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Cotton County Health Department: Now is the Time to Vaccinate for School and Child 

Care 
 

Getting all of the recommended vaccines is one of the most important things a parent can do to protect their 

child’s health, especially when they are in a setting such as a school or a child care center where disease 

outbreaks can occur. Whether it’s a baby starting at a new child care facility, a toddler heading to preschool, 

a student going back to elementary, middle or high school – or even a college freshman – parents should 

check their child’s vaccine records. 

 

“When parents are preparing to send their child to child care, school or college, it’s the perfect time to ensure 

he or she is up to date on all recommended and required vaccines,” said Brandie O’Connor, County 

Administrative Director.   

 

Child care facilities, schools and colleges are highly susceptible to outbreaks of infectious diseases. Children 

can easily transmit illnesses to one another due to poor hand washing, uncovered coughs, and close contact 

with many people. When children aren’t vaccinated, they are at increased risk for disease and can spread 

disease to others in their classrooms and communities. This includes infants too young to be fully vaccinated 

and people with weakened immune systems due to cancer or other health conditions. 

 

The Cotton County Health Department offers all required vaccines for school children and teens 18 years of 

age and younger. Immunizations are available every day except Wednesday from 8 to 11 am and 1 to 5 pm. 

Please call the office to confirm immunization clinic at 580- 875-6121. The office is located at 1501-A South 

7th Street in Walters.  Parents of children with private health insurance or SoonerCare health insurance are 

encouraged to take their children to their regular health care provider or clinic to receive these vaccines.  

  

Children attending child care facilities in Oklahoma must be up-to-date for their age with childhood vaccines.  

A schedule showing the required vaccines is available on the Oklahoma State Department of Health web site 

at: 

http://www.ok.gov/health/Disease,_Prevention,_Preparedness/Immunizations/Vaccines_for_Child_Care/inde

x.html 

 
Kindergarten Students 
Children entering kindergarten are due for boosters or second doses of four vaccines:   

 

 MMR (measles, mumps and rubella vaccine)  

 Polio 

 DTaP (diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis vaccines) 

 Chickenpox  

The second dose of chickenpox vaccine is recommended, but not required by Oklahoma’s school law. 

(More) 

http://www.ok.gov/health/Disease,_Prevention,_Preparedness/Immunizations/Vaccines_for_Child_Care/index.html
http://www.ok.gov/health/Disease,_Prevention,_Preparedness/Immunizations/Vaccines_for_Child_Care/index.html
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Children who recently moved to Oklahoma may also need hepatitis A vaccination, which is required for 

students in all grades in Oklahoma. Students need at least one dose of hepatitis A vaccine to start school. A 

second dose is due six to 18 months later. 

 

Grades 7-10 

Students in grades seven through 10 are required to have one dose of Tdap vaccine, which protects against 

tetanus, diphtheria and pertussis (whooping cough).  Older students are strongly encouraged to receive a dose 

of Tdap vaccine if they missed it. This is necessary for adolescents and adults so they won’t contract 

whooping cough and infect babies and toddlers.  

 

Parents and teens, both boys and girls, are strongly urged to ask their health care provider for HPV (human 

papillomavirus) vaccine, which prevents several types of cancer, and also the meningococcal vaccine 

(MCV4).  The immune response to this vaccine is better in pre-teens and can mean better protection for 

teens. 

 

The MCV4 protects against the devastating effects of bacteria that cause meningococcal disease.  

Meningococcal disease can cause death in less than 48 hours and leave those who survive with life-long 

problems such as brain damage or limb amputation. Even with the best treatment, one in ten people who get 

meningococcal disease will die from it. 

 

HPV and MCV4 are recommended for all teens at 11-12 years of age with a booster of MCV4 at age 16.  

The meningococcal vaccine is required for first-time college students who will live in on-campus student 

housing.  College students are also required to have MMR and hepatitis B vaccines.   

 

For more information about immunizations, call the Cotton County Health Department at 580-875-6121 or 

contact your health care provider. 
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