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Grants to help spread word about underage drinking, social host law 

By Traci Chapman 

Adult drinking and driving is an issue in Canadian County, but for youth who are just ge$ng acclimated to the road, taking a 

drink and ge$ng behind the wheel can be even more catastrophic. 

That’s where three recent grants awarded to local coali'ons can make a difference, said Red Rock Regional Preven'on Coordina-

tor Michelle Bugg. 

“It’s a big problem, not just for the youth directly involved, but for everyone,” Bugg said Monday. “It’s our aim to spread the 

word about it.” 

Canadian County Coali'on for Children and Families, Mustang Preven'on and Coali'on Team and Yu-Can Coali'on each recently 

received a $1,000 grant from the Oklahoma Preven'on Policy Alliance, Bugg said. The grant was awarded to about 20 communi-

'es throughout the state to help raise awareness of Oklahoma’s social host law, she said. 

“We were very fortunate to have three coali'ons within our county who could use this grant to spread the word about underage 

drinking and the social host law,” Bugg said. 

Underage drinking is not just a problem on the road. Alcohol poisoning and bad judgment equate to injuries and deaths of youth 

who don’t always know their limits or when it’s 'me to stop drinking. 

That was the case with Cody Greenhaw, a Tulsa teenager who died in 2004 from a drug and alcohol overdose. The subsequent 

legisla'on, known as Cody’s Law, was a social host law enacted in 2011. 

Coali'on members hope to spread the word and avoid a death in Canadian County like Greenhaw’s, Bugg said. All three coali-

'ons plan to use grant money to purchase banners and other items for students and their parents, Bugg said. Banners would be 

displayed at school spor'ng events and pep rallies. The Mustang coali'on will also purchase shirts for youth members at Mus-

tang Public Schools, as well as posters for Mustang High School and handouts for parents, she said. 

“We are also ge$ng magnets and flyers to give out to get people talking about the problems of underage drinking and what the 

consequences can be for breaking the social host law,” Bugg said. 

A first social host viola'on could result in a $500 fine and misdemeanor convic'on; a second viola'on could mean a $1,000 fine. 

Subsequent convic'ons could result in a violator spending up to five years in prison and paying a $2,500 fine, according to Okla-

homa State Statutes. 

Social host laws govern underage drinking no ma=er where it takes place, Bugg said. Whether it’s a youth’s parents who allow 

alcohol consump'on at their residence or a teen who gives alcohol to his friends, the law dictates that individual – the “host” – is 

responsible for minors’ health and their ac'ons. 

“It doesn’t ma=er the circumstance, the message is don’t allow minors to drink, period,” Bugg said. “And if an underage drinker 

causes an injury or death, those penal'es are even more severe – between a $2,500 and $5,000 fine and up to five years in pris-

on.” 

“I think this grant is very fortunate,” Bugg said. “It gives us the chance to get the message out and reach people we otherwise 

wouldn’t be able to reach.” 


