
 

OKLAHOMA GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) GUIDE

What Every
Parent
Needs to
Know.

Keep this in an easily accessible  
place for reference! 

Parent  
Checklist

Rules 
of the Road

•	 It is illegal for learner’s permit and 
intermediate license holders to use any 
hand-held electronic device while operating 
a motor vehicle, except in a life-threatening 
emergency.

•	 It is illegal for any driver to compose, send, 
or read messages on any electronic device 
while driving.

•	 It is illegal for a person under age 21 to 
drive after consuming any alcohol.  Even 
prescription medicines or over-the-counter 
medication taken in the proper dosages 
can impair you as much as alcohol or 
illegal drugs.  Driving while impaired 
may result in drivers losing their license 
for at least 6 months, paying court fines, 
performing community service, having to 
attend a treatment program, or facing any 
combination of these penalties.

•	 Every driver and front seat passenger must 
wear a seat belt at all times while the vehicle 
is being operated. No seat belt use means 
the driver can be stopped and ticketed 
without any other offense.
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Motor vehicle crashes can happen to anyone - even “good teens.”   ALL new drivers lack experience and are, therefore, more likely to crash.

What is GDL?
Graduated driver licensing is a program that allows teens to increase 
driving privileges as they gain experience behind the wheel.

Why GDL?
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in 
Oklahoma.  GDL programs are effective at reducing the crash risk of young 
drivers on the road. High-risk behaviors, such as carrying teen passengers 
and nighttime driving, are limited through the GDL program.

GDL applies to...
Drivers between the ages of 15 and 18.

How does GDL work?
GDL has three stages: learner, intermediate, and unrestricted. Teen drivers, 
ages 15-18, move through each stage based on their age, length of time 
having a driver license, and experience and training behind the wheel.

What can parents do?
•	 Extend your teen’s behind-the-wheel training time.
•	 Set the rules of the road.
•	 Enforce the rules with a parent-teen driving agreement.

FOR MORE INFORMATION PLEASE VISIT:

The Oklahoma State Department of Health   http://gdl.health.ok.gov   or   call  405.271.3430

The Oklahoma Department of Public Safety   www.dps.state.ok.us/dls/gdl.htm

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  www.cdc.gov/motorvehiclesafety/teen_drivers/

3STAGE
Unrestricted License

Have an intermediate license for at least 6 months if driver 
education has been completed; if not, the driver must have 
an intermediate license for at least 1 year
Have no traffic convictions on driving record
OR
Be at least 18 years old
Have passed all driving and vision exams

1STAGE

Learner’s Permit
Be at least 15 1/2 years old
Be receiving instruction in or have completed driver education
Have passed written driving exam
Have passed vision exam
Have passed the reading test required for all 8th grade students

Restrictions:  Accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.

2STAGE

Intermediate License
Have a learner’s permit for at least 6 months
Have had at least 50 hours behind-the-wheel training (with 
10 hours being at night) from a licensed driver at least 21 
years old and licensed for at least 2 years
Have no traffic convictions on driving record
Have passed driving skills exam

Restrictions:  May drive only between 5am and 10pm, with the exception 
of activities related to school, church, or work OR any time when 
accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old.

Passenger Restrictions:  While in Stage 1 or 2, your 
teen driver may drive with only one passenger or only 
people who live with them. However, if a licensed 
driver (at least 21 years old) is in the car, your teen 
can drive with an unrestricted number of passengers.


