
OKLAHOMA ACCOUNTANCY BOARD (OAB) 
CPE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS AND EXCEPTIONS 

 
PART I – CPE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

1.  Where can I find the law and the rules pertaining to the CPE requirements and 
exceptions and the CPE standards?  The Oklahoma Accountancy Act (Act) and the 
Oklahoma Administrative Code (Code) are available on the OAB website at 
www.ok.gov/oab.  The CPE requirements can be found in Section 15.35 of the Act and 
in Chapter 15, Subchapter 30 of the Code.  Exceptions to the requirements are in Code 
10:15-30-8.  The CPE Standards are located in Chapter 15, Subchapter 32 of the Code. 

2.  Who must meet the CPE requirements?  All certificate and license holders, unless 
exempted by retirement, active military service, disability, or inactive status, must meet 
the requirement.  In general, you must meet the CPE requirement if:   
a. you wish to use your CPA/PA designation without using "retired CPA/PA" or "inactive 
CPA/PA"; 
b. you are in a position of responsibility and you hold that position because of your 
CPA/PA designation or because of your expertise as a CPA/PA; 
c. you provide any type of services that can be considered accounting, tax, 
bookkeeping, financial services, or management advisory services, whether or not for 
compensation, for anyone other than yourself or immediate family members; 
d. there is reliance on the services you provide, on your expertise as a CPA/PA, or on 
the accounting-related advice you give to anyone other than yourself or your immediate 
family members, whether or not for compensation. 

3.  What is the CPE requirement?  At least 120 hours of CPE must be earned within 
any rolling 3-calendar-year period with a minimum of 20 hours in any year.  Four hours 
of professional ethics must be earned in each rolling 3-calendar-year period. 
4.  How does the rolling three-calendar-year period work?    Registrants required to 
complete CPE must be able to show they have earned 120 hours of CPE in any 3-
calendar-year period. For most registrants, the first 3-year period was January 1, 2006 
through December 31, 2008.  On January 1, 2009, CPE earned in 2006 dropped off.  
The next 3-year period was then January 1, 2007 through December 31, 2009.   
5.  What is the compliance period for earning CPE? CPE is earned during each 
calendar year, between January 1 and December 31.    
6.  When and how will I report my CPE to the OAB?  CPE is currently reported 
annually in June/July. Effective January 1, 2010, the filing deadline for reporting CPE 
will be the last day of the certificate or license holder's birth month. You will report your 
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CPE online through the OAB's portal system or by submitting the paper form.  There will 
continue to be a single process to report CPE, register your CPA certificate or PA 
license, and/or apply for a permit, whichever are applicable to your situation.  The OAB 
will send notification when it is time to report your CPE.   
7. Should I send my CPE certificates or other proof of completion to the OAB 
throughout the year as I earn my CPE?  No.  Keep your documentation in your CPE 
file.  If you are selected to participate in the random sample CPE audit, you will be 
asked to provide copies of your documentation to the OAB. 

8. What will happen if I do not meet the CPE requirement?  You are given the entire 
calendar year to meet the minimum CPE requirement of 20 hours and three full 
calendar years to meet the 120-hour requirement.  Poor planning and being "too busy" 
do not constitute valid reasons for not completing the CPE required by law.   

If you are required by the Act and the Code to complete CPE and you choose not to 
meet the requirement, a case number will be assigned and the OAB's Enforcement 
Committee will review the matter for disciplinary action.  Possible disciplinary actions 
include the assessment of fines and costs, probation, suspension or revocation of your 
CPA certificate or PA license, or assessment of additional CPE requirements. 

If there are extenuating circumstances, such as catastrophic illness, that prevent you 
from meeting the requirement, contact the OAB's CPE Coordinator as soon as you 
suspect you might not meet the requirement.  
 
PART II – EXCEPTIONS TO THE CPE REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 

 
9. Where can I find the rules for re-entering active status? Code 10:15-30-9 
 
10. I am currently exempt from the CPE requirement.  What is my requirement if I 
rejoin the workforce in an accounting capacity? 

• For each calendar year in which you claimed an exemption or failed to report 
CPE pursuant to the CPE requirement, you must complete forty (40) hours of 
CPE to return to active status. 

• The maximum number of CPE hours required to return to active status is 120 
hours, including at least 4 hours of professional ethics. 

• If the number of CPE hours required to return to active status is fewer than 120, 
2 hours of professional ethics must be included. 

 
11. What is the time frame for completing the CPE required to re-enter active 
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status?  A registrant who immediately gives written notice to the Board upon changing 
to active status may be granted the following time periods in which to complete the CPE 
required by this section: 

• 60 days from the date of the return to active status for registrants needing 40 or 
fewer hours of CPE; and 

• One year from the date of the return to active status for any additional CPE 
above the 40 hours described above. 

 
12. Is there a form I should complete to notify the OAB of my return to active 
status?  Yes.  The Notification of Change of Status form is available for download from 
the Forms menu of the OAB website in both the Registration and CPE sections. 
 
13. When does my new rolling 3-calendar-year CPE period begin when I return to 
active status?  The rolling 3-year CPE cycle of a registrant returning to active status 
begins January 1 of the year the registrant returns to active status.  Example:  If you 
return to active status November 15, 2009, you must earn at least 20 hours of CPE in 
2009 and 120 hours of CPE in the 3-year period January 1, 2009-December 31, 2011. 
 
14. Can any of the CPE I complete to re-enter active status be applied to my 
rolling 3-calendar-year CPE period?  Yes, 40 hours of the CPE credit reported to 
meet the requirements to return to active status will be counted toward the 3-year CPE 
cycle for the calendar year in which it is earned if the credit is earned: 

• within the calendar year the registrant returns to active status, or 
• within one year of the date the registrant returns to active status. 

 
15.  Who may claim an exemption to the CPE requirements?  The Board exempts 
from the requirements of CPE the following classifications: 

• Retired certificate or license holders who are no longer employed or practicing 
public accounting; 

• Certificate or license holders who are on active military service; 
• Disabled certificate or license holders who are no longer employed or practicing 

public accounting due to medical circumstances; 
• Certificate or license holders who are (A) not employed due to circumstances 

other than retirement, military service or disability or (B) certificate or license 
holders employed but not performing any services associated with accounting 
work.   
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16.  What is meant by the term "associated with accounting work"?  For purposes 
of determining exemptions to the CPE requirement, the term "associated with 
accounting work" includes but is not limited to the following: 

• working or supervising work performed in the areas of financial accounting and 
reporting; tax compliance, planning or advice; management advisory services; 
accounting information systems; treasury, finance or audit or preparing personal 
financial statements or investment plans; or 

• representing to the public, including an employer, that the registrant is a CPA or 
PA in connection with the performance or sale of any services or products 
involving accounting work, including such designation on a business card, 
letterhead, promotional brochure, advertisement, office, website or any electronic 
media. 

 
17. Are there any other circumstances in which the OAB would grant an 
exemption from the CPE requirement?  The Board may exempt a registrant from the 
CPE requirement for good cause on a case-by-case basis.  The Board will consider 
granting an exception from the CPE requirement on a case-by-case basis if: 

• a registrant completes and forwards to the Board a sworn affidavit indicating that 
the registrant will not be associated with accounting work during the period for 
which the exemption is requested.  A registrant who has been granted this 
exemption and who re-enters the work force shall be required to comply with 
10:15-30-9; and 

• a registrant forwards to the Board a sworn affidavit from the employer or 
organization indicating no association with accounting work.  The affidavit shall 
include, as a minimum, a brief description of the duties performed, job title, and 
verification by the registrant's immediate supervisor that there is no reliance on 
the registrant's expertise as a CPA or PA. 

 
18. If I claim an inactive status and do not complete CPE, may I use the CPA or PA 
designation on letterhead, business cards, a resume or biography?   No, not 
unless they say "inactive" or "retired" CPA or PA.   
 
19. I had serious health issues that kept me from completing CPE last year.  Will 
the OAB exempt me from my CPE requirement?  The OAB may exempt or offer an 
extension to a registrant who shows reasons of health, certified by a medical doctor, 
preventing compliance with the CPE requirement.  A registrant must petition the OAB 
for the exemption and provide documentation that clearly establishes the period of 
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disability and the resulting physical limitations. 
 

20. The rules require me to complete CPE if I perform management advisory 
services (MAS) for clients or for my employer.  What accounting services are 
considered MAS?  Accounting services that are considered MAS include but are not 
limited to the following:  
a. counseling management in analysis, planning, organizing, operating, risk 
management and controlling functions; 
b. conducting special studies, preparing recommendations, proposing plans and 
programs, and providing advice and technical assistance in their implementation; 
c. reviewing and suggesting improvement of policies, procedures, systems, methods, 
and organization relationships; and 
d. introducing new ideas, concepts, and methods to management.  
 
21. I provide accounting services, but I live and work outside of Oklahoma.  Do I 
have to meet the CPE requirements?  Yes. 
 
22. I am retired (or inactive), but I provide volunteer services.  Must I meet the 
CPE requirement?  An "inactive" or "retired" status registrant may volunteer services 
for which the registrant receives no direct or indirect compensation so long as the 
registrant does not sign any documents related to such services as a CPA or PA.  
Volunteer services do not extend to preparing tax returns for friends and neighbors. 
 
23. I am the trustee of a family member's trust fund.  Must I complete CPE?  No.   
 
24. I am the trustee of a friend's trust fund.  Do I have to complete CPE?  No, not 
unless there is reliance upon your expertise as a CPA. 
25. Do I have to meet the CPE requirement to prepare my grandmother's tax 
return? You can provide incidental, non-compensated services for immediate family 
members as defined in Code 10:15-1-2 without having to meet the CPE requirement. 

26. I provide bookkeeping and/or accounting services for my family owned 
business.  Do I have to meet the CPE requirement?  No, not unless you are signing 
financial documents as a CPA. 

27. I am a tax attorney.  Do I have to meet the CPE requirement? No, not if the only 
client services you provide are as an attorney.  However, if you do not meet the CPE 
requirement, you cannot display your CPA certificate or PA license on your office wall or 
use your professional designation on business cards and letterhead.  
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28. Does a loan officer at a bank have to meet the CPE requirement?  If the loan 
officer prepares or assists customers in preparing financial statements, provides 
management advisory services to customers or to the employer, CPE is required.   

29. Do Certified Financial Advisors and Certified Financial Planners have to meet 
the CPE requirement?  Yes.   

30. I sit on the Board of a public company.  Do I have to meet the CPE 
requirement?  You would be required to complete CPE if you were selected for 
membership on the Board because of your CPA or PA designation, if the Board relies 
on your CPA or PA designation, if you provide any type of management advisory 
services, or if you use your CPA or PA designation. 

31. I am the Chief Financial Officer for a company.  Do I have to complete CPE?  
Yes. 

32. I am the CEO of a company.  Am I required to complete CPE?  You must 
complete CPE if being a CPA was a requirement for your position.  You must complete 
CPE if you are using your CPA designation on letterhead or business cards or signing 
letters or other documents as a CPA, unless you specify "inactive CPA." Otherwise, you 
do not.   

33. I work in industry and do not hold a permit.  I do not want to complete CPE.  If 
I drop my AICPA and/or OSCPA or OSA membership, can I avoid the CPE 
requirement?  No.  The CPE requirement is not an AICPA, OSCPA, OSA, or another 
professional organization requirement.  The completion of CPE is required by law in the 
Act.  If you provide accounting services to the public or to an employer, CPE is required 
to maintain your CPA certificate or PA license in good standing. 

34. I do not hold a permit.  I am claiming an exemption to the CPE requirement.   
Can I display my CPA certificate or PA license?   

a. If your business cards and/or letterhead indicate "retired" or "inactive" CPA or PA, 
you may display your CPA certificate or PA license if you provide the OAB with the 
affidavit(s) discussed in the bullets in question 17.
b. If your business cards and/or letterhead do not indicate that you are a CPA or PA, 
you may display your CPA certificate or PA license if you provide the OAB with the 
affidavit(s) discussed in the bullets in question 17.

6 


