TITLE 460. DEPARTMENT OF MINES
CHAPTER 25. OKLAHOMA EXPLOSIVES AND BLASTING RULES AND
REGULATIONS

SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

460:25-1-8. Petitions to initiate rulemaking

(@) Any interested person may petition the Director of the Oklahoma Department of Mines to

initiate a proceeding for the issuance, amendment, or repeal of any regulations under the

Chapter The petltlon shall be submitted to the Dlrector Oklahoma Department of Mines, 4040
n 3 2915 North Classen

Blvd SU|te 213, Oklahoma Cltv, Oklahoma 73106

(b) The petition shall be a concise statement of the facts, technical justification, and law which
require issuance, amendments, or repeal of a regulation under the Chapter and shall indicate
whether the petitioner desires a public hearing.
(c) Upon review of the submitted petition, the Director shall determine if the petition sets forth
the requirements of Subsection (b) of this Section as to provide a reasonable basis to initiate
rulemaking action. If the Director determines that the petition has reasonable basis, a notice may
be published in the Oklahoma Register seeking comment from the public on the proposed
change. The Department may hold a public hearing, may conduct an investigation, or take other
action to determine whether the petition should be granted.
(d) The Director's decision shall constitute the final decision for of the Department.

(1) If the petition is granted, the Director shall initiate a rulemaking proceeding.

(2) If the petition is denied, the Department shall notify the petitioner in writing.

460:25-1-9. Availability of records
Records required by this Chapter to be made available to the public shall be retained at the
offices of the Oklahoma Department of Mines, 4040-North-Lincoln-Boulevard,Suite- 107,

Oklahema-City-Oklahoma—+73105-2915 North Classen Blvd., Suite 213, Oklahoma City,
Oklahoma 73106 .

SUBCHAPTER 3. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR PERMITS AND
APPLICATIONS

460:25-3-8. Permit application filing deadlines

(@) General. By June 1, 1996, all applicants using explosives or conducting blasting must have
a valid permit issued by the State of Oklahoma.

(b) Renewal of valid permits. An application for renewal of a permit shall be filed with the
Department at-least-45-days-before prior to the expiration of the permit involved.

(c) Revisions of permit. Any application for revision of a permit shall be filed with the
Department no more than 7 days after the revision is implemented.



SUBCHAPTER 7. PERMIT INFORMATION

460:25-7-2. Public notices of filing of permit application

A permit application shall be posted at the Oklahoma Department of Mlnes at the Oklahoma
City Office, located at :
73105- 2915 North Classen Blvd SUIte 213, Oklahoma Cltv, Oklahoma 73106 When flled W|th
the Department. The posted permit application, which will serve as public notice, shall contain,
at a minimum, the following information:

(1) The name and business address of the applicant;

(2) Verification of application;

(3) Blaster's state certificate number with issuance date and expiration date; and

(4) Copy of the certificate of blasting.

SUBCHAPTER 13. PERFORMANCE STANDARDS

460:25-13-22. Records of blasting operations

A record of each blast, including seismographic reports if used, shall be retained for at least
three years and shall be available for inspection by the Department upon request. The record
shall contain as-at a minimum the following data:

(1) Name of company or contractor.

(2) Exact location of the blast, date, and time of detonation.

(3) Name, signature and license number of blaster in charge.

(4) Type of material blasted.

(5) Number of holes, burden and spacing.

(6) Diameter and depth of holes.

(7) Types of explosives used.

(8) Total amount of explosives used.

(9) Maximum amount of explosives per delay period of eight (8) milliseconds or

greater.

(10) Method of firing and type of circuit.

(11) Direction, distance in feet, and identification of nearest dwelling, house, public

building, school, church, commercial or institutional building neither owned nor leased by

the person conducting the blast.

(12) Weather conditions including temperature, wind velocity, and direction.

(13) Type and height or length of stemming.

(14) A statement as to whether mats or other protections against flyrock were used.

(15) Type of delay electric blasting caps used and delay periods used.

(16) The person taking the seismograph reading shall accurately indicate exact location of

seismograph if used and shall also show the distance of seismograph from blast and the

distance from the nearest seismograph and the nearest structure.

(17) Seismograph records, where required:

(A) Name of person and firm analyzing the seismograph record
(B) Seismograph reading
(18) Maximum number of holes per delay period of eight (8) milliseconds or greater.



(19) Sketch of blast pattern including number of holes, burden and spacing distance delay
pattern, and if decking is used, a hole profile.
(20) Digital or video recordings of each shot must be available for review upon request.
Digital or video recordings must clearly show top and bottom of blast.
(21) Information provided with digital or video recordings must include:

(A) Date of recording;

(B) GPS location of recording and camera bearing;

(C) Name of person recording the blast.




