
Key Information on Implementation of the      
Tdap Requirement for 7th

 
 Grade Entry in Oklahoma  

The school entry requirement for one dose of a tetanus, diphtheria and acellular pertussis (Tdap) vaccine for students 
entering the 7th grade begins with the fall semester of the 2011-2012 school year. The Tdap requirement will be 
implemented incrementally over a six year period. The requirement will expand from 7th grade during the first year of 
implementation to 7th through 12th

 

 grade by the sixth year of implementation (2016-2017 school year). The following table 
illustrates the progressive implementation of the Tdap requirement: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Specific Information on How the Tdap Requirement Will Be Enforced 

• If a student has already received the booster dose of Td recommended at 11-12 years, the student must still 
receive a dose of Tdap. This is to provide the additional protection against pertussis.  

• There is no minimum amount of time one needs to wait between receiving Td and Tdap. Students who have not 
received a dose of Tdap should receive one as soon as possible.  

• Students who received a dose of DTaP, by mistake, at age 7 years or older do not need to receive a dose of 
Tdap. The dose of DTaP meets the requirement.  

• Students who received a dose of Tdap before the age of 10, do not need another dose of Tdap.  A dose of Tdap 
given at 7 years of age or older will fulfill the requirement because the student is most likely protected from the 
diseases and Tdap is licensed for use as only 1 dose.  

• Students who have had whooping cough still must receive a dose of Tdap unless they have had the disease 
within the last 5 years.  Administering pertussis-containing vaccine to people with a history of whooping cough 
presents no theoretical safety risk. However, if the illness was recent (less than 5 years) and the diagnosis was 
culture confirmed, it is reasonable to wait 3–5 years before administration of Tdap, unless protection against 
tetanus and diphtheria is needed. Students who may have had pertussis within the past 5 years must obtain a 
copy of the laboratory results documenting that pertussis infection was confirmed by culture in order for the Tdap 
requirement to be waived because of a history of disease. 

• Acceptable documentation of Tdap vaccination includes the name of the vaccine and the date of administration 
on a record signed or stamped by a doctor, nurse, clinic or other health care provider; or a record from the 
Oklahoma State Immunization Information System (OSIIS), also signed or stamped by a health care provider.   

• Exemptions to this requirement are allowed under Oklahoma law for medical, religious, or personal reasons. If a 
student has a valid medical, religious or personal exemption for DTaP, the student does not have to file a new 
exemption for Tdap. The student is also exempt from the Tdap requirement for the same reason. 

• Parents wishing to apply for an exemption to the Tdap requirement for their child must obtain an exemption form 
from the school. The Immunization Service does not distribute exemption forms to clinics or county health 
departments. Schools maintain a small supply of exemption certificates for this purpose. 

• Medical exemptions consist of a written statement from a physician licensed to practice medicine in the State of 
Oklahoma specifying a valid medical contraindication to the student receiving Tdap vaccine recorded on a 
Certificate of Exemption (ODH Form No. 261A) 

• The following are valid medical reasons for an exemption to Tdap:  
o History of a life-threatening allergic reaction following a prior dose of DTP, DTaP, DT or Td, or to any 

component of Tdap vaccine 
o History of encephalopathy (e.g., coma or prolonged seizures) not attributable to an identifiable cause 

within 7 days of administration of a vaccine with pertussis components. 
• Religious exemptions consist of a statement signed by a religious leader, parent, or guardian recorded on a 

Certificate of Exemption. 
• Personal exemptions, sometimes referred to as philosophical exemptions, consist of a statement summarizing the 

objections of the parent to the immunization and signed by the parent or guardian recorded on a Certificate of 
Exemption. 

School Year Grades affected by Tdap Requirement 
2011-2012 Grade 7 
2012-2013 Grades 7 and 8  
2013-2014 Grades 7, 8, and 9 
2014-2015 Grades 7, 8, 9, and 10  
2015-2016 Grades 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11  
2016-2017 Grades 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12  


