
       

Guide to Immunization Requirements in Oklahoma - 20 16-17 School Year   
All children two months of age and older must prese nt an immunization record or file for an exemption before they are allowed to attend childcare or                   
school in Oklahoma.  Please read the bullets below for essential information.  For more information refer to the School Administrator’s Guide to Oklahoma’s Im-
munization Law at: http://www.ok.gov/health/Disease,_Prevention,_Preparedness/Immunizations/Vaccines_for_School/index.html. 
 

 
CHILDCARE 

Up-to-date for age 
PRE-SCHOOL 

PRE-KG KG-6th 7th - 12th 
VACCINES Total doses Total doses  

DTaP (diphtheria, tetanus, pertussis) 4 DTaP 5 DTaP� 5 DTaP� & 1 Tdap booster 

PCV (pneumococcal conjugate vaccine) 1-4 PCV� Not required for school 

IPV/OPV (inactivated polio/oral polio) 3 IPV/OPV 4 IPV/OPV◄ 

MMR (measles, mumps, rubella) 1 MMR 2 MMR 

Hib (Haemophilus influenzae type b) 1-4 Hib�� Not required for school 

HepB (hepatitis B) 3 HepB 3 HepB� 

HepA (hepatitis A) 2 HepA 

Varicella (chickenpox) 1 Varicella (2nd dose recommended at KG entry) 

   
� If the 4th dose of DTaP is administered on or after the child’s 4th birthday, then the 5th dose DTaP is not required. 
� The number of doses of PCV and/or Hib may range from 1 to 4 depending on the age of the child when the first dose was given. 
◄ If the 3rd dose of IPV/OPV is administered on or after the child's 4th birthday, then the 4th dose of IPV/OPV is not required. 
� Children may be complete with 3 or 4 doses of Hib vaccine depending on the brand of vaccine used.  
� Students 11 through 15 years of age who have not received any HepB vaccine previously may receive a 2 dose series of Merck® Adult Hepatitis B vaccine to 

comply with this requirement. All other children (younger or older) must receive 3 doses of pediatric hepatitis B vaccine.   
 

• The table above lists the vaccines that are required for children to attend childcare, preschool, and kindergarten through twelfth grade in Oklahoma.  Additional vaccines may be 
recommended, but are not required.  For example, a 2nd dose of varicella vaccine is recommended before entering kindergarten, but not required by Oklahoma law. 

• Children attending licensed childcare facilities mu st be up-to-date for their age for the vaccines lis ted in the “Childcare” column.   Refer to this web page for infor-
mation on when doses are due and past due for children attending childcare: 
http://www.ok.gov/health/Disease,_Prevention,_Preparedness/Immunizations/Vaccines_for_Childcare/index.html. 

• Hib and PCV vaccines are not required for students in pre-school, pre-kindergarten, or kindergarten pr ograms operated by schools unless the facility is a  licensed 
child care facility. Hib and PCV vaccines are requi red for children attending licensed child care faci lities.  

• Doses administered 4 days or less, before the minimum intervals or ages, are counted as valid doses. 
• The first doses of measles, mumps and rubella (MMR), varicella, and hepatitis A vaccines must be administered on or after the child's first birthday (or within 4 days before the 

birthday) or they must be repeated.   
• If a parent reports that their child had chickenpox disease, the child is not required to receive varicella vaccine. Record that the child had the disease. 
• It is not necessary to restart the series of any va ccine if a dose was given late or if a dose is past  due. Longer than recommended intervals between dos es do not 

affect final immunity. 
• Children may be allowed to attend childcare and sch ool if they have received at least one dose of all the required vaccines due for their age or grade an d the next 

doses are not yet due, but they must complete the r emaining doses of vaccine on schedule.  These child ren are “in the process” of receiving immunizations .  
• For information on completing the DTaP series with Tdap for children 7 years of age and older please r efer to this information sheet:  

http://www.ok.gov/health2/documents/IMM_School_Comp letingDTaPSeven&Older.pdf .           
 
For more information call the Immunization Service at (405) 271-4073 or visit our website at: http://imm.health.ok.gov.   Revised 11-09-2015 IMM 400 


