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TITLE 310.  OKLAHOMA STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
CHAPTER 526.  DENTAL SERVICES 

 
 
RULEMAKING ACTION: 

PERMANENT final adoption 
RULES: 

Subchapter 3. Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment Program 
310:526-3-2 [AMENDED] 
310:526-3-3 [AMENDED] 
310:526-3-4 [AMENDED] 

AUTHORITY: 
 Oklahoma State Board of Health, Title 63 O.S. Sections 1-104 and 1-2710 et seq. as amended 
by Senate Bill 1664, effective November 1, 2014. 
SUBMISSION OF PROPOSED RULES TO GOVERNOR AND CABINET SECRETARY: 

September 8, 2014 
COMMENT PERIOD: 

October 1, 2014 through November 5, 2014 
PUBLIC HEARING: 

November 5, 2014 
ADOPTION: 

December 9, 2014 
SUBMISSION OF ADOPTED RULES TO GOVERNOR AND LEGISLATURE: 

December 17, 2014 
APPROVED BY GOVERNOR'S DECLARATION: 

Approved by Governor's declaration on June 8, 2015 
FINAL ADOPTION: 
 June 8, 2015 
EFFECTIVE: 

September 11, 2015 
SUPERSEDED EMERGENCY ACTIONS:  
 "n/a" 
INCORPORATIONS BY REFERENCE: 
 "n/a" 
ANALYSIS: 

310:526-3-2 This rule provides the description and general operation of the Oklahoma Dental 
Loan Repayment Program (Program). The amended rule expands the locations of practice sites and 
increases the maximum amount allowed of individual awards from $25,000 to $50,000. The 
circumstance for the rule change is compelled by legislation in SB 1664, effective November 1, 
2014. The effect is to increase Program participation, allow a more competitive compensation, and 
better utilize available funding. 

310:526-3-3 This rule describes eligibility requirements to participate in the Program. The 
amended rule allows an exemption from the requirement to practice in a designated dental health 
professional shortage area for Pediatric Dentistry Specialists or any dentist practicing in a Federally 
Qualified Health Center (FQHC), FQHC look-alike, County health department, or City-County 
health department. The effect is to include participation by specialists trained to treat the younger 
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Medicaid population and those practicing in specific public health facilities regardless of the 
practice site location. 

310:526-3-4 This rule describes the procedures for administering the Program. The amended 
rule describes what is monitored to determine the dental health professional shortage areas for 
purposes of the Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment Program instead of how the determination is 
calculated. This change was needed to resolve complicated, technical, and outdated language. The 
purpose is to improve the understanding of shortage area determinations while upholding the intent 
of the law. The description of annual shortage area calculations will be maintained in agency files to 
ensure consistency with the use of current available data, current advisory entities, and topical 
circumstances associated with Medicaid dental providers and enrollees. 
CONTACT PERSON: 

Mary DeLeon, Dental Health Service, Oklahoma State Department of Health, 1000 NE 10th 
Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1207, phone (405) 271-5502, email MaryJD@health.ok.gov. 
 
 
PURSUANT TO THE ACTIONS DESCRIBED HEREIN, THE FOLLOWING RULES 
ARE CONSIDERED FINALLY ADOPTED AS SET FORTH IN 75 O.S., SECTIONS 
250.3(5) AND 308(E), WITH AN EFFECTIVE DATE OF SEPTEMBER 11, 2015: 
 
 

SUBCHAPTER 3.  OKLAHOMA DENTAL LOAN REPAYMENT PROGRAM 
 

310:526-3-2.  Description and operation of the Program 
(a)    Department's equal opportunity policies applicable. The Department's Dental Service 
will administer the Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment Program in accordance with the 
Department's policies governing equal opportunity and access to programs, services and 
activities. 
(b)    General operation of the Program. The Program will provide educational loan repayment 
assistance for a number not to exceed twenty-five (25) full time (or full time equivalent, or as 
designated by Advisory Committee or Department) dentists licensed to practice in Oklahoma. 
The Program will provide prorated educational loan repayment assistance based upon the 
percentage of time worked.  Dentists entering the Program agree to teach at the University of 
Oklahoma College of Dentistry if applicable faculty positions are available, or provide dental 
care and services to Medicaid recipients in a designated dental health professional shortage area 
(DHPSA) or exempted facility according to state law. 
(c)    Determining individual awards. The amount of award, not to exceed $25,00050,000 per 
year for each participating full time equivalent dentist, shall be determined by the Department 
annually based upon the amount of funds appropriated to the Department. If the participating 
dentist's eligible loans are less than the cumulative repayment assistance total available over 5 
years, that participating dentist shall be in the Program no longer than required to pay off the 
total eligible loans and shall not receive more funding assistance than the total eligible 
indebtedness. 
(d)    Distributing the awards. Each award shall be distributed in accordance with state law. 
(e)    Default. If the participating dentist does not fulfill the terms of the service obligation, the 
Department may collect from the participant the entire amount of loan repayment assistance 
extended to the participant under the Program, plus interest. 
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310:526-3-3.  Eligibility to participate in the Program 
(a)    Eligibility requirements common to both non-faculty and faculty participants. 
Eligibility for repayment assistance for non-faculty and faculty participants requires compliance 
with the following requirements: 
 (1)    receipt or award of a dental degree from an accredited United States dental school 

within the previous five (5) years; 
 (2)    completion of all requirements to receive or be awarded an active unrestricted license to 

practice dentistry in the State of Oklahoma at the time the service obligation begins; and, 
 (3)    a financial need with outstanding eligible dental school loans. 
(b)    Additional eligibility requirements for non-faculty participants. Eligibility for 
repayment assistance for non-faculty participants requires compliance with the following 
additional requirements: 
 (1)    an established general or pediatric dental practice, or the commitment to establish such 

a practice, located in an Oklahoma DHPSA with the exception that any dentist licensed to 
practice as a pediatric dentistry specialist as defined by the State Dental Act or any dentist 
practicing in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), FQHC look-alike, county health 
department, or city-county health department may be exempt from the requirement to 
practice in a DHPSA; 

 (2)    fulfillment of all applicable requirements of the Oklahoma Health Care Authority to 
qualify as a Medicaid Dental Provider at the time the service obligation begins; and, 

 (3)    agree that during the service obligation/contract period, a minimum 30% of patient 
visits are by Medicaid recipients. 

(c)    Additional eligibility requirements for faculty participants. Eligibility for repayment 
assistance for faculty participants requires compliance with the additional requirement of abiding 
by the rules and regulations for a faculty member, and the job duties assigned by the Dean of the 
University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry. 
(d)    Limitations upon eligibility common to both non-faculty and faculty participants. A 
non-faculty or faculty participant's eligibility may be rescinded or terminated if any of the 
following conditions occur: 
 (1)    a breach of an obligation for service to a federal, state, or local government entity; 
 (2)    an obligation for service to a federal, state, or local government entity that will interfere 

with the fulfillment of the requirements of the Program that remains unsatisfied; or, 
 (3)    default or material breach of an agreement to repay a higher education loan or 

borrowing agreement. 
(e)    Additional considerations.  
 (1)    Preference will be given to graduates of the University of Oklahoma College of 

Dentistry. 
 (2)    Preference will be given to eligible practice sites that are not Medicaid/SoonerCare 

specific. 
 (3)    Geographic diversity of the participants is an objective of the Program. 
 (4)    An eligible practice site is a solo, group, or incorporated private practice, and any 

federal, state, local, or private for-profit or nonprofit dental facility. 
 (5)    To qualify for the 30% minimum Medicaid recipient requirement the participant must 

use a count of patient visits during the service obligation. The 30% requirement will be 
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monitored monthly, but the participant will be deemed to be compliant if the yearly average 
is 30% or greater. 

(f)    Eligible loans. Loans eligible for repayment assistance are any loans for educational 
expenses while attending dental school from a college, university, government, commercial 
source, or an organization, institution, association, society, or corporation that is exempt from 
taxation under 501(c)(3) or (4) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. The ODLRP participant 
must be able to provide, upon request, documentation that commercial loans were used for 
payment of educational expenses. 
 
310:526-3-4.  Procedures for administering the Program 
 The Program shall develop dental loan repayment procedures as may be necessary to carry 
out the administration of the Program.  The Program shall delineate the following procedures: 

(1) Dental Health Professional Shortage Areas (DHPSA).  Dental health professional 
shortage areas for Oklahoma shall be established by the Commissioner using the following 
criteria. 

(A) Those counties with less than the federally recommended target for the The 
percentage of Medicaid enrollees who should receive receiving dental services each year. 
(B) Those counties for whichThe ratio of the number of Medicaid enrollees under the age 
of 21 per Medicaid dental provider multiplied by the federally recommended target is 
equal to or greater than 30% of the average number of unduplicated patients in a general 
dentistry practice. 
(C) Effective January 1, 2008, those counties for whichThe ratio of the number of 
Oklahoma residents in the general population under age 21 per Oklahoma licensed 
general practice or pediatric dentist, multiplied by the federally recommended target, is 
equal to or greater than the number of patients under age 21 in an average dental practice.  

(2) Applications.  All interested new dental school graduates shall file an application with 
the Department. This application can be submitted at any time during the year.  Applications 
may be printed from the internet or are available in the Dental Service office of the 
Oklahoma State Department of Health. 
(3) Approval by the Department.  Applications shall be reviewed by the Advisory 
Committee. Following this review, the Advisory Committee will forward their 
recommendations to the Department. Applications will be approved or declined as 
determined by the Department.   
(4) Renewal of loan repayment contracts.  The original loan repayment contract may be 
renewed for up to a total participation in the Program of five (5) years, contingent upon 
funding from the Legislature and continued approval of the Department based upon the 
dentist's performance and recommendations of the Advisory Committee if requested. 

(5) Advisory Committee.  The Department will appoint and convene an Advisory Committee to 
assist in the dental loan repayment process. The Advisory Committee shall include five (5) 
members with representation from the Oklahoma Dental Association, the University of 
Oklahoma College of Dentistry, the Oklahoma Health Care Authority, the Oklahoma Board of 
Dentistry, and the Oklahoma Children's Oral Health Coalition oral health coalition.  The 
Advisory Committee is responsible for reviewing the eligible applicants, as determined by the 
Department, and making recommendations to the Department. The Department makes the final 
selection of Program participants. 

 


