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BACKGROUND 
 
National 
 
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration (NHTSA), the number of traffic 
fatalities decreased nearly 10% from 2007 to 
2008 in the United States. However, over 37,000 
lives were still lost in traffic-related fatalities in 
2008. More than half of persons killed while 
traveling in passenger cars were unrestrained 
(55%). Motorcycle fatalities increased in the 
same year accounting for 14% of traffic fatalities 
(5,290 deaths).1 
 
Approximately 13,250 lives were saved in 2008 
by the use of seat belts in passenger cars, and 
244 lives of children younger than 5 years of age 
were saved by the use of child restraints. An 
additional 4,152 lives would have been saved if 
all unrestrained passenger vehicle occupants 5 
years of age and older had been using a restraint 
device. Frontal air bags saved the lives of 2,546 
occupants 13 years of age and older and 
motorcycle helmets saved 1,829 lives. If all 
motorcyclists who were involved in a crash had 
been wearing helmets, 823 more lives could 
have been saved. In addition, more than 700 
young adults 18 to 20 years of age were saved 
by minimum drinking age laws (21 years old).2 
 
From 2000 to 2006, motor vehicle crashes were 
the leading cause of unintentional injury death 
overall in the United States, resulting in over 
300,000 fatalities.3 In 2008, nearly 970 children 
birth to 14 years of age were involved in fatal 
motor vehicle crashes and approximately 
168,000 were injured.4 More than one in three 
deaths are a result of motor vehicle crashes 
among teens, and drivers 16 to 19 years of age 
are more likely to be involved in traffic-related 
incidents than any other age group. On average, 

approximately 12 teens 16 to 19 years of age die 
every day from motor vehicle-related injuries. 
Teenagers and young adults 15 to 24 years of 
age account for 14% of the nation’s population. 
However, males in this age group account for 
30% ($19 billion) of motor vehicle-related medical 
costs and females 15 to 24 years of age account 
for 28% ($7 billion). According to the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), teen 
drivers who are at high risk of being involved in 
crashes include males, teens driving with other 
teen passengers, and those who are newly 
licensed.5  
 
In 2006, over 175,200 adults 65 years of age and 
older were injured as result of motor vehicle 
crashes. Older drivers are more likely to suffer 
from fatal motor vehicle injuries than are younger 
drivers. Older adults may have a higher risk of 
being involved in a motor vehicle crash due to 
poor vision, cognitive functions, and physical 
impairments. Seventy-six percent of older drivers 
and passengers involved in fatal crashes were 
wearing seat belts at the time of the crash 
compared to 62% of adult occupants younger 
than 65 years old.6 
 
Oklahoma 
 
Motor vehicle crashes were the leading cause of 
unintentional injury death among children and 
adults 1 to 64 years of age from 2000 to 2006 in 
Oklahoma. Each year, approximately 770 
persons lose their lives in traffic-related fatalities. 
Overall fatality rates were highest among novice 
drivers 15 to 24 years of age and drivers 65 
years of age and older.3,7 
 
Teen Drivers 
 
In 2006, over 20,200 teens 16 to 19 years of age 
were involved in motor vehicle crashes in 
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Oklahoma. Sixty-eight teens in this age group died 
at a traffic crash scene or in a hospital emergency 
room. Of these, 36 were drivers, 26 were 
passengers and 6 had unknown occupant 
position. Unsafe speed (44%) and failure to stop 
or yield (14%) were the most common noted 
causes of the fatal motor vehicle crashes. Alcohol 
was a contributing factor in 8% of teen drivers. 
Seat belt use was known for 55 persons involved 
in these fatal crashes; of these, 67% were not 
restrained. Among the 218 teen drivers who were 
hospitalized, over half were male (61%). Fifty-
seven percent of teen motorcyclists were not 
wearing a helmet; 80% of teens who died in a 
hospital were not wearing a seat belt.8 
 
Older Drivers 
 
In 2006, there were approximately 288,000 
licensed drivers 70 years of age and older in 
Oklahoma, and motor vehicle crashes were the 
second leading cause of injury death in this age 
group. Older drivers were involved in 7,562 out of 
75,408 motor vehicle crashes. The highest rate 
of injuries occurred among males, 80 to 84 years 
of age. Older drivers had lower fatality rates than 
younger drivers age 16 to 24 years of age. 
Failure to stop or yield (34%), improper turning 
(17%), and improper backing and/or changing 
lanes unsafely (16%) were the most common 
causes of motor vehicle crashes involving older 
drivers. There were 2,005 injuries (nearly 8 
injuries per person) sustained by older adults 
who were hospitalized (257 hospitalizations).9 
 
 
PROGRESS 
 
Funding 
 
The Injury Prevention Service (IPS) receives 
funding from the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office 
(OHSO) to conduct the Oklahoma Traffic Data 
Linkage Project (TDLP). The goal of the TDLP is 
to obtain comprehensive information on traffic 
crashes by linking data from multiple sources. The 
IPS links data from traffic crashes, hospitals, and 

death certificates (traffic record data, Oklahoma 
Hospital Inpatient Discharge data, and vital 
statistics data). Linking traffic crash reports and 
data from the medical care system provides a 
more complete array of information to better 
understand motor vehicle crashes and their 
effects. The data can be used to develop, inform, 
and evaluate traffic injury prevention programs in 
Oklahoma. Crash data findings on teen drivers 
have been presented on national and local levels. 
A website has been developed for the TDLP, and 
the TDLP Board of Directors is assisting with 
additional promotion efforts. 
 
From 2001 to 2009, the IPS received funding 
from the OHSO to implement an occupant 
protection program which was offered through 
county health departments statewide. In October 
2009, the OHSO funded Safe Kids to coordinate 
the occupant protection program statewide, with 
a focus on rural areas. IPS staff will continue to 
provide support and assistance as needed. 
 
Publications 
 
Peer-Reviewed Publications 
 All-terrain vehicle crash factors and 

associated injuries in patients presenting to a 
regional trauma center. Journal of Trauma, 
Nov 2007;63(5):994-9 

 All terrain vehicle-related central nervous 
system injuries in Oklahoma. Journal of the 
Oklahoma State Medical Association May 
2005;98(5):194-199 

 All-terrain vehicle related nonfatal injuries 
among young riders: United States, 2001-
2003. Pediatrics 2005;116;608-612. 

 Blood alcohol content (BAC)-negative victims 
on alcohol-involved injury incidents. 
Addiction, 2002;97(7):909-914. 

 Epidemiology of severe traumatic brain injury 
among persons 65 years of age and older in 
Oklahoma, 1992-2003. Brain Injury June 
2007;21(7):691-9. 

 Magnitude of major trauma in Oklahoma. 
Journal of Oklahoma State Medical 
Association 2004(2);97:70-74. 
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 Prevention of traffic deaths and injuries: the 
role of physicians. Journal of the Oklahoma 
Medical Association 2001;94(6):192-194 

 Unintentional motor vehicle-train collisions--
Oklahoma, 1995-2003. Journal of the 
Oklahoma State Medical Association 2009 
Aug;102(8):263-6. 

 
Other Publications 
 Oklahoma Injury Facts. September 2003. 
 
Summary Data Reports 
 Injuries in Oklahoma, 2004 
 Injuries in Oklahoma, 2005 
 Injuries in Oklahoma, 2004-2006 
 
Injury Update Reports 
 Dangers of Traveling by Foot: Pedestrian-

Related Traumatic Brain Injuries in 
Oklahoma, 1992-2002 

 Fatal Injuries Among Children Left 
Unattended In or Around a Motor Vehicle in 
Oklahoma, 2000-2004 

 Pedestrian-Related Traumatic Brain Injuries 
in Oklahoma, 1992-2002 

 Work Zone-Related Deaths, Oklahoma, July 
1997-December 2006 

 
Fact Sheets 
 Adolescent Injury in Oklahoma 
 Alcohol-Related Crash Injuries and Deaths, 

Oklahoma, 2006 
 Child Passenger Safety Common Errors 
 Child Passenger Safety FAQ 
 Impaired Driving 
 Motorcycle Crash Injury 
 Motor Vehicle Crash Injury Laws Q&A 
 Motor Vehicle Crash Injuries 
 Motor Vehicle Crash Injuries Among Children 

and Car Seat Use 
 Older Driver-Related Crash Injuries and 

Deaths, Oklahoma, 2006 
 Pedestrian-Related Injuries 
 Teenage Traffic Injuries 
 Tips For Keeping Your Child Happy in a Car 

Seat 

 Traffic Crash Data Linkage Results Among 
Oklahoma Teens 16-19 Years of Age, 2006 

 
Education and Planning Materials 
 Breaking Away--Teaching Injury Prevention 

to Young Bicycle Riders 
 PTA Guide to Bicycle Helmet Projects 
 
Collaboration 
 
From 2001 to 2009, the IPS partnered with the 
OHSO to implement an occupant protection 
program. This program offered eligible families 
the opportunity to receive child safety seats at no 
cost. Child passenger safety staff educated and 
instructed each family on how to properly secure 
a car or booster seat in their vehicle. Every family 
receiving a child safety seat was required to 
watch a child passenger safety video and was 
given additional information about child safety 
seat use. Family members were encouraged to 
participate in the installation process. 
 
In October 2009, Safe Kids assumed management 
of the occupant protection program statewide. The 
IPS will continue to support the program by 
providing technical assistance, instructing one-day 
and four-day training classes, and conducting 
safety seat installations and checks.  
 
A symposium on underage drinking was 
conducted in Oklahoma in 2006. Using the 
Spectrum of Prevention, a template of 
recommendations was prepared and distributed 
to various stakeholders following the symposium.  
 
Legislation 
 
Occupant Protection 
 
In 2004, Oklahoma legislators passed a child 
safety seat law which requires children birth to five 
years of age to be properly restrained in a car seat 
or booster seat when traveling in a motor vehicle. 
Children ages six to twelve years old must be 
properly restrained in a child safety seat or seat 
belt. Prior to 2004, children birth to three years of 
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age were required to be in a car seat, and children 
four to five years old could be restrained in a seat 
belt, regardless of their seating position in the 
vehicle. Oklahoma’s primary seat belt law covers 
all persons 13 years of age and older seated in 
front vehicle seating positions. 
 
The Forget-Me-Not Vehicle Safety Act was 
passed in 2008, making it illegal for caregivers to 
leave children six years of age or younger 
unattended in a motor vehicle, unless 
accompanied by a person at least 12 years of 
age or older. 
 
In 2009, child endangerment offenses were 
expanded to include any parent or guardian who 
knowingly permits a child to be present in a 
vehicle when the driver is impaired or under the 
influence of alcohol or other intoxicating 
substance, or when the parent or guardian is the 
impaired driver or under the influence of alcohol 
or other intoxicating substance. 
 
Cell Phone Use and Text Messaging 
 
Currently, Oklahoma has no laws relating to cell 
phone use or text messaging while driving. In 2009, 
nine legislative bills relating to cell phone use were 
introduced; however, none of them passed. 
 
Helmet Use 
 
Oklahoma has a partial helmet law that requires 
all motorcyclists younger than 18 years of age to 

wear a motorcycle helmet. The state does not 
have any helmet laws pertaining to bicyclists. 
 
All-terrain Vehicles 
 
All-terrain vehicles (ATVs) purchased on or after 
July 1, 2005 must be registered and titled in 
Oklahoma. Use of ATVs are prohibited on streets 
and highways except to cross these roads, for no 
more than 300 feet to cross a railroad track 
during daylight hours, or on unpaved roads on 
United States Forest Service property.5 
Oklahoma state law requires riders younger than 
18 years old to wear a helmet when operating an 
ATV on public lands, and prohibits operators of 
ATVs on public lands from carrying passengers 
unless the vehicle was designed by the 
manufacturer for passengers. A bill to make 
ATVs street legal was introduced in the 2009 
session, but did not pass. 
 
Graduated Driver Licensing  
 
Oklahoma established a Graduated Driver 
Licensing (GDL) law in 1999. GDL consists of 
four levels of licensing; no license, learner permit, 
intermediate license, and unrestricted license. 
This system allows full driving privileges to 
novice drivers gradually, and requirements vary 
with each level. GDL restricts the number of 
passengers and the amount of driving time 
allowed for young, novice drivers. Table 1 from 
the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety 
shows GDL as it affects Oklahoma drivers 15 to 
18 years of age.

 

Table 1. Oklahoma Graduated Driver Licensing Law 
License Type Driving Privileges Requirements 

With Driver Education No Driver Education 

No License 
When: While receiving 
instruction from and 
accompanied by a certified 
driver education instructor 

-At least 15 years old 
-While receiving instruction from 
a certified instructor 

(Not eligible) 

Learner 
Permit 

When: While accompanied by 
a licensed driver at least 21 
years old 

-At least 15 1/2 years old 
-Must be currently receiving 
instruction in or have 

-At least 16 years old 
-Must have passed written 
driving exam 
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completed driver education 
-Must have passed written 
driving exam 

-Must have passed vision exam 

-Must have passed vision 
exam 

Intermediate 
License 

When: 5am to 11pm, unless 
for activities related to school, 
church, or work or any time if 
accompanied by licensed 
driver at least 21years old 
  
Passengers: 1 passenger or 
only people who live in the 
driver's home or any 
passenger if accompanied by 
licensed driver at least 
21years old 

-Must have had a Learner 
Permit for at least 6 months 

-Must have had at least 40 
hours (10 hours at night) of 
behind-the-wheel training from 
licensed driver at least 21 
years old and licensed for at 
least 2 years 

-Must have no traffic 
convictions on driving record 

-Must have passed driving skills 
exam 

-Must have had a Learner 
Permit at least 6 months 

-Must have had at least 40 
hours (10 hours at night) of 
behind-the-wheel training 
from licensed driver at least 
21 years old and licensed for 
at least 2 years 

-Must have no traffic 
convictions on driving record 

-Must have passed driving 
skills exam 

Unrestricted 
License 

When: unrestricted 
 
Passengers: unrestricted 

-Must have had an Intermediate 
License for at least 6 months 

-Must have no traffic 
convictions on driving record 

-Must have had an 
Intermediate License for at 
least 1 year 

-Must have no traffic 
convictions on driving record 

-OR- 
-Must be at least 18 years old 
-Must have passed all driving and vision exams 

 
 
Underage Drinking 
 
According to Oklahoma’s zero tolerance law, if 
drivers younger than 21 years of age are found to 
have a blood alcohol level over 0.02 percent 
before or while operating a motor vehicle, they 
may be charged with impaired driving offenses. 
 
Oklahoma passed a law in 2006 making it illegal 
for a person to knowingly and willfully give 
alcohol or controlled dangerous substances to a 
minor (person under 21 years of age) who is 
invited by that person to a residence, building, or 
property owned or procured by that person. If this 
act results in the death of a person, violators will 
be fined and/or convicted of a felony. Fifty-five 
Oklahoma communities have taken this law a 
step further by adopting social host ordinances 
which prohibit persons from knowingly hosting 
gatherings where alcoholic beverages are 
available to minors. 
 

Ignition Interlock Devices 
 
A measure related to the installation of an alcohol 
ignition interlock device as a condition of 
modifying license revocation or driving privileges 
becomes effective November 1, 2009. Another 
bill requiring persons to use ignition interlock 
devices when convicted of first-time driving under 
the influence offenses became dormant after 
failing to be heard in committee. 
 
 
GOALS/OBJECTIVES 
 
Goal 
 
 Collect relevant data and provide educational 

information to reduce traffic-related injuries 
and deaths. 
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Objectives 
 
 Increase seat belt use to 92% by 2015. 

Baseline: 2009 Oklahoma Highway Safety 
Office data for Oklahoma: seat belt 
use=84.2%. 

 Increase child safety seat use among 
children birth to six years of age to 90% by 
2015. 
Baseline: 2009 Oklahoma Highway Safety 
Office data for Oklahoma: proper restraint 
use=86.3%. 

 Decrease the proportion of high school age 
students who have driven a vehicle when 
drinking alcohol within a given month to 10% 
by 2015. 
Baseline: 2007 Youth Risk Behavior Survey 
data for Oklahoma: students who have 
driven a vehicle when drinking alcohol during 
the past 30 days=13.3%. 

 
 
 
 
ACTION PLAN 
 
 Continue to support statewide programs to 

reduce traffic-related deaths through 2015. 
 Maintain the TDLP through 2015. 
 Continue to support and participate in the 

TDLP Board of Directors through 2015. 
 Continue to support and participate in the 

Statewide Buckle Up Committee through 2015. 

 Continue to conduct child safety seat checks 
and provide technical assistance to parents 
and caregivers through 2015. 

 Continue to provide technical assistance to 
county health department program contacts 
and participate in child safety seat check 
events and instruct child passenger safety 
trainings through 2015. 

 Continue to collect surveillance data on 
traumatic brain injuries, ATV and traffic 
injuries and fatalities using Oklahoma 
Medical Examiner data, Vital Records data, 
and Oklahoma Highway Safety Office data 
through 2015. 

 Work with the Oklahoma Highway Safety 
Office and the Department of Public Safety to 
increase awareness of Graduated Driver 
Licensing laws among parents and 
caregivers of novice drivers through 2015. 

 Prepare and disseminate traffic-related news 
releases, fact sheets, and reports through 
2015. 

 Fulfill traffic-related data requests as need 
through 2015. 

 Support traffic safety legislation by providing 
partners and legislators with relevant data, 
reports, fact sheets, and educational 
information through the 2015 as appropriate. 

 Support legislation restricting cell phone use 
and texting while driving by providing 
relevant data, reports, fact sheets, and 
educational information through the 2015 
legislative session. 
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