Time    Part Time         Check all that apply to Employment 1 in each group below: 
  

 Practice of Public Accounting:    Yes    No     Classification:      Industry    Government/Educator 

 Role:   Sole Proprietor   Partner   Shareholder  Member (LLC or PLLC)   Owner   Staff/Employee 
 
  
  

 Business Name or Employer___________________________________________________________________  DBA 
 

Business Address __________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                              Address                                                               City                                               State                             Zip Code 

                
5.  Employment 2:    Full Time    Part Time         Check all that apply to Employment 2 in each group below: 
  

 Practice of Public Accounting:    Yes    No     Classification:      Industry    Government/Educator 

 Role:   Sole Proprietor   Partner   Shareholder  Member (LLC or PLLC)   Owner   Staff/Employee 
 
  
  

 Business Name or Employer___________________________________________________________________  DBA 
 

Business Address __________________________________________________________________________________ 
                                              Address                                                                 City                                               State                            Zip Code 

 
 
PART II:  ACCOUNTING SERVICES PERFORMED - REQUIRED 
 
 
 

6.   Check all services associated with accounting work performed last year whether for an employer, the public, anyone other 
than yourself, or non-compensated services for immediate family members. Do not check if you perform the service(s) 
only on a volunteer basis OR as an attorney and did not sign any documents related to such service as a CPA or PA. 
 

 Audits/Reviews  Compilations  Attest services  Investment counseling  Tax planning services 

   Tax return preparation  Financial planning  Bookkeeping  Management advisory services  
 

http://www.ok.gov/oab


  
PART III:  CPE REPORTING INFORMATION – REQUIRED  
 
 

7. I am reporting       total CPE credits: 
  

8. Of the total credits reported in the preceding question, (include any credits for ethics in the appropriate field) I earned: 
 

        credits related to professional ethics 

        credits related to the practice of public accounting in areas OTHER THAN taxation, accounting or assurance   

        credits SPECIFICALLY RELATED to the areas of taxation, accounting, or assurance   

        credits related to my industry, governmental, or academic position 

        credits related to the performance of compilations 
 
9. Indicate appropriate compliance period:   
 

  a.        All CPE credits were earned in the previous calendar year OR 

b.        All CPE credits were earned in the 365-day period immediately preceding my official application date.  
 
My certificates of completion are attached.  A minimum of 40 CPE credits are required to obtain a permit. 

 
 

PART IV:  APPLICATION FOR PERMIT TO PRACTICE PUBLIC ACCOUNTING  
 
 

10.    _____I am renewing a lapsed permit or applying for an initial permit.  I have completed with a score of 90% or above the 
 AICPA's Ethics Examination course entitled "Professional Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course" as part of my 
 CPE requirement for the permit for which I am now applying.  Attach a copy of the certificate of completion and/or the 
 electronic page from the AICPA showing your score. 
 
 

PART V:  PEER REVIEW INFORMATION – COMPLETE ONLY IF YOU ARE A SOLE PROPRIETOR WHO IS 
NOT INCORPORATED 
 
11. Do you perform:      Audits/Reviews?      Yes      No                        Compilations?    Yes       No 

12. Do you perform audits for governmental entities?                 Yes  No 
  

If yes, have you filed the Registration Form for Independent Auditors  
Engaged in Audits of Governmental Entities as required?                     Yes  No 

 

13. Have you had a peer review?                Yes       No  
 

14. If “No” to Question 14, provide the engagement date of the first audit or review engagement performed: _________  .  
 (Not applicable if you only perform Compilations). 

 If applicable, attach the peer review enrollment confirmation form indicating proof of enrollment in a Board approved 
 Sponsoring Organization’s peer review program.  

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 

Pass Reports 

□ Peer Review Report 
□ Letter of Comments 
□ Letter of Response 
□ Signed Agreement to the Conditional 
 Letter of Acceptance 
□ Final Letter of Acceptance from the                        
 Sponsoring Organization 
□ $100 Peer Review Report Fee 

Pass With Deficiencies or Fail Reports 

□ Peer Review Report 
□ Final Letter of Acceptance from the Sponsoring     
 Organization 

□ Enrollment in an OAB approved peer review program is 
 required within 12 months of performing initial audit or 
 review engagement. 

Peer Review Enrollment Confirmation 

OAB FORM R002 
Rev. 01/12 
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PART VI:  ATTESTATION - REQUIRED 

 
 

     Yes   No 
15.  Have any of the following events ever occurred that have not been previously reported to the OAB:     
  (a) have you been arrested; (b) have you been charged with a crime or are any charges against you 
  pending at this time; (c) have you pled guilty or nolo contendere to any charge(s); (d) have you been 
  convicted of a crime?  If yes to any of these questions, attach a signed explanation. 
 

16.  Since your previous application or registration filed with the OAB, have you been disciplined or had a     
 CPA certificate, PA license or practice privilege of any other jurisdiction or foreign country cancelled,  
 revoked, or suspended; have you been refused licensing or renewal of a license or permit by any 
 regulatory agency; or are any disciplinary actions pending at this time?  If yes, attach a signed explanation. 
 

17.  Have you had any professional credential cancelled, revoked or suspended by enforcement action       
  that has not been previously reported to the OAB?  If yes, attach a signed explanation. 
 
 
18. I attest that all the information that I have provided is true and correct. I further understand that I am subject to and will 
 abide by the Oklahoma Accountancy Act, the Board’s rules, and the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants’ 
 Code of Professional Conduct. 
 
 

  
Signature:          Date:   

 
 

PART VII:  FEE SCHEDULE 
 

 
19. Permit Fee  
 
 _____  I am submitting a total fee of $100.  Make check or money order payable to OAB.  

 
 
Please be aware that most information provided to the OAB is considered an open record and may be released, 
except where such release is specifically prohibited by the Oklahoma Accountancy Act, the Oklahoma Open Records 
Act, or the Federal Privacy Act (i.e., social security numbers, transcripts, examination grades, peer review reports). 
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Randall A. Ross, CPA 
Executive Director 

OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD
201 NW 63rd Street, Suite 210

Oklahoma City, OK 73116
Ph: (405) 521-2397 Fax: (405) 521-3118

www.ok.gov/oab

 
 

NOTIFICATION OF RETURN TO ACTIVE STATUS (RTAS)  
FOR CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION (CPE) 

 
 
Cert/Lic No.  ______________ Name: _______________________________________________ 
 
Phone #: _________________ Email : _______________________________________________ 
 
 

NOTICE OF RETURN TO ACTIVE STATUS: 

The effective date of my return to active status is:   _______________________________________ 
(Date you began performing work associated with accounting or reinstated your CPA certificate) 
 
Employer:                ______________________________________________________________ 

Employer Address: ______________________________________________________________  

   ______________________________________________________________ 

 
Return to Active Status requirements are outlined in Section 10:15-30-9 of the Oklahoma 
Administrative Code.  Briefly summarized:  
 
 Registrants are required to complete 40 hours of CPE for each year CPE was not reported to 

the Board, either due to an exemption, revocation, or cancellation.   Maximum - 120 hours.    
 

 40 hours of CPE are due within 60 days of the date of return to active status 
 

 Remaining hours are due within one year of the date of return to active status 
 

 4 hours of ethics must be earned if the registrant owes 120 hours of CPE 
 

 2 hours of ethics must be earned if the registrant owes fewer than 120 hours of CPE 
 

 Any CPE hours earned while exempt, revoked, or cancelled, during the preceding three years 
may be claimed 
 

 
Signature:  _______________________________    Date: _____________      
 
Please attach CPE documentation that you wish to apply towards your RTAS.  
Correspondence will be sent to you detailing your requirements for the Return to Active 
Status process.  For additional information please contact Heather Grable, CPE Coordinator, 
at (405) 522-3089.  
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Section 10:15-30-9 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code: 
 

An inactive status registrant upon return to active status must comply with CPE requirements 
as follows: 

 (1) The three (3)-year CPE cycle of a registrant returning to active status shall begin 
January 1 of the year in which the registrant returns to active status.  Forty (40) hours of the 
CPE credit reported to meet the requirements to return to active status will be counted toward 
the three (3)-year CPE cycle for the calendar year in which it is earned if the credit is earned: 

(A) within the calendar year the registrant returns to active status, or 
(B) within one year of the date the registrant returns to active status. 

(2) For each calendar year in which the registrant claimed an exemption or failed to report 
CPE pursuant to the CPE requirement, the registrant must complete forty (40) hours of CPE. 
(3) The maximum number of CPE hours required to return to active status shall be one 
hundred twenty (120) hours, including at least four (4) hours of professional ethics. 
(4) If the number of CPE hours required to return to active status is fewer than one hundred 
twenty (120), two (2) hours of professional ethics must be included. 
(5) The registrant may claim any CPE hours earned while on inactive status during the 
preceding three (3)-year period. 
(6) A registrant who immediately gives written notice to the Board upon changing to active 
status may be granted the following time periods in which to complete the CPE required by this 
section: 

(A) Sixty (60) days from the date of the return to active status for registrants needing 
forty (40) or fewer hours of CPE; and 
(B) One year from the date of the return to active status for any additional CPE 
above the (40) hours described in (A) above. 

(7) A registrant must document, on a form prescribed by the Board, all qualified CPE 
required by this rule. 
(8) At its discretion, the Board may modify the requirements of this rule for good cause on a 
case by case basis. 

 
 
 
Affidavit Requirement: 
 
The Board will consider granting an exemption from the CPE requirement on a case-by-case basis if: 
 
 (1) a registrant completes and forwards to the Board a sworn affidavit indicating that the 

registrant will not be associated with accounting work during the period for which the 
exemption is requested.  A registrant who has been granted this exemption and who re-enters 
the work force shall be required to comply with 10:15-30-9. 

  
(2) a registrant forwards to the Board a sworn affidavit from the employer or organization 
indicating no association with accounting work.  The affidavit shall include, as a minimum, a 
brief description of the duties performed, job title, and verification by the registrant's immediate 
supervisor that there is no reliance on the registrant's expertise as a CPA or PA. 
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