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Safe Riding Tips

For more information, contact your county 
OSU Cooperative Extension Office or 

Mike Klumpp at mklumpp.osu@gmail.com. 

ATV Ride Safe Oklahoma strongly 
encourages any person riding an ATV 

to take an ATV Safety Institute ATV 
RiderCourse.

Course options include:
• Hands-on ATV RiderCourse

• Free online E-Course at ATVsafety.org
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Aaron was driving a 4-wheeler at a friend’s 
house when tragedy struck.

“I wasn’t driving fast or crazy or anything.  I just 
hit some sand in the road and I lost control and 
I flipped.”  

Sadly, Aaron was not wearing a helmet.  He 
suffered a broken leg and a traumatic brain 
injury that left him comatose for 2 months.  
Doctors at OU Medical Center saved his life, 
while therapists at The Children’s Center 
Rehabilitation Hospital helped him regain it.  

Aaron didn’t speak for 6 months.  He spent 2 
years at The Children’s Center Rehabilitation 
Hospital learning to do everything most of 
us take for granted.  After a lot of hard work, 
persistence and prayer…Aaron went from 

sitting to walking.  

Aaron now spends his time 
educating others about 
staying safe on 4-wheelers 
through the ATV Ride Safe 
Oklahoma Campaign.

“Be careful and have 
the helmet and 

equipment, so it 
won’t happen to 
anybody else.”

        -Aaron



Wear the Right
Safety Gear

It’s important to wear the right gear 
when riding to prevent injuries.  
  • DOT helmet
  • Goggles
  • Long sleeved shirt
  • Long pants
  • Gloves
  • Over the ankle boots

A helmet is the most important piece of 
safety gear that a rider can wear!

 • Always wear a DOT-compliant helmet,     
   goggles, long sleeves, long pants, 
   over-the-ankle boots, and gloves.

• Never ride on paved roads. Cross 
  safely and when permitted by law. 

• Never ride under the influence of   
   alcohol or other drugs.

• Never carry a passenger on a 
   single-rider ATV, and no more than    
   one passenger on an ATV specifically 
   designed for two people.

• Ride an ATV that’s right for your age.

• Supervise riders younger than 16; 
   ATVs are not toys.

• Ride only on designated trails and at a 
   safe speed.

• Take a hands-on ATV RiderCourse or 
   online E-Course.

ATV Ride Safe Oklahoma is a joint 
initiative led by The Children’s Center 
Rehabilitation Hospital, Trauma One 

Injury Prevention at OU Medical 
Center and Oklahoma State University 

Cooperative Extension Service 4-H 
Youth Development. 

The goal is to provide safety education 
and injury prevention information for 

all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), also known 
as four-wheelers and quads.

Mission
The American Academy of Pediatrics 

recommends delaying ATV use until age 
16. Whatever your family decides, ATV Ride 
Safe Oklahoma recommends that everyone 

take a 4-H facilitated ATV Safety Institute 
ATV RiderCourse before riding an ATV, and 

encourages direct supervision of young riders.

ATV Safety Institute’s
Golden Rules

About
ATV Ride Safe Oklahoma

Wearing a helmet can reduce the risk 
of death in a crash by 42%.

Always follow 
the manufacture’s 
minimum age 
recommendation warning 
label located on the 
fender of the ATV.


