
 

OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD (OAB) 
COMPREHENSIVE ETHICS EXAMINATION AND ETHICS CPE 

 

 

PART I – COMPREHENSIVE ETHICS EXAMINATION  

 1.  Who is required to complete an ethics examination?  Individuals applying for an 
initial permit (Code 10:15-30-2) and individuals applying to renew a lapsed permit (Code 
10:15-30-3) must provide evidence of successful completion of the AICPA ethics 
examination or its equivalent as determined by the OAB.  In addition, Section 15.9E of 
the Act sets forth the requirement that all individuals applying for certification or 
licensure in Oklahoma must successfully complete an ethics examination prescribed by 
the OAB. 

 2.  Is there a specific ethics examination that must be taken?  The OAB will accept 
the AICPA's self-study course entitled "Professional Ethics: AICPA's Comprehensive 
Course."  This course is available in both textbook and CD ROM formats.  An equivalent 
course may be acceptable to the OAB as well.  The OAB requires that an equivalent 
ethics examination course be a minimum of 8 hours in length to be considered.  
Sufficient information would need to be submitted to the OAB for it to determine at its 
next regularly scheduled meeting whether the alternative course is equivalent in content 
to the AICPA course. 

3.  What are the requirements for an equivalent ethics examination course?  Any 
ethics CPE meeting the requirements for issuance of an original permit or to renew a 
lapsed permit must be one course which has been recommended for at least 8 hours of 
CPE credit by the course provider and must have been passed with a score of 90% or 
above.  Sufficient information would need to be submitted to the OAB for the Board to 
determine at its next regularly scheduled meeting whether the alternative course is 
equivalent in content to the AICPA course. 

 4.  What determines "successful completion" of the ethics examination?  The 
OAB has established a minimum score of 90% for successful completion of the AICPA 
ethics examination when the course is taken to meet the requirements of Section 15.9E 
of the Act or Subsection 10:15-30-2 or 10:15-30-3 of the Code.   

 5.  What if I took the AICPA's Ethics Examination several years ago?  Do I have to 
take it again?  If the ethics examination course is to be counted toward the CPE 



required for the permit, it must have been completed during the same period as the 
remaining CPE reported to obtain the permit.   

6  What is the process for meeting the ethics examination requirement? 

Ordering "Professional Ethics:  AICPA's Comprehensive Course" 

 A. The course is available in either textbook or CD ROM format. 
B. The course may be available through your state’s professional societies. 
C. You may order the course from the AICPA either online through 
www.cpa2biz.com or by telephone (888/777-7077). 

Cost 

As of June 3, 2009, the cost for the course if ordered from the AICPA is $105 for AICPA 
members and $131.25 for non-members.  Contact your state's professional societies for 
their prices, if available. 

How to Submit for Grading 

  You must indicate when you submit your examination for grading that you are 
submitting it for certification purposes for Oklahoma.  If you indicate you are 
taking the examination for CPE purposes, the course may not be accepted by the 
OAB because a passing grade for CPE purposes is only 75%.  The OAB requires a 
score of 90% or above for certification purposes and for purposes of applying for an 
initial permit or to renew a lapsed permit. 

Process and Expected Time Frame for Grading 

  To expedite the process considerably, it is recommended that you use the AICPA's 
Online Grading System. There is no charge for this service.  If you pass the 
examination with a score of 90% or above, you will be sent by e-mail a PDF file of 
your certificate of completion and a screen page that provides your name, 
completion date, course code, course name, and your score (see sample below).   

It is important that you print this screen page showing your score and attach it to 
your permit to practice application.  

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.cpa2biz.com/


7. What if I don't pass the ethics examination the first time I take it?  Will I be 
allowed to re-take it?  Yes.  You may take the examination using the online grading 
system up to three times.  If you still have not passed, you may continue to re-take the 
examination as many times as necessary, but you would not be able to take it online. 

8. Can I count the CPE credits for the ethics examination course toward the CPE 
requirement for my permit to practice?  Yes, if the course was taken during the same 
compliance period as the rest of the CPE reported to obtain the permit.  Like any other 
CPE course, it cannot be split between two different compliance periods. 

  PART II - ETHICS CPE  

 9.  Where can I find the CPE requirements?  The Act and the Code are both on the 
OAB website under "About the Board."  Section 15.35 in the Act sets forth the CPE 
requirements.  Please refer to Chapter 15, Subchapters 30 and 32 of the Code for 
details of the CPE requirement. 

 10.  What is the annual requirement for Ethics CPE?  Four hours of professional 
ethics must be earned in each rolling 3-calendar-year period. 

Also, current rules require that individuals applying for an initial permit and all individuals 
applying to renew a lapsed permit must show evidence of successful completion of the 
AICPA ethics examination or its equivalent as part of their CPE requirement.  (See 
Question 1.) 

11. Can the ethics requirement be met by ethics courses in other licensed 
professional disciplines?  Yes, as long as the professional disciplines relate directly to 
the practice of public accounting, such as law and securities. 

12. Will an ethics course taken for another state be accepted in Oklahoma?  Yes, 
the ethics requirement may be met by courses on ethical codes in jurisdictions other 
than Oklahoma. 

13. What if the certificate of completion for my ethics course does not specify that 
the course was an ethics course?  If the certificate of completion does not specify the 
nature and number of credit hours earned for professional ethics or unless it is clear 
from the course description that the subject matter meets the requirements for 
professional ethics credit, the permit holder must submit documentation that clearly 
demonstrates that the requirement for two hours of professional ethics has been met. 

14. Where can I find courses in professional ethics?  The OAB does not maintain a 
sponsor registry program, so we are not aware of all sponsors who may offer courses in 
professional ethics.  What we do have is a very informal list of providers from whom 



registrants have reported professional ethics courses.  We provide the list below as a 
courtesy to our registrants.   

In no way should you consider the inclusion of a sponsor on this list an endorsement of 
the sponsor or the courses provided by the sponsor.  It is the responsibility of the 
registrant to ascertain from the sponsor whether the course the individual wants to take 
is in compliance with the joint AICPA/NASBA CPE Statement on Standards adopted 
with minor exceptions by the OAB effective January 1, 2004.  NOTE:  Effective July 1, 
2009, any self-study CPE course accepted for credit must be offered by a sponsor 
registered with NASBA or a course offered by the AICPA or other such organizations as 
determined by the Board. 

Sponsors of Self Study and/or Self Study Online Courses:

www.aegcpe.com 
www.americancpe.com 
www.bhfe.com 
www.cch.com  
www.cpestore.com   
www.cpethink.com  
www.micromash.com  
www.passonline.com 
www.ppc.thomson.com 
www.pescpe.com 
www.smartpros.com 
www.westerncpe.com 
www.wiseguides.com 
 
Sponsors of Live Courses:  

American Women's Society of CPAs 
Francis Tuttle   
Oklahoma City Ethics Consortium 
Oklahoma Society of CPAs 
OSU Farm & Business Tax Institute 
 
14. Am I allowed to report more than 2 hours of professional ethics in any one 
compliance period?  Yes.  The OAB's rules do not limit the number of ethics hours that 
can be reported. 


