
OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD (OAB) 

PERMITS 
 

 

REQUIREMENTS TO OBTAIN A PERMIT TO PRACTICE PUBLIC ACCOUNTING 

 

 1.  Where can I find the law pertaining to individual permits?  The Oklahoma 

Accountancy Act (Act) is available on the OAB website at www.ok.gov/oab.  Refer to 

Section 15.14A for the requirements relating to individual permits.  See Section 15.35 for 

the CPE requirements. 

 2.  Where can I find the rules pertaining to individual permits?  The Oklahoma 

Administrative Code (Code) is available on the OAB website at www.ok.gov/oab.  Chapter 

15, Subchapter 25 pertains to permits.  The CPE requirements and standards can be found 

in Chapter 15, Subchapters 30 and 32 respectively. 

 3.  Who must hold a permit to practice?  All OAB registrants engaged in the practice of 

public accounting are required to hold a permit. 

 4.  Where can I find a definition of the practice of public accounting so I can 

determine whether I need a permit?  Section 15.1A(34) of the Act defines the practice of 

public accounting.  The Act is available on the OAB website. 

5.  I work for a public accounting firm, but I don't sign anything.  Do I have to hold a 

permit?  Yes, CPA and PA staff employed by Oklahoma public accounting firms are 

considered to be engaged in public practice and are required to hold permits if they work on 

client records.   

 6.  May I hold a permit if I do not practice public accounting?  Yes 

 7.  I work full time in industry (or government or education) and do not practice 

public accounting.  Am I required to hold a permit now that I must complete CPE?  

No.  You are required to hold a permit only if you also perform public accounting services 

for anyone, other than non-compensated services for immediate family members (defined in 

Code 10:15-1-2). 

8.  What are the requirements to obtain an initial permit to practice?  To obtain an 

initial permit, you must report a minimum of forty (40) hours of CPE and provide evidence of 

the successful completion (90% or above) of the AICPA Comprehensive Ethics Examination 

or its equivalent as determined by the OAB earned within the previous calendar year or 

within 365 days immediately preceding the date of the application.  The exam course is 

called "Professional Ethics: AICPA's Comprehensive Course." It can be counted toward the 
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40 hours of CPE required for the permit. 

9.  What are the requirements to renew a lapsed permit?  To renew a permit that has 

lapsed, you must report a minimum of forty (40) hours of CPE and provide evidence of the 

successful completion (90% or above) of the AICPA Comprehensive Ethics Examination or 

its equivalent as determined by the OAB earned within the previous calendar year or within 

365 days immediately preceding the date of the application.  The exam course is called 

"Professional Ethics: AICPA's Comprehensive Course."  It can be counted toward the 40 

hours of CPE required for the permit. 

 10. What are the requirements to renew a permit currently in effect?  To renew a 

permit currently in effect, you must comply with the CPE requirements in Code 10:15-30-5.  

Essentially, you must earn 120 hours of CPE in a rolling 3-year period, with no less than 20 

hours in any year.  Four hours of ethics are required in any rolling 3-calendar-year period. 

 11. What is the fee to obtain a permit?  $100 

12. When will my permit expire?  Until the implementation of birth month registration, 

permit renewal, and CPE reporting, permits will continue to expire on the first June 30 

following the date of issuance and must be renewed on or before July 31.  The 

implementation has been deferred because the OAB will be converting its database and 

online licensing functions to the new State Enterprise Licensing System for state 

regulatory boards.  The initial stage of the transition to birth month reporting has been 

rescheduled to take place during the 2011 June/July registration and reporting period.  

The initial stage of the transition will entail a proration of registration fees to allow for the 

implementation of birth month reporting once the new licensing system is in place. 

 13. Is there a late fee for renewing the permit after the filing deadline?  No, but you 

must provide evidence of successful completion (90% or above) of the AICPA's 

Comprehensive Ethics Examination (or its equivalent as determined by the OAB) to renew a 

lapsed permit. (See Question 9.)  Furthermore, your new permit will have an effective date 

of the date the OAB receives your acceptable interim permit application form, so there will 

most likely be a lapse in coverage.  Finally, the law does not allow you to practice public 

accounting once your permit has expired. 

 14. Since I must earn the same amount of CPE required of a permit holder, should I 

not apply for the permit to practice even though I’m in industry?  You may apply for 

the permit if you wish.  However, there are additional requirements for those applying for 

permits that do not apply to non-permit holders.  Please refer to question 15. 

15. What requirements would an industry CPA/PA have to meet in order to obtain a 

permit?  To apply for an initial permit or to apply for a permit once a previous permit has 

lapsed, you must report a minimum of 40 hours of CPE and provide evidence of successful 



completion (90% or above) of the AICPA's Comprehensive Ethics Examination or its 

equivalent as determined by the OAB earned within the previous calendar year or within 

365 days period immediately preceding the date of the application. The course, entitled 

“Professional Ethics: AICPA’s Comprehensive Course,” may be available from your state’s 

professional society or it can be ordered from the AICPA at www.cpa2biz.com.  The CPE 

credit for the course may be counted toward the 40 hours of CPE required for the permit. 

Secondly, if you apply for a permit to practice, 72 hours of the total 120 hours earned in a 

rolling 3-year period (60%) must be earned in areas related to the practice of public 

accounting.  You must complete 8 hours each year in the areas of accounting, assurance, 

or taxation.  If you do not hold a permit, your CPE can relate to your professional industry, 

governmental, or academic position as long as it enhances your professional competence 

and is properly documented. 

16. I am in public practice and have just passed the CPA examination, but I have not 

yet earned the 40 hours of CPE required for the permit.  What should I do?  You can 

apply for a 60-day transition period which, if approved, would allow you to practice for 60 

days while you earn the CPE required to obtain the permit.  (See Code 10:15-25-5 for 

details.)   

 17. I earned 40 hours of CPE in the current calendar year to obtain my initial permit.  

Can I report these hours again next year when I report my hours for this year as part 

of my 3-year CPE requirement?  Yes.  Example:  40 hours of CPE are earned between 

1/1/09 and 10/15/09.  The initial permit is issued 10/20/09.  The 40 hours earned for the 

initial permit can be reported in 2010 when you are asked to report your 2009 CPE hours. 

18. Can I apply for reciprocity and a permit online?  No.  The reciprocal application 

process is fairly involved.  You can download the application form from the OAB website, 

but you will need to complete the forms and mail them to the OAB office along with the 

application fees and any additional information requested on the application.  The 

application must then be processed by the Licensing Coordinator, approved by the 

Executive Director, and sanctioned by the Board before reciprocity is granted.  The permit 

cannot be issued until reciprocity is granted. 

 19. Do I have to apply for a permit when I apply for reciprocity?  If you intend to 

practice public accounting, you must apply for a permit.  You are not required to apply for a 

permit if you do not intend to practice public accounting. 

 20. I do not practice public accounting but wish to hold a permit.  For CPE purposes, 

what type of CPE is considered "related to the practice of public accounting"?  Ask 

yourself the following and other similar questions:   

1)  What areas of the accounting profession would I be most likely to practice if I 

were to begin practicing public accounting?   
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2) What areas of the accounting profession would I like to explore to find out if I would 

be interested in practicing in those areas?   

3) What skills do I need to develop to make myself more marketable in the public 

accounting arena?   

The answers should give you some direction as to the type of courses to take.  Some 

courses or programs could apply to both industry and public accounting, depending upon 

the areas you think you would practice in if you were to begin practicing public accounting.   

21. I am applying to renew a lapsed permit.  The application tells me I must provide 

evidence of successful completion of the AICPA Comprehensive Ethics Examination.  

I have already completed the two hours of ethics required for the permit.  Will that 

suffice?  No. Two hours of professional ethics does not meet the requirements for 

renewing a lapsed permit.  Please refer to question 9.   

22. I intend to enter Oklahoma and practice under the substantial equivalency (SE) 

requirements.  Am I required to hold a permit in Oklahoma or to report CPE to the 

OAB?  No.  If you enter Oklahoma under SE, you simply must comply with the 

requirements of section 15.12A of the Act and Title 10, Chapter 15, Subchapter 22 of the 

Code.  The Act and the Code are available on the OAB website at www.ok.gov/oab.   
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