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INDIVIDUAL AND FIRM 
REGISTRATION DATES CHANGING 

 
Effective with the 2005 registration period, the 
renewal of firm permits has been moved from 
August to May, thus placing the renewal of the 
firm permit before the renewal of the individual 
permit. Please note that any individual who 
indicates that he or she works for a public 
accounting firm serving Oklahoma clients but 
that is not registered with the OAB will not be 
issued an individual permit to practice until the 
firm is registered. 
 
The deadline for registering a CPA certificate or 
PA license ending in an odd number will be July 
31, 2005. The deadline for those with certificates 
or licenses ending in an even number will be 
July 31, 2006.   
 
Individual Permits to Practice will continue to 
expire on June 30, and must be renewed on or 
before that date. 
 
Upon failure of an individual to pay registration 
fees on or before July 31, the Board will notify 
the individual in writing by certified mail to the 
last known address of the individual, as reflected 
in the records of the Board, of the individual’s 
failure to comply with the Oklahoma 
Accountancy Act. The certificate or license will 
automatically be revoked if the individual fails to 
pay registration fees on or before August 31. 
 
REGISTRATION AND PERMIT FEES 

INCREASED 
 

On February 8, 2005, Governor Henry approved 
Emergency Rule Amendments to the Oklahoma 
Administrative Code that provide for fee 
increases for registration and permits for 
individuals and firms. These Emergency Rules 
became effective immediately upon the 
Governor's signature and will remain in effect 
until July 14, 2006. The Board is in the process 

of promulgating rules that will make these fee 
increases permanent. 
 
Biennial registration fees are now as follows: 
Biennial individual registration - $100  
Late registration - add $100 
Age 65 or older - $50 
Age 65 or older late registration – add $50 
 
Annual fees are as follows: 
Firm registration - $50 
Firm permit - $100 
Individual permit - $100 
 
Note: The requirement for each individual office 
of a public accounting firm to pay an annual 
permit fee is revoked. 
 
Individual permit fees were established in 1983 
and have not been increased for 13 years, since 
1992. Firm permit fees were established in 1993 
and have never been increased. The OAB has 
not increased its registration fees, which have 
been well below those of most other 
professional licenses in Oklahoma, since 1977.   
 
For the last three fiscal years, the OAB's 
expenses have exceeded its revenue. Revenue 
in FY 2002 was $835,770 while expenses were 
$943,711, for a loss of $107,941. In FY2003, 
revenue was $886,219 while expenses were 
$1,066,843, for a loss of $180,624. In FY 2004, 
revenue was $764,698, and expenses were 
$986,674, for a loss of $221,976. Losses for the 
next three years are estimated to be even 
greater unless fees are increased. 
 
The OAB is proud of its efforts over the last 28 
years to keep registration costs to a minimum. 
Unfortunately, inflation, technology, and the 
rising number of enforcement cases make fee 
increases essential. 
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ETHICS EXAMINATION 
NEW REQUIREMENT 

 
With the revision of the Board's rules that 
became effective July 1, 2004, all new CPAs 
and PAs applying for an initial permit, all 
individuals applying for a permit in conjunction 
with their application for a reciprocal certificate, 
and all individuals applying for an initial interim 
permit must show evidence of having 
successfully completed the AICPA ethics 
examination or its equivalent as determined by 
the Board. Successful completion is considered 
to be a passing grade of 90%. Providing it was 
completed within an applicable compliance 
period, the ethics examination course can be 
applied toward the CPE requirements for the 
permit. Specific information about the course 
can be found on the OAB website.  
 
Effective July 1, 2005, the AICPA 
Comprehensive Ethics Examination or its 
equivalent will be required for certification. The 
course can be applied toward the CPE 
requirement as long as it meets the appropriate 
compliance period criteria.  Also, if the currently 
proposed rules are approved, the AICPA 
Comprehensive Ethics Examination or its 
equivalent will be required of anyone applying 
for a permit whose permit has lapsed. 
 
The AICPA's course, entitled "Professional 
Ethics: The AICPA's Comprehensive Course," 
explains the AICPA's Code of Professional 
Conduct, adopted by the OAB in Section 10:15-
39-1 of the Oklahoma Administrative Code. The 
course includes an introduction to 
independence, identifies the relationships with 
clients that will impair independence, explains 
the special independence rules that apply to 
auditors of SEC registrants, and covers the 
principles and rules that make up the Code of 
Professional Conduct, including integrity, 
objectivity, conflicts of interest, competence, 
confidential client information, and acts 
discreditable to the profession.   
 
In order for the OAB to be properly notified by 
the AICPA, you must indicate when you send 
your test to the AICPA for grading that you are 
taking the examination for certification purposes.  
 
If you have completed a comprehensive ethics 
course similar to the one offered by the AICPA, 
you may submit any information or materials you 
have that would allow the Board to determine 
whether the examination course you completed 
is equivalent to the AICPA's comprehensive 
ethics course. The course would have to be at 
least 8 hours in length to be considered. 
 

CLARIFICATION OF NEW PEER 
REVIEW REQUIREMENTS 

 
By Janice Gray, OAB Peer Review Committee Chairperson 
 
Effective July 1, 2005, the Oklahoma 
Accountancy Board (Board) will require peer 
review reports from all firms that have performed 
reviews and/or audits after July 1, 2004. The 
documents required to be filed with the Board 
will vary depending upon the type of report the 
firm received on its last peer review. If the report 
received was unmodified with or without a letter 
of comments, the firm will submit the report and 
the final letter of acceptance from the 
sponsoring organizations. Firms that receive a 
modified or adverse report will be required to 
submit a copy of the report, letter of comments, 
letter of response, the signed agreement to the 
conditional letter of acceptance, and the final 
letter of acceptance when corrective actions are 
completed to the Board. Subsequent peer 
review reports shall be filed with the Board 
within thirty (30) days of receipt of acceptance 
from the sponsoring organizations. 
 
Firms that have not been part of a Peer Review 
program and perform reviews/and or audits after 
July 1, 2004, have one year to comply with the 
peer review requirement. The rules provide that 
effective July 1, 2005 participation in an 
approved program is required of each firm that 
performs any review or audit services. Firm 
enrollment in an approved program is required 
by organizations within one year from the 
performance of those services requiring the peer 
review. Therefore, all firms who perform audits 
or reviews for entities with year ends after July 
1, 2004 are required to have a peer review. The 
firm will have 18 months from the year end of 
the engagement for which services are provided 
to have a peer review performed. 
 
Following are some examples that will assist 
practitioners in determining when peer reviews 
must be completed. 
 

1.  A firm currently enrolled in an 
approved program, will continue to 
have reviews performed in 
accordance with its established 
schedule. The firm will provide the 
Board with its most recent report. 

 
2. A firm that performs engagements 

for entities with year ends prior to 
and including  June 30, 2004 and 
does not perform any further 
reviews or audits for said entities will 
not be required to have a peer 
review.   
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3. If a firm performs a review or an 

audit for an entity with fiscal year 
end beginning after July 1, 2004, the 
firm  must enroll in a peer review 
program within 12 months of this 
date or by July 31, 2005 and have a 
peer review completed by January 
31, 2006. 

 
4. If a firm has performed an audit or 

review for an entity with a fiscal year 
beginning after July 1, 2004 and 
notifies the Board by July 1, 2005 
that is has ceased performing these 
services, it will not be required to 
have a peer review.   

 
After July 1, 2005, if a firm has not previously 
performed review/and or audit services 
(between July 1, 2004 and June 30, 2005) and 
begins providing these services, the firm will 
have to notify the Board within 30 days. 
Information regarding enrollment into an 
approved program must be provided to the 
Board within 12 months of the date the services 
were first provided, and the firm must have a 
peer review performed within 18 months from 
the year end of the engagement for which the 
services were performed. 
 
A proposed rule, if approved, effective July 1, 
2005 will require a $100 fee to be paid with all 
modified or adverse reports filed with the Board. 
This fee is to assist in defraying costs for those 
reports that require Board follow-up. 
 
The rules for Peer Review can be found on the 
Board’s web site at www/ok.gov/oab in 
Subchapter 33 of the Oklahoma Administrative 
Code. If you have questions regarding the rules, 
please contact the Board office. 
 

CPE REQUIRED OF ALL 
REGISTRANTS TO RENEW 
CERTIFICATE OR LICENSE 

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2006 
 

As was noted in the May 2004 Bulletin, 
legislative revisions to the Oklahoma 
Accountancy Act require that, effective January 
1, 2006, all certificate and license holders must 
complete at least 120 hours of CPE within a 
three-year period, with completion of not less 
than 20 hours of CPE in any year. In other 
words, a registrant who does not hold a permit 
to practice public accounting would not be 
required to complete any CPE in calendar year 
2005. However, in 2006, the same registrant 
must complete a minimum of 20 hours of CPE, 

including 2 hours of professional ethics.  If the 
individual completes only the minimum of 20 
hours of CPE in 2006 and 20 hours in 2007, that 
registrant must then complete 80 hours of CPE 
in calendar year 2008 to remain in compliance. 
 
The OAB is currently in the process of 
promulgating rules which will include provisions 
for exempting retired, inactive, and disabled 
individuals from the CPE requirement.   
 
What type of CPE will qualify? Individuals who 
do not hold permits to practice may take CPE in 
their field of employment, as long as it is quality 
CPE that maintains or improves their 
professional competence and as long as it is 
properly documented. These individuals will not 
be required to take CPE related to the practice 
of public accounting. 
 
Individuals whose main area of employment is in 
industry but who hold permits to practice may 
take CPE in their industry areas, but they must 
also continue to take CPE related to the practice 
of public accounting, especially in the areas in 
which they practice or intend to practice. For 
example, a CPA who is employed in industry but 
who also performs tax services for the public 
needs to be sure to include tax courses in 
his/her CPE plan. 
 
Examples of continuing education which might 
qualify for non-permit holders if properly 
documented might include, but would not be 
limited to, certain college courses, banking 
conferences, health conferences, oil & gas 
related conferences, PeopleSoft and CORE 
classes for government employees, in-house 
programs designed for instructional purposes 
rather than as business meetings, and the 
presentation of a published professional paper 
made to a group of accounting staff members at 
an educational conference or attendance at the 
sessions of an educational conference that 
relate to the accounting profession. One should 
claim CPE only for those sessions or courses 
attended that enhance one's professional 
competence.   
 

CLAIMING CPE CREDIT 
 

From time to time many registrants attend CPE 
conferences where they are issued a certificate 
of attendance recommending more CPE credit 
hours than the registrant should claim when 
reporting CPE to the OAB. How do you know 
how many hours you should claim? 
First, you should remember that the Board's 
Rules provide that acceptable CPE subjects are 
those fields of study that enhance one's ability to 
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serve and deliver professional services to clients 
or employers.   
 
For example, if you work in the oil and gas 
industry and attend a general oil and gas 
conference designed not just for accounting 
professionals but also for department heads in 
all aspects of the industry, more than likely not 
all of the conference segments will enhance 
your ability to provide professional accounting 
services to your employer. A session on 
improving your sales techniques might be very 
appropriate for someone in the marketing 
department but more than likely would not 
enhance your ability to provide professional 
services to your employer therefore should not 
be claimed. Likewise, a segment on how to build 
a derrick that is better able to withstand high 
winds might be interesting, but probably would 
not make you a better accountant.   
 
Secondly, sometimes you may attend seminars 
or conferences where you are out of the room 
for a significant period of time. Perhaps you 
receive a lengthy phone call from a client that 
must be handled immediately, or maybe you 
stay out in the lobby after a break to network 
with other business associates. This time should 
be deducted from your total hours for the 
program.   
 
If you are provided a CPE certificate 
recommending more CPE credit hours than you 
should ethically claim to comply with the Board's 
Rules, simply line through the credits shown and 
write in the appropriate number of credits. It is 
best to make these notations as soon as you 
receive the certificate so you remember to make 
the adjustment.  You may want to include a 
notation in your CPE file or on the back of the 
certificate explaining why you are claiming fewer 
hours than are indicated on the certificate.   
 

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION 
REQUIREMENTS 

 
You are encouraged to familiarize yourself with 
the CPE standards found in Chapter 15, 
Subchapter 32 of the Oklahoma Administrative 
Code (Code), which can be found on the OAB 
website.  The following information must be 
included on your certificate of completion or 
other documentation in order to comply with the 
standards in Code 10:15-32-6(a): 1) the 
sponsor's name and contact information; 2) your 
name as participant; 3) the course title, 4) the 
course field of study; 5) the date the program 
was offered or completed; 6) the type of 
instructional/delivery method used; 7) the 
amount of CPE credit recommended by the 
sponsor; and 8) verification by the CPE program 

sponsor representative (signature).  Some of 
these requirements are new effective January 1, 
2004, so it is a good idea to check your 
certificates now to be sure they are in 
compliance. 

 
CANDIDATES' CORNER 

 
Candidates are creating problems for 
themselves by not following the instructions 
provided on their Notices to Schedule (NTS). To 
avoid similar problems when you are ready to sit 
for the exam, please make note of the following:   
 
REMEMBER:   
 

 The payment coupon is issued by the 
National Association of State Boards of 
Accountancy (NASBA) and is valid for 
90 days only. Within the 90-day period, 
you must pay for all sections for which 
you applied. 

 The NTS is also issued by NASBA and 
is valid for 180 days. It cannot be 
extended.   

 If either your payment coupon or your 
NTS has expired, you will not be 
allowed to take the exam. 

 Arrive 30 minutes early at the testing 
site. If you are late, you may not be 
allowed to sit.  

 Be sure to bring 2 acceptable forms of 
ID to the testing site. Acceptable forms 
of ID are listed on the back of the NTS. 
Your name on your NTS must match 
your government issued ID exactly. 

 Bring your NTS to the testing site. You 
will not be allowed to take the exam 
unless you have your NTS.  It has the 
password information needed for each 
individual section. The NTS is issued 
only by NASBA; the OAB cannot issue 
you a new NTS if you misplace yours.   

 The OAB is not responsible for 
scheduling or for any fees paid to 
Prometric for rescheduling.   

 Once the OAB issues the ATT 
(Authorization to Test) to NASBA, 
NASBA issues the payment coupon for 
NAP (NASBA, AICPA, Prometric) fees 
and issues the NTS. The Board is not 
involved, so any questions about the 
payment coupon or the NTS should be 
directed to NASBA.  

 All requests for refunds must be made 
directly to NASBA, not to the OAB.  

 Go to the AICPA web site at 
www.cpaexam.org for information 
about the CBT. 
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IS YOUR CANDIDATE STATUS IN 
JEOPARDY? 

 
 As of March 1, 2005, there are 1017 

active candidates in Oklahoma. 
 Over 300 of the 1017 will lose their 

active candidate status if they do not sit 
for at least one section of the CBT on or 
before May 31, 2005.  

 The last time these 300 candidates sat 
was November 2003, at the last paper 
and pencil examination. 

 A candidate must sit for a section at 
least once every 18 months to remain 
active. 

 If a candidate loses active candidate 
status, the candidate must meet the 150 
education hour requirement to become 
active again as well as the 1-year work 
experience requirement to become 
certified. 

 Most current candidates have 124 
hours, 26 hours fewer than the Law 
requires for new candidates. 

 
- GAO ISSUES -  

 
Code of Professional Conduct – Rule 
101-3, Performance of Non-attest 
Services: 
 
If you provide non-attest services to attest 
clients, the importance of your knowing the 
details of AICPA Interpretation 101-3 and the 
Yellow Book regarding independence cannot be 
over-emphasized.   
 
For a PDF version of 101-3, revised and 
adopted January 27, 2005, as well as for the 
AICPA Plain English Guide to Independence, 
published March 1, 2005, you may access the 
AICPA website at http://www.aicpa.org/ 
members/div/ethics/index.htm.   
 
Yellow Book CPE Guidance: 
 
In June 2003, the U.S. General Accounting 
Office (GAO) issued a revision to Government 
Auditing Standards (the “Yellow Book”). 
 
Among the many changes to the standards were 
modifications to the continuing professional 
education (CPE) requirements.  
 
The revised Yellow Book states that each 
auditor performing engagements in accordance 
with Government Auditing Standards should 
complete, every two years, at least 80 hours of 
CPE that directly enhances the auditor’s 

professional proficiency to perform audits and/or 
attestation engagements.  
 
Since the issuance of the standards, 
practitioners have raised questions as to 
whether taxation courses would qualify as CPE 
for purposes of satisfying the 80-hour 
requirement.  
 
The GAO recently issued a clarification on this 
matter, which can be found on its web site, 
www.gao.gov/govaud/cpeamend.htm.  
 
In summary, the GAO concludes that the 
majority of taxation courses would not enhance 
an auditor’s ability to perform audits and/or 
attestation engagements and, therefore, CPE 
related to such courses would not normally 
qualify as CPE for purposes of satisfying Yellow 
Book requirements.  
 
The requirements of the 2003 Yellow Book 
became effective for financial audits and 
attestation engagements of periods ending on or 
after January 1, 2004.  
 
As such, auditors need to consider this change 
when considering compliance with the Yellow 
Book CPE requirements beginning in 2004.  
 
However, the notice on the GAO’s web site 
states that for audit organizations whose two-
year period for CPE compliance is for calendar 
years 2003 and 2004, CPE taken in taxation 
during 2003 would generally count toward the 
80-hour requirement.  
 
Those organizations would use the new 
requirements for 2004 and apply the new 
requirements to the remaining number of CPE 
hours needed in 2004 to comply with the 
standards. 
 
The GAO has established an e-mail box, 
yellowbook@gao.gov, to handle inquiries 
directly related to Government Auditing 
Standards. 
 
Re-printed from the North Carolina State Board of CPA 
Examiners Activity Review, June 2004 
 

NOTICES 
 

REGISTERING AS A D/B/A: 
Section 10:15-39-8 of the Oklahoma 
Administrative Code provides that a sole 
proprietor engaged in the practice of public 
accounting may use the designation "d/b/a" with 
a business name provided the sole proprietor's 
name is included in the name of the business. 
No registrant may use a misleading business 
name. 
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PASSWORDS & USER IDS RE-MAILED: 
Shortly before registration and permit renewal 
notices are mailed, the OAB will be re-mailing 
registrant User Id Numbers and Passwords.  
Please be sure the Board has your current 
mailing address on file. To verify the address the 
OAB has on file, you can perform an individual 
lookup on the OAB website. Please keep your 
User Id Numbers and Passwords in a secure 
location as these numbers are required for any 
online registration or application activities. The 
assigned numbers will not change from year to 
year. 
 

CHANGE OF ADDRESS OR EMPLOYMENT: 
Section 15.14.G of the Oklahoma Accountancy 
Act requires that all changes of professional 
status, employment or mailing address shall be 
reported to the Board within 30 calendar days of 
such changes becoming effective. Changes can 
be e-mailed, mailed, or faxed to the OAB office, 
or they can be made online if you have your PIN 
number.  Also, please keep your current e-mail 
address on file with the Board, as the OAB will 
be sending electronic mailings to registrants and 
candidates in the near future. 
 

INVESTIGATORS NEEDED: 
The OAB is seeking qualified individuals to 
investigate potential enforcement issues. 
Interested parties should submit proposals with 
their qualifications to Executive Director Edith 
Steele, Oklahoma Accountancy Board, 4545 N 
Lincoln Blvd., Ste 165, Oklahoma City, OK  
73105. 
 

ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS 
(Copies of the individual Orders in these cases 
are available in the Board office upon request.) 

 
RESPONDENT:  Melissa M. Combs, Non-
registrant, Bixby, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  1/23/04 
 
Melissa Combs is employed by a public 
accounting firm in Oklahoma. She had been 
issued a CPA certificate from the State of Texas 
but had not applied for a reciprocal certificate in 
Oklahoma or an Oklahoma permit to practice 
public accounting.  In an Administrative Consent 
Order, Respondent was assessed a fine of $300 
and agreed to, as soon as reasonably 
practicable, obtain and maintain both a 
reciprocal Oklahoma CPA certificate and an 
individual permit to practice public accounting. 
 
RESPONDENT:  Anne Bumpers, Non-
registrant, Jenks, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  1/23/04 
 
Anne Bumpers was employed by a public 
accounting firm in Oklahoma. She had been 

issued a CPA certificate from the State of 
Arkansas but had not applied for a reciprocal 
certificate in Oklahoma or an Oklahoma permit 
to practice public accounting. In an 
Administrative Consent Order, Respondent was 
assessed a fine of $300 and agreed to, as soon 
as reasonably practicable, obtain and maintain 
both a reciprocal Oklahoma CPA certificate and 
an individual permit to practice public 
accounting. 
 
RESPONDENT:  Ronald L. Hall, CPA 12491, 
Poteau, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  2/27/04 
 
In an Administrative Consent Order signed by 
Hall and approved by the Board, Hall admitted to 
having practiced under the unregistered firm 
name of Ronald L. Hall, CPA, PC, and agreed to 
immediately cease and desist from any further 
or future violations of the applicable sections of 
the Act and the Board Rules. Respondent was 
assessed a fine of $300. 
 
RESPONDENT:  Jeff Lee Detwiler, CPA 
13477, and Jeff L. Detwiler & Associates, 
Oklahoma City, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  5/14/04 
 
Jeff L. Detwiler & Associates, an unregistered 
firm, issued an unqualified audit opinion. In a 
Consent Order signed by Detwiler and approved 
by the Board, Detwiler admitted to practicing 
under an unregistered firm name and agreed to 
immediately cease and desist from any further 
violations of the applicable sections of the Act 
and the Rules. Respondents further agreed that 
"Associates" will discontinue practice as a CPA 
firm or holding out as a CPA firm unless and 
until all requirements of the Act and the Rules 
are met. Respondents were assessed the costs 
of the proceedings in the amount of $290.22 and 
a fine in the amount of $225.   
 
RESPONDENT:  David E. Webb & Company, 
Durant, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  5/14/04 
 
David E. Webb & Company placed an 
advertisement in the December 2002 Yellow 
Page Directory for the Lake Texoma Area 
published by SBC after the firm's permit to 
practice had been revoked by the Board in 
October 2001. In a Consent Order signed by a 
representative of the firm and approved by the 
Board, Respondent agreed to discontinue 
practice as a CPA firm until all requirements of 
the Act and the Board Rules are met.  
Respondent was assessed costs of the 
proceedings in the amount of $227.04 and a fine 
in the amount of $250.   
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RESPONDENT:  Charles R. Burkhard, Non-
registrant, Tulsa, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  12/17/04 
 
Charles R. Burkhard, a non-registrant, signed a 
letter stating he had made an examination in 
accordance with generally accepted auditing 
standards. In a Consent Order signed by 
Burkhard and approved by the Board, Burkhard 
agreed to abide by the restrictions of the 
Oklahoma Accountancy Act and Board Rules on 
non-registrants in the future and to pay a fine in 
the amount of $500 and costs of the 
proceedings in the amount of $453.   
 
RESPONDENT:  H & H Bookkeeping Service, 
Non-registrant, Oklahoma City 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  12/17/04 
 
Respondent H & H Bookkeeping Service signed 
an Independent Auditor's Report. In a Consent 
Order signed by a representative of the 
respondent and approved by the Board, 
respondent agrees to abide by the restrictions of 
the Oklahoma Accountancy Act and the Board 
Rules on non-registrants in the future.  
Respondent also is assessed costs of the 
proceeding in the amount of $285 and a fine in 
the amount of $1,000.   
 
RESPONDENT:  Evalyn Roy Carter, CPA 
8813, Durant, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  12/17/04 
 
Evalyn Roy Carter violated the Oklahoma 
Accountancy Act and Title 10 of the Oklahoma 
Administrative Code by failing to file income tax 
returns as required by law in 1996, 1997, 1998, 
and 1999 and being indicted by a Federal Grand 
Jury. She also violated the Act and the Code by 
answering "No" to the question "Since your 
previous registration or application filed with the 
Board have you been charged with, pled guilty 
or nolo contendere, or been convicted of a crime 
or are any charges or investigations pending at 
this time?" on her Individual Biennial 
Registration filed with the OAB on June 30, 2003 
and to a similar question on her permit 
application filed with the OAB on June 30, 2004. 
 
The Board determined that Respondent has 
committed 37 violations of the Act, revoked her 
CPA certificate, and assessed a fine of $40,000 
and costs of the proceedings in the amount of 
$1,062. 
 
RESPONDENT:  Jerry D. Meadows, CPA 
6659, Tulsa, OK 
DATE OF BOARD ACTION:  8/1/03 
 

Jerry D. Meadows violated the Oklahoma 
Accountancy Act and Title 10 of the Oklahoma 
Administrative Code by illegally transferring 6.1 
million dollars from his employer's to his 
personal bank account. He was indicted in 
Federal Court on 21 counts of wire fraud and 1 
count of criminal forfeiture. Respondent pled 
guilty to 3 of the 21 counts. The Board 
determined the Respondent committed 180 
violations of the Act and Rules, revoked his CPA 
certificate, and assessed a fine of $1,800,000. 
 
Individual Registration Hearings: 
At the Board meeting on August 27, 2004, the 
Board voted to accept the Administrative Law 
Judge's recommendation to revoke the following 
individuals for failure to register and pay the 
required registration fee for the Biennium ending 
July 31, 2006: 
 
IN OKLAHOMA:  Broken Arrow - Jimmy Earl Butler;  Durant 
-  Stephen L. Hearrell; Edmond - Stacy Lynne Crofford; 
Jenks - James E. Roth, II (Reinstated 1/21/05); Kingfisher - 
Thomas E. Baker; Mounds - Gregary Glenn Bayless; 
Muskogee - Ernest Lee Norfleet; Norman - R. Lloyd Barrett, 
Jr.; Oklahoma City - Steven Joel Clark, Judy A. Poltera 
(Reinstated 12/17/04); Sand Springs - Tracy Elizabeth 
Adams; Stillwater - William Murray Ulrich; Texhoma - Michal 
Meyer; Tulsa - John Richard Belie, William R. Broaddrick, J. 
William Everett, Tracie R. Kutmas, Tracey Elizabeth Norvell, 
Kathy Jo Robertson, Catherine Anne Wall 
 
OUT OF STATE: AL - C. B. Foster, Birmingham; AR - 
Douglas L. Payne, Ft Smith; AZ - Elisabeth A. Korb, 
Phoenix; T. Harry McKinney, Tucson; CA - Connie S. 
Gregory, Los Angeles; CO - Judson George Hurd, Berthoud; 
Charlene Happ Sinclair, Telluride; IL - Patricia M. Anderson, 
Kane; Kami Doyle Ragsdale, Chicago; Steven J. 
Tannheimer, Westmont; IN - Joseph R. Kiefer, Goshen; KS - 
Brian J. Walker, Shawnee; LA - Alyssa Baker Gautreau, 
Baton Rouge; Sharon L. Buzzanca, Bossier City; MO - David 
N. Harris, Joplin (Reinstatement pending); Sandra K. (Smith) 
Keels, Neosho; Jennifer J. Kennison, Kansas City; NC - 
Randy A. Bakeberg, Gastonia; NE - Lesley Whitehead 
Jaggers, Lincoln; NH - Marlon Kenneth Baese, Wilmot; NM - 
Fred Scott Nees, Albuquerque; OH - Charles A. Turney, 
New Albany; OR - James Ronald Tabor, Portland; PA - 
Janet L. Lantz, Clarks Summit; TX - Michael Powell Bonds, 
Houston; Shannon Lea Davis, Dallas; H. Jayne Epperson, 
Fort Worth; Vivian D. Larru, Fort Worth; Julia Marie Phillips, 
Corpus Christi; Michael Wilson Pinneo, Houston; Jason 
Scott Stafford, Plano 
 
Permit Hearings: 
At the Board meeting on October 29, 2004, the 
Board voted to accept the Administrative Law 
Judge's recommendation to suspend for two 
years the following individuals for failure to file 
an application for permit or to submit a change 
reflecting that the registrants were no longer 
practicing public accounting: 
 
Cathy Wing Scott, Tulsa; Robert W. Springer, 
Stillwater; Lawrence Webb, Broken Arrow; Kaye 
Colyer Wirz, Grandfield; William Blackburn White V, 
Oklahoma City 
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Firm Registration Hearings: 
 
At the Board meeting on October 29, 2004, the 
Board voted to accept the Administrative Law 
Judge's recommendation to revoke the following 
firms for failure to register and pay the annual 
registration fee: Bricktown Advisory Groupm CPAS, 
P.C.; Hupp & Bauer, A Professional Corporation (Reinstated 
12/17/04); James Dee Johnson & Company Certified Public 
Accountants, P.C.; Larry G. Sexton, CPA, P.C.; Norma J. 
Flaming CPA, P.C.; Salmon, Beach, and Company, A 
Professional Corporation; Walter Crouse, Jr., Inc.; Boalt & 
Associates, P.L.L.C.; SalmonBeach & Associates, PLLC 
 

Board Members: 
 

Carlos E. Johnson, CPA, Chairman 
Jay Engelbach, CPA, Vice Chairman 

E. B. St. John, PA, Secretary 
James A. Nickles, CPA, Member 

Tom Volturo, Public Member 
Janice Gray, CPA, Member 
Vicky Petete, CPA, Member 

 
 
 
 
 

Board Staff: 
 

Executive Director:         Edith Steele 
Deputy Director:         Kelly Brown 
Exam Coordinator:     Sharon Wells 
Records Coordinator:          Bob Miller 
Registration Coordinator:    Donita Graves 
CPE Coordinator/Editor:       Barbara Walker 
IT Director:     Jim Shepherd 
   
 

 
ON THE HORIZON 

 
03/17 – Public Rules Hearing 
03/18 – Board Meeting 
04/22 – Board Meeting 
05/20 – Board Meeting 
05/31 – Firm Renewal Filing Deadline 
06/29 – Board Meeting 
06/30 – Permit Filing Deadline 
07/22 – Board Meeting 
07/31 – Registration Filing Deadline 
08/19 – Board Meeting 
08/31 - Last date to file registration to avoid automatic                   

revocation of certificate or license 

 

 
 

The Bulletin is an authorized publication of the Oklahoma Accountancy Board designed for general distribution among its registrants 
and other interested parties.  Fourteen thousand copies have been printed at no cost to the taxpayers of the State.  Twenty-five 
copies have been deposited with the Publications Clearinghouse of the Oklahoma Department of Libraries. 


