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SUBCHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Section

310:512-1-1. Purpose

310:512-1-2. Criteria

310:512-1-3. Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
310:512-1-4. Definitions

310:512-1-1. Purpose

Under 63 0.S. 1991, Sections 1-114.1 the following rules are
established concerning the screening of all Oklahoma children,
ages 6 months to 72 months of age, for lead poisoning, designated
by the Oklahoma State Board of Health.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-1-2. Criteria

(a) The Oklahoma State Board of Health shall establish procedures
for blood lead screening which shall include risk assessment,
laboratory assays, sample collection, reporting, follow-up, and
parent education.

(b) All health care providers shall comply with procedures for
blood lead screening established by the Oklahoma State Board of
Health.

(c) After sufficient statewide data collection and documented
incidence of low lead exposure, the Commissioner of Health may
exempt a community or county from universal lead screening.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-1-3. Lead poisoning prevention program

(a) The Department shall establish a lead poisoning prevention
program. This program shall be responsible for establishing and
coordinating activities to prevent lead poisoning and to minimize
risk of exposure to lead.

(b) The Department shall promulgate and enforce rules for
screening children for lead poisoning, and for follow up of
children who have elevated blood lead levels.

(c) The Department may enter 1iInto interagency agreements to
coordinate lead poisoning prevention, exposure reduction,
identification and treatment activities and [lead reduction
activities with other federal, state and local agencies and
programs.

(d) The Department shall establish a statewide registry of
children with elevated lead levels provided such information 1is
monitored as confidential except for disclosure for medical
treatment purposes and disclosure of non-identifying
epidemiological data.

(e) The Department shall develop and implement public education
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and community outreach programs on lead exposure, detection and
risk reduction.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-1-4. Definitions

The following words or terms, when used in this Chapter, shall
have the following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

"Advisory Council'™ means the advisory council on lead
poisoning prevention.

"Anticipatory guidance'™ means providing parents or guardians of
children under the age of six with information regarding the major
causes of lead poisoning and means of preventing lead exposure.
Such guidance shall be pertinent to the environment of the child.

"Blood lead screening” refers to measuring lead concentration
by capillary or venous collection to identify elevated blood lead
levels.

"CLIA "88" means the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments
of 1988, public law 100-578. This amendment applies to the
Federal Law that governs laboratories who examine human specimens
for the diagnosis, prevention, or treatment of any disease or
impairment, or the assessment of the health of human beings.

"Confirmatory testing” refers to a blood lead concentration
measured on venous blood.

"Department™” refers to the Oklahoma State Department of Health.

"Dwelling" refers to a building or structure thereof, including
the property occupied by and appurtenant to such dwelling, which
is occupied in whole or in part as the home, residence or sleeping
place of one or more human beings and shall without limiting the
foregoing, include child care facilities for children under six
years of age, schools and nursery schools.

"Elevated blood lead level'™ means a confirmed concentration of
lead of 10 micrograms (ug) per deciliter (dL) or greater.

"Environmental management™' refers to on-site dwelling
environmental iInvestigation and exposure assessment, sampling for
lead, environmental testing and reporting, notice of conditions
conducive to lead poisoning, environmental intervention.

"Follow-up™ refers to actions by local health departments and
health care providers which, depending on the blood lead level and
exposure history of the child shall include as appropriate: risk
reduction education, TfTollow-up testing, confirmatory testing,
medical evaluation, medical management, environmental management
and case management, iIn accordance with generally accepted medical
standards and public health guidelines.

"Health care provider”™ means any health professional or
facility authorized to conduct blood lead screening.

"High risk lead exposure” refers to any positive response on
the risk assessment questionnaire.

"Laboratory' refers to the Oklahoma State Department of Health
Laboratory or a laboratory approved by the Oklahoma State
Department of Health to conduct blood lead measurement.
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"Low risk lead exposure™ refers to negative responses to all
questions on the risk assessment questionnaire.

"Person™ means any natural person.

"Program™ refers to the lead poisoning prevention program in
the Department.

"Satisfactory specimen”™ means a specimen collected using an
appropriate procedure which is suitable in both blood quantity and
quality to perform screening for Blood Lead measurement. Federal
CLIA "88 regulations require that the Ilaboratory requisitions
contain sufficient patient data that must include patient®s name,
date of birth, date of collection, test(s) to be performed, and
name and address of person requesting the test.

"Submitter™ any health care provider (primary and non-primary),
hospital, physician, laboratory, or other facility that submits
blood specimens for blood lead measurements.

"Target population'” refers to any infant or child, 6 months to
72 months of age.

"Unsatisfactory specimen”™ a blood specimen which 1is not
suitable iIn quality or quantity to perform blood lead
measurements.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]
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SUBCHAPTER 3. SPECIMEN

Section

310:512-3-1. Screening parameters

310:512-3-2. Screening criteria

310:512-3-3. Providers screening and follow-up
310:512-3-4. Blood collection

310:512-3-5. Reporting requirements
310:512-3-6. Fees

310:512-3-7. Inability to pay

310:512-3-1. Screening Parameters

(a) All children in Oklahoma, 6 months to 72 months of age shall
be assessed for blood lead exposure utilizing the risk assessment
questionnaire and should have access to service which will assess
the exposure to lead in their environment. An initial capillary
or venous sample should be done at 12 months and 24 months of age,
anytime the child has not had a baseline before the age of 72
months, or with any change in the child"s assessment.

(b) A parent or guardian who refuses blood lead testing screening
of their child shall also indicate in writing this refusal iIn the
child"s record.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-3-2. Screening criteria
(a) For children at low risk for lead exposure, according to risk
assessment questions, the health care provider should perform an
initial blood lead test at 12 months of age, or when initially
assessed 1T older.
(1) If the result i1s <10 ug/dL, the child should be retested
at 24 months of age.
(2) If the result i1s between 10-19 pg/dL, the child should be
retested every 3-4 months until two consecutive measurements
are <10 pg/dL or three consecutive measurements are <15 pug/dL.
At this point, the child should be retested iIn one year.

(3) If the result is >20 pg/Dl, retest every 3-4 months and
individual case management should be provided.
(b) For children at high risk for lead exposure, according to
risk assessment questions, the health care provider should perform
an initial blood lead test at 6 months of age, or when initially
assessed if older.
(1) If the result is <10 ug/Dl, the child should be retested
every 6 months until two consecutive measurements are <10 ug/DI
or three consecutive measurements are <15 ug/DI. At this
point, retested yearly, if the child remains at high risk for
lead exposure.
(2) If the result is between 10-19 pg/Dl, the child shall
should be retested every 3-4 months until two consecutive
measurements are <10 pg/Dl or three consecutive measurements
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are <15 pg/Dl. At this point, retested yearly, if the child
remains at high risk for lead exposure.

(3) If the result 1s >20 ug/Dl, the child should be retested
every 3-4 months and individual case management shall be
provided.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-3-3. Blood collection

(a) Capillary sample for blood lead testing. Capillary blood
specimens are acceptable for Jlead screening 1f appropriate
collection procedures are fTollowed, to minimize the risk of
environmental lead contamination.

(b) Venous sample for blood lead testing. Venous blood i1s the
preferred specimen for blood lead analysis and should be used for
lead measurement whenever practical. A venous sample is required
for confirmation of blood lead concentration.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-3-4. Providers screening and follow-up

(a) Primary provider screening and follow-up.
(1) At each routine well-child visit or at least annually if a
child has not had routine well-child visits, primary health
care providers should assess each child who is at least six
months of age but under six years of age for high dose lead
exposure using a risk assessment tool based on currently
accepted public health guidelines. Each child at high risk for
lead exposure should be tested.
(2) Primary health care providers should provide the parent or
guardian of each child under six years of age anticipatory
guidance on lead poisoning prevention as part of routine care.
(3) Primary health care providers should screen each child for
lead exposure starting at 6 months of age, as part of routine
well child care.
(4) Each primary health care provider who screens a child for
an elevated blood lead level should explain the blood lead test
results and any necessary follow-up.
(5) Primary health care providers should provide or make
reasonable efforts to ensure the provision of follow-up testing

for each child with an elevated blood lead level >10 pg/DI.
(6) Primary health care providers should confirm blood lead

levels >10 pg/Dl of blood obtained on a capillary fingerstick
specimen from a child using a venous blood sample.

(7) For each child who has a confirmed blood lead level of >20
ng/Dl (micrograms per deciliter), the primary health care
providers should provide or make reasonable efforts to ensure
the provision of medical evaluation, or referral for medical
evaluation; medical treatment if necessary; and referral to the
appropriate local or state health department for environmental
management. Medical evaluation should include at a minimum: a
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)

detailed lead exposure assessment, a nutritional assessment,
including iron status, and a developmental screening.
Non-Primary provider screening and follow-up.
(1) A health care provider who provides services to a child
who is at least six months of age but under six years of age
and who 1s not the child"s ongoing primary care provider, (such
as a hospital i1npatient facility , an emergency service if the
child®s condition permits, or another facility or practitioner
which provides services to the child on a one-time or walk-in
basis), should 1inquire i1f the child has been appropriately
screened for lead exposure.
(2) It the child, under 72 months of age, has not received
such appropriate lead assessment and screening, the health care
provider should screen the child for a blood lead level.
(3) If screening is performed, the blood lead test result
should be sent to the child"s primary care provider or, if not
available, to the local health department Tfor appropriate
follow-up.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-3-5. Reporting requirements
(a) Laboratory.

(1) Laboratories shall report the results of all blood lead
tests performed on children 6 months to 72 months of age that
are residents of Oklahoma to the Childhood Lead Poisoning

Prevention Program. These reports shall be confidential and
may be utilized only for the purpose of assuring service
delivery, program administration, data analysis, and
evaluation.

(2) Laboratories shall report the following information to the
Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program by mail, telephone,
facsimile, or electronic data transmission: name, date of
birth, address, county of residence, type of sample (venous or
capillary), blood 0lead level, health provider ordering the
test, laboratory identifiers, date the sample was collected and
the date of analysis. The laboratory receiving the sample from
the health care provider taking the sample shall assure that
the laboratory requisition slip is fully completed and includes
the Information required pursuant to the Subsection.
(3) Time limits for reporting to the Childhood Lead Poisoning
Prevention Program shall be as follows:
(A) Results of all blood lead levels <10 pg/dL at a minimum
of a monthly basis.
(B) Results of all blood lead levels equal to or >10 ug/dL
at a minimum of a weekly basis and 1T possible daily.
(4) All clinical laboratories shall notify the provider
ordering the blood lead test by telephone or fax, the results
of any analysis in a child up to 72 months of age which is >20
ng/dL within 24 hours of the date of the analysis.
(5) Nothing iIn this Subsection shall be construed to relieve
any laboratory from reporting results of any blood Ilead
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analysis to the physician, or other health care provider that
ordered the test or to any other entity as required by State,
Federal or local statutes or regulations or in accordance with
accepted standard of practice.
(b) Health care providers.

(1) All health care providers should ensure that all of the
information specified 1s completed for all blood lead analyses
ordered by health care providers and that this information
accompanies the sample to the testing laboratory.

(2) On written or verbal notification of an elevated capillary

lead level, >10 mg/dL, the child"s health care provider will
obtain a confirmatory test by venous sample.

(3) All health care providers shall notify the Childhood Lead
Poisoning and Prevention Program of any blood lead level iIn a
child up to 72 months of age equal to or >10 ug/dL within 1
week and equal to or >20 pg/dL within 24 hours of having been
notified of this result by the testing laboratory; the
following information shall be provided when reporting: name,
date of birth, address, county of residence, type of sample
(venous or capillary), blood 1lead [level, health provider
ordering the test, laboratory identifiers, date the sample was
collected and the date of analysis.

(4) Upon notification of a blood lead level >20 pg/dL, an
environmental investigation and public health followup will be
carried out by the Oklahoma State Department of Health.

(5) On written notification of unsatisfactory specimens, the
child®"s health care provider will obtain a repeat specimen.

(6) These reports shall be confidential and may be utilized
only for the purpose of assuring service delivery, program
administration, data analysis, and evaluation.

[Source: Added at 12 Ok Reg 3055, eff 7-27-95]

310:512-3-6. Fees

The county health department may collect a fee for a blood
lead laboratory sample analysis, a fee for collection of a blood
lead sample, or a fee for an environmental investigation, as may
be indicated. Any fee collected shall not exceed the reasonable
cost of providing the service or the Medicaid reimbursement rate
allowed for the service, whichever is lower. Any individual
consenting to a blood lead test shall be informed of the specific
fee prior to the collection of the laboratory specimen.

[Source: Added at 27 Ok Reg 2521, eff 7-25-2010]
310:512-3-7. Inability to pay

Persons requesting blood lead level testing will not be denied
a blood lead sample analysis or, iIf iIndicated, an environmental
investigation because of the inability to pay.

[Source: Added at 27 Ok Reg 2521, eff 7-25-2010]

8 July 25, 2010



	TITLE 310:  OKLAHOMA STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

