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REAR-FACING
INFANT  |  CONVERTIBLE  |  3-IN-1

All children under age 2 
must be properly secured 
in a rear-facing car seat.

-- Rear-facing is the safest 
way for small children to 
travel.

-- They should remain rear-
facing until they reach 2 years 
of age or until they exceed 
the height or weight limit of 
the car seat.

Birth - 2 years

FORWARD-FACING
CONVERTIBLE  |  3-IN-1  |  COMBINATION

All children under age 4 
must be properly secured in 
a car seat with an internal 
harness.

-- A 5-point harness is the 
safest restraint system and 
should be used as long 
as possible (until the child 
exceeds the harness’ weight 
limit).

2 - 4 years

BOOSTER
3-IN-1  |  COMBINATION  |  BOOSTER

All children at least 4 years 
old (but younger than age 
8) must ride in a child 
passenger restraint system 
or booster seat, unless they 
are taller than 4’9”.

-- A booster seat should 
be used until the child can 
properly fit into a seat belt.

4 - 8 years

SEAT BELT
BACK SEAT FOR SAFEST TRAVEL

All children taller than 4’9” 
(or age 8 and up) should be 
restrained in a seat belt.

-- Front seat airbags may hurt 
small children.

-- Riding in the back seat of 
the vehicle is the safest way 
for children to travel.

8 years +

AGE IS IMPORTANT

The younger children are, the 
more fragile they are, and the 
more protection they need.Important  Tips:

KNOW THE LIMITS

ALWAYS follow the 
weight and height 
limits of the car seat.

FITS YOUR VEHICLE

Not every car seat can be 
installed correctly in every 
car. Try before you buy.

EASY FOR YOU TO USE

Try out the features of the car seat. 
Choose a car seat that will be easy 
for you to use correctly every time.

Injury Prevention
Service

Oklahoma State 
Department of HealthOklahoma’s Child Passenger Safety Law, effective November 1, 2015, meets the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics.



Know  
the Law.   
Protect 
your 
children.

Oklahoma State Department of Health 
Injury Prevention Service
(405) 271-3430 or 1-800-522-0204 
cps.health.ok.gov

Have your child’s car seat or booster seat checked by one of 
the many certified child passenger safety technicians available 
throughout the state.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT  
OKLAHOMA’S CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY LAW:

To find a CPS technician
www.safercar.gov/parents  
select “Car Seats,” and then  
“Get Your Seat Inspected.” 
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Oklahoma’s Child Passenger Safety Law, effective November 1, 2015, 
meets the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

4 out of 5 kids
because their car seats are 
not being used correctly. 

71% 

Properly installed car seats & booster 
seats reduce the chance of death

in a motor vehicle crash by 
71% for infants under 1 year 

& 54% for toddlers ages 1 - 4.54% 

are not as secure as they should be


