
 

 

2017 EMS Personnel Renewal Application 
Option 2- Non-NREMT Certified Emergency Medical Technician, Intermediate,  and Paramedic 

 
Your license will expire on June 30, 2017.  Oklahoma statutes allow for a thirty (30) day grace period after the expiration date of the 

license (Grace period ends on July 30, 2017) (63 O.S. Section 1-1702). 
 

Renewal applications will be accepted no later than July 30, 2017. 
 

Due to new OSDH building security, walk-in applicants should not expect to receive a copy of their license on the same day.  Walk in 
Applicants will leave their application with the cashiers. 

 
After July 30, 2017 a completed OSDH INITIAL EMS Personnel Application will be required for reinstatement of licensure.  

This will require meeting all of the requirements for an initial license, including NREMT certification. 
In cases of hardship, an extension can be granted for up to 90 days.  Requests for an extension must be submitted via email 
to esystems@health.ok.gov The State EMS office cannot issue any license for renewal after 90 days of the expiration date. 

 
OPTION 1, Nationally Registered EMS Personnel:   
 

If you are currently registered with NREMT, DO NOT COMPLETE THIS FORM.  Instead, select the “Option 1” license renewal 
application from the OSDH website. 

 
OPTION 2, EMS Personnel without National Registration:  
 
Applicants who are currently not registered with National EMT Registry may continue to renew their Oklahoma EMS Personnel 
license if: 
 
1. They were initially licensed in Oklahoma before April 1, 2010.  AND 
2. They have maintained their Oklahoma EMS license since April 1, 2010. 
 
NATIONAL REGISTRY EMT’s RENEWING AS OKLAHOMA INTERMEDIATE:  DO NOT COMPLETE THIS FORM.  Instead, 
use the “National Registry EMT renewing as Oklahoma Intermediate” renewal application from the OSDH website. 
 
To renew your license without National Registration, please send the following to the Department: 
 
1. A completed “Option 2” license renewal application.  
2.   Copy of your refresher certificate with course authorization number. 
3.   Con-Ed Summary Report Form. 
4.   Copy of your CPR Card that indicates current healthcare provider or professional rescuer certification. 
5.   Paramedics Only: Copy of your current ACLS certification. 
6.   The license renewal fee. 
 
SPECIAL NOTES: 
 

 EMS Personnel who are placed on Tax Hold by the Oklahoma State Tax Commission must be released by the Tax Commission on 
or before the ending of the statutory grace period.  

 PLEASE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE MEMO Medical Control Requirements for Certified and Licensed Personnel ON THE 
FOLLOWING PAGE. 

 EMS Personnel who are instructors should submit their instructor renewal by email to esystems@health.ok.gov  
 The form for instructor renewal is located here: http://www.ok.gov/health2/documents/NEWInstructorRenewalApp.pdf 
 Regulations concerning EMT Licensure may be found on our website 

at: https://www.ok.gov/health2/documents/EMS%20Regulations%209-11-2016.pdf 
 If you have any questions, please contact the EMS Division at 405-271-4027 or by email at esystems@health.ok.gov 
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310:641-5-13. Issuance of licenses 
(a)  Upon successful completion of the examinations, an Oklahoma certification or license at the respective level of emergency 

medical personnel shall be issued. Concurrent registration with the National Registry is included during the initial license 
period. NREMT certification shall be maintained by emergency medical personnel licensed after April 1, 2010. Oklahoma 
emergency medical personnel licenses will be extended to meet the new expiration date for a two year transition period. 
An exception is permitted for Oklahoma licensed Intermediates that did not test to become AEMTs. When their national 
certification is not renewed, they may still retain their Intermediate license subject to Oklahoma requirements for renewal.  

 
310:641-5-14. Renewal of certification and license requirements  
(a) An application for renewal of emergency medical personnel certifications or licenses shall be submitted to the Department. 

A notice of expiration for renewal shall be sent to each certificate or license holder no less than sixty (60) days prior to the 
expiration date each year. Directions for renewal will be made available by the Department.  

(b) Certificate and license holders are solely responsible for meeting all requirements for renewal.  
(c)Applications for renewal shall be completed using Department approved procedures and forms.  
(d) Incorrect or incomplete documentation shall be cause for rejection.  
(e) Specific renewal requirements are detailed in in this subchapter. 
 
310:641-5-15. Expired certification and license  
(a) Any certification or license holder who fails to renew their Oklahoma emergency medical technician responder certification, 

or emergency medical personnel license, within the required time frame shall be considered to have an expired 
certification or license, and therefore no longer certified or licensed in the State of Oklahoma.  

(b) Certifications and licenses that are expired may be renewed within the grace period without penalty. Within this thirty day 
period, the certificate or license holder may operate within their scope of practice.  

(c) Requests for an extension due to hardships and unforeseen circumstances must be submitted to the Department in writing. 
Expiration date extensions may be provided without penalty and may be provided by the Department for a period not to 
exceed ninety (90) days after the expiration date.  

(d) Licenses may not be renewed after ninety (90) days.  
(e) An applicant may request a review of adverse decisions made within this section by applying in writing within thirty (30) 

calendar days after the notice of rejection. Review by the Department shall be held in accordance with the Administrative 
Procedures Act otherwise the decision shall be considered final to both parties.  

(f) Pursuant to 59 O.S. Section 4100.6 (relating to automatic extensions of professional licenses and certifications), certified 
and licensed personnel whose certificates or licenses expired while serving on orders for military are automatically 
extended without penalty while the licensee is on active military duty. Any person on active military duty has one year from 
the date of discharge to renew the license. 

 
 
 
 
 
  



 

 

EMS RENEWAL INFORMATION SHEET 
OKLAHOMA STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH EMERGENCY SYSTEMS DIVISION 
 
IF YOU ARE NOT CERTIFIED THROUGH THE NATIONAL REGISTRY, PLEASE REVIEW THE INFORMATION BELOW 
FOR OKLAHOMA EMT LICENSE RENEWAL INFORMATION 
 
All training submitted on this form must have occurred during the period from July 1, through June 30, of your respective 
license period to be credited toward this renewal period. 
 
DETAILS IN REGARD TO SPECIFIC RENEWAL REQUIREMENTS 
 
REFRESHER TRAINING – Complete a refresher course at the level of licensure adhering to Department standards. Ten (10) 
hours of the refresher may be completed through distributive education as authorized in O.A.C. 310: 641-7-16. 
 
ANNUAL CPR TRAINING – Current CPR certification may be documented by copy of the card, the course roster, if card has 
not been received, or by statement from the specified training coordinator of an approved institution. 
 
CONTINUING EDUCATION – CEU’s must be listed on the CEU form or on a similar form with the same information 
signed by your Training Coordinator/Employer.  Do not send certificates or other verification without filling out 
the CEU sheet.     Documentation will outline dates, topics and number of hours completed within the topic.  Topics are 
limited to a maximum of 12 hours with the exception of PHTLS, Extrication, BTLS, PALS, PEPP or other Department 
approved courses of study containing more than 12 hours of study or attendance... These topics will allow 16 hours if the full 
courses are completed (except PEPP at the basic level is only 8 hours). ACLS is required at the paramedic level; however, 
Basics may use it for 4 hours of CE and Intermediates 6 hours of CE.  Successful completion of a Department approved 
Paramedic or Intermediate course shall fulfill the refresher and all continuing education requirements for the EMT Basic.  
Successful completion of a Department approved Paramedic course shall fulfill the refresher and all continuing education 
requirements for the EMT Intermediate.  A copy of the course completion certificate should be submitted if used for 
continuing education. The completion date and the course authorization number should be shown on the certificate.  One  
half  of  required  continuing  education  requirements  may  be accomplished by  distributive education if  they  are  
Continuing Education Coordinating Board  for  Emergency Medical Services (CECBEMS) approved. The CECBEMS 
number must be on the certificate of completion. 
 
Subjects for continuing education may include, but not be limited, to any topic covered in the DOT course of instruction 
at the level being renewed.  Additional courses such as special rescue, shock management, communications,  
environmental  injuries,  child  abuse,  sexual  assault,  industrial  accidents,  explosion  injuries, electrical hazards, neonatal 
care/SIDS, domestic violence, crime scene response, athletic injuries, rappelling, hazardous materials, crisis intervention, 
protective breathing apparatus, farm machinery extrication, medical terminology, radioactive materials, weapons of mass 
destruction and most of the ICS courses may be counted up to 
12 hours per topic. 
 
Should you have additional questions regarding renewal of your license, please contact Robert Irby of this Division at 
(405) 271-4027.   Renewal is conducted pursuant to Section 1-2501 et al, Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes.  Individuals 
who do not submit an application, documentation and fee by midnight, July 30, 2017 will be considered EXPIRED.   The 
Department will have at least thirty working days after receipt of the application to process paperwork, but your license is 
not in effect until receipt of your license.  If your application is returned for any reason, the 30 working day processing time 
will begin upon the receipt of an acceptable application, however, this timeline shall not exceed ninety (90) days from 
expiration. 
 
 
! PLEASE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE MEMO Medical Control Requirements for Certified and Licensed Personnel 

ON THE FOLLOWING PAGE! 
 



 

 

Statutory and Regulatory Requirements for Certified and Licensed Personnel 
 
November 2, 2016 
 
To:  Oklahoma Certified Emergency Medical Responders 
       Oklahoma Licensed Personnel (all levels)  
 
From:  Dale Adkerson, Administrative Program Manager- EMS Division 
           OSDH-Emergency Systems   
 
Re:   New regulations relating to medical director authority and license requirements 
 
On September 11, 2016, new regulations went into effect that impact all EMS related certificates 
and license types issued by the Department.  This includes the personnel that are certified or 
licensed by the Department.  This memo is an effort to provide individuals with a summary of the 
requirements for certified and licensed personnel.  The summary will include both “old” and “new” 
language that has been included in the current statutes and regulations. 
 
Many changes occurred when comparing the 2009 regulations to the 2016 regulations.  However, 
many of these changes related to formatting, organization, and clarifications.  You are 
encouraged to be familiar with the language for not only your individual license, but also the 
regulatory language that apply to the agencies you are employed with. 
 
The regulatory document can be found on our website.  The link to the document 
is: https://www.ok.gov/health2/documents/EMS%20Regulations%209-11-2016.pdf 
 
A broad outline of the content that applies to individuals is: 

• the statute that with personnel definitions and requirements are found on pages 3-13; 
• the regulatory definitions for personnel are on pages 29 to 32; and 
• the subchapter of the regulations for personnel is Subchapter 5, found on pages 54 to 63.   

 
Each of these sections will contain specific definitions or language that applies throughout the 
document. 
 
Currently, the most significant requirements relating to personnel are: 
 
1.   All emergency medical responders that had been trained prior to January 1, 2000 and had 
maintained their certification through refresher courses are required to obtain a certification 
through the Department.  This is to be completed by September 30, 2017.   

 
2.  The scope of practice for all certified and licensed personnel requires physician authority. 
If an individual is asked to provide care when they are not under a physician’s authorization (such 
as when an individual is not on duty or requested as part of your agency), the only interventions 
authorized is first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED. 
 
3. The Department can now license and renew advanced emergency medical technicians. 
 
 

https://www.ok.gov/health2/documents/EMS%20Regulations%209-11-2016.pdf
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4.  The renewal requirements for personnel licensed by the Department, but have not maintained 
their NREMT certification has been clarified.  (Personnel licensed after April 1, 2010 are required 
to maintain NREMT certification.)  
 
5.  Agencies and services are required to maintain a credential file for personnel that define the 
specific scope of practice that has been authorized by an agencies medical director. 
 
6.  The regulations have specific reasons to take licensure action on individuals.  This list is 
extensive, and details inappropriate, unethical, criminal, and other negative actions that an 
individual may do that can result in licensure action. 
 
The current language that relates to personnel can be found on these pages in the regulatory 
document:   
 
Certified emergency 
medical responder  

page 3 and page 30 Intermediate page 31 

Critical care 
paramedic or CCP 

page 4 and page 30 Paramedic page 31 

Licensed emergency 
medical personnel 

page 4 and page 30 Tax hold page 31 

Medical control page 5 and page 31 Requirement for 
certification or license 

page 54 

Medical director  page 5 and page 31 Requirement for ID page 54 
Regional medical 
director 

page 5 Qualifications page 54 

Hospital or healthcare 
facilities 

page 6 Issuing and renewals pages 56-57 

Licensed personnel 
levels 

page 6 Expired certifications 
or licenses 

page 57 

Performance of 
medical procedures 

page 7 Scope of practice page 58 

Advanced emergency 
medical technician 

page 29 Medical direction  page 60 

Emergency medical 
technician 

page 30 Enforcement page 60 

 
In addition to the changes to the individual certifications and licenses, please be aware of a new 
certification type that may be required for individuals.  This new agency certification is known as 
the Standby Emergency Medical Response Agency (Standby EMRA).  This new agency is the 
result of an issue that the Department has been working to address for some time.  This issue 
was certified and licensed personnel working without a medical director at private and corporate 
events.   
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EMR’s and EMT’s are often hired to provide medical support for private events such as races, 
rodeos, skating events, movie sets, and concerts.  The producers, sponsors, and owners of these 
events hire personnel to provide on-site medical support.   
When personnel accept these jobs, assumptions are made about their ability to provide care at 
these events.   The intention of this certification type is not to restrict employment opportunities, 
but to provide the profession and the public a method of ensuring minimum standards.   
 
The requirements for this type of agency are in Subchapter 15 of the regulation document.  The 
central requirement for this type of certification is based on the care being provided at the event 
or location.  If the care being provided is limited to first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED, then 
there is not a requirement to become a certified standby emergency medical response agency.  
If, however, the intent is to provide care above first aid, CPR, and the use of an AED, then 
certification is required.   
 
The application requirements for the Standby EMRA are detailed in Section 15-3 on page 105. 
The requirements vary depending on the environment, but generally require  

• documents showing coordination with the local ambulance service; 
• medical direction and protocols; 
• specific policies or procedures; 
• agency records; and 
• credential files. 

 
This is a new agency type that some certified and licensed individuals may choose to obtain 
because they have been providing medical support at these events or locations. 
 
The Department staff will provide to agencies, individuals, venues, or organizers of events any 
support we can to transition to the new certification. 
 
Please feel free to contact our office you have questions or concerns by calling 405.271.4027, or 
emailing our office at ESystems@health.ok.gov.  
 
 

mailto:ESystems@health.ok.gov


2017 Oklahoma EMS License Renewal Application 
OPTION 2, EMS Personnel without National Registration: 

 
Please print clearly or type and check ALL applicable boxes 

 
 EMT ($22.50)          INTERMEDIATE(I/85) ($27.50)              PARAMEDIC ($32.50)* 
 

*Paramedics Only:  Are you a Critical Care Paramedic? Yes No 
If yes, please include your credentials for the OSDH Critical Care Registry. 

 
 

 
 

 
 

Last Name________________________________ First Name__________________________________ MI_____ 
 

OK EMS License #: _________________________ 
 

SSN:  _______/______/___________ DOB:  ____/_____/________ Gender: ______________ 
 
 Mailing Address:    
 
 City: _________________________________ State: ______ Zip: _____________ County: __________________ 
 
 Telephone #: __________________________ Email: _______________________________________________ 
 

Current EMS Employer(s)/Job Title: 
 
_______________________________________________________/________________________________________ 
 

I hereby affirm and declare that all statements contained on this application are true and correct.  I understand that 
false statements may be sufficient cause by the Oklahoma State Department of Health to place on probation, 
suspend, or revoke any license issued. Upon written request by the Department, I agree to provide copies of all 
documents supporting fulfillment of the Oklahoma EMS renewal requirements. 
 
 

       Signature of Applicant               Date 
CHECKLIST: 

1.  Completed “Option 2” license renewal application. 
2.  Successful completion of a State approved refresher course during the previous License period. (Attach copy of 

Final Course Roster or Certificate of Completion showing course number and completion date. 
3.  Completion of appropriate Continuing Education:  EMT 48 hours - Intermediate 36 hours - Paramedic 24 hours 

(You may use the attached sheet if signed and dated by a training coordinator) or submit certificates or other 
documentation.  The following items must be shown:   Topic, Date, Hours Awarded and Issuing Agency 
(must be completed between July 1, 2015 and June 30, 2017) 

4. Current CPR certification. (Attach Current Card which must expire after June 30, 2017) 
5. Current ACLS certification – Paramedics Only. (Attach Current Card which must expire after June 30, 2017) 
6. The license renewal fee. (EMT or Basic - $22.50, Intermediate – $27.50, Paramedic - $32.50) 
7. EMS Instructors:  Email Completed EMS Instructor Renewal Form to esystems@health.ok.gov 
 

Mail To:                                                            Oklahoma State Dept. of Health 
Emergency Systems 

Attn: Financial Management 
PO Box 268823 

Oklahoma City, OK  73126-8823 

  FELONY STATEMENT 
Have you been convicted of a felony since the last issuance of your license?     YES          NO   

If “YES”, submit with this application documentation that fully describes the offense: date of offense; copies of 
relevant court documents; disposition and current status. 

Have any disciplinary actions been taken against you since your last certification?  YES        NO 
 

          I have read the memo Medical Control Requirements for Certified and Licensed Personnel    
      and will not provide any care above first aid, CPR, or the use of an AED in cases where I have no 

Medical Direction 
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Verification of Skill Maintenance (Intermediate and Paramedic only) 
 

Statement of satisfaction by physician for skills: 
 

As physician, I do hereby affix my signature attesting to the continued competence of 
 
                  in all the following skills  
           Applicant’s Name (Print)            OK License Number 
 
 
The skill was performed to my satisfaction and determined by way of: 

1. Field Evaluation 
2.   Practical performance examination 
3.   Other (please describe)   

 
 
Indicate the Method of evaluation for each skill by checking one or more boxes in items 1-9. 
                                                                                               1        2       3 
1    Patient Assessment/management (Medical and Trauma)      

2    Ventilatory Management Skills/Knowledge      

2a  Intubation      

3    IV Therapy      

4   Hemorrhage Control      

5   OB/Gynecologic Skills/Knowledge      

6    Spinal restriction – including cervical collar, vest-type extrication device and long 
spine boards 

     

7   Fracture immobilization – including traction splints      

Paramedics Only      

8   Cardiac Arrest Management      

9    Medication administration      

 
____________________________    ____________________________ 
        Physician Name (Print)           Physician Signature 
 
Physician License #_____________ State of___________________ 
 
 



 
Con-Ed Summary Report Form 

 
 

Minimum Con-Ed hours required: 
 

EMT-Basic 48-hours      Intermediate 36-hours      Paramedic 24-hours 
 
Note: All CEU’s must be listed on our CEU form or on a similar form with the same information signed by your 
Training Coordinator/Employer. Do not send certificates or other verification without filling out the CEU sheet. 

 

Type or Print legibly: 
  

DATE Topic Name # Hours 
   
   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

 
Use additional pages as needed           Total Hours for this page_________ 
 

 
 
Applicant’s Name (Print)                                                        Signature                                                       Date         
 
 
 
Employer/Training Coordinator (Print)                              Signature                                                       Date         
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