
Prescription 
Monitoring Program

Frequently Asked Questions
FAQS

Do I need to check the PMP when 
discharging a patient from the 
hospital or emergency room?
If you are writing a prescription for opiates, 
synthetic opiates, semi-synthetic opiates, 
benzodiazepines, or carisoprodol at  
discharge from either event, you still  
need to check the PMP if it has been at  
least 180 days since you checked that patient.

What if I only see the patient one 
time as a courtesy because his/
her physician was not available?
This patient is new to you. If you make the 
medical  decision to write a prescription 
for one of the medications listed in the law, 
it is still your responsibility to check the 
PMP.

The Oklahoma PMP, also known as PMP AWARxE, is an electronic 
database that tracks controlled substance prescriptions in the 
state. The PMP gives health providers timely information about 
prescribing and patient behaviors, which improves clinical decision 
making. The PMP also reduces doctor shopping and diversion 
of controlled substances and allows for improved public health 
surveillance to monitor prescribing trends. The PMP is housed at 
the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs Control 
and leads other states as the only real-time system in the nation.

What is the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP)?

By Oklahoma law, it is mandatory that providers check the PMP 
prior to prescribing and every 180 days prior to authorizing refills for 
opiates, synthetic opiates, semi-synthetic opiates, benzodiazepines, 
or carisoprodol (exclusions for hospice or end-of-life, or patients 
residing in a nursing facility). This applies whether you  
write one or several thousand scripts per year.

If I only write a couple scripts per year, does this apply to me?Q.
A.

Q.

A.

Q.

A.

What if I stopped dispensing medication 
from my office so I would not have to do this?
Dispensing and writing prescriptions are two different 
activities. If you dispense from your office, you have 
to report Schedule II-V drugs to the PMP. If you have 
stopped dispensing, then you are probably writing the 
prescription and handing it to the patient to have it filled 
at a pharmacy. You still are required to check that patient 
in the PMP.

Q.

A.



I do not have time to use the PMP;  
do I still have to register?
As long as you are not writing a prescription for 
opiates, synthetic opiates, semi-synthetic opiates, 
benzodiazepines, or carisoprodol, then you are 
not required to register.

Q.

A.

What if I want to prescreen a potential new employee before I hire them?

Not allowed. That is considered misuse of the PMP and could cause you to lose your access. 
The PMP can be used to prescreen potential new patients. Providers must have established 
a physician/patient relationship prior to checking the PMP. Scheduling an appointment is 
considered establishing a physician/patient relationship.

Can I allow office staff to perform the patient 
search?
Physicians may designate a staff member to run the patient PMP 
on the physician’s behalf. This designated staff member must 
have their own PMP AWARxE account and have the physician 
listed as their supervisor.

Q.
A.

How can I register for an account?

If you do not currently have a PMP account, 
you can register online on the PMP website,  
https://oklahoma.pmpaware.net/login.

Why does my co-worker have 
different states listed to run 
patient searches?
Each state has specific statutes on who 
can have access to their state PMP. 
By that state statute, you may not be 
authorized to have access. 

Q.

A.

Q.
A.

Q.

A.

As a prescriber, how often do I need to check the PMP?

You are required by law to check the PMP prior to prescribing to new patients and every 180 days 
prior to authorizing refills for opiates, synthetic opiates, semi-synthetic opiates, benzodiazepines, or 
carisoprodol (exclusions for hospice or end-of-life, or patients residing in a nursing facility).

Q.
A.
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Can my office/facility have 
one username and password?
No. Everyone must have their own 
unique username and password.

Q.

A.

Who do I contact about  
PMP-related questions?
Call the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics  
and Dangerous Drugs Control helpdesk  
at (877) 627-2674 or visit pmp.obn.ok.gov.

Q.

A.


