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For Immediate Release
Date:		November 26, 2013
Contact:	Sherry Downen, Kiowa County Health Department
		(580) 726-3316	                                                                                                 

Kiowa County Car Seat Check and Distribution Event Scheduled 

In an effort to reduce motor vehicle-related deaths and injury, the leading killer of children under 14, Kiowa County Health Department, Kiowa County OSU Extension and Safe Kids Oklahoma are sponsoring a car seat check-up event on 

Friday, December 13th
Time: 9 – 11:00am
Kiowa County Fair Barn
Fairgrounds on North Lincoln
Hobart, Ok 73651

Despite laws in all 50 states, surveys reveal that only 80 percent of all children in Oklahoma are buckled up, and of those, more than 80 percent are not restrained correctly.

Child passenger safety has dramatically evolve over the past decade; however, motor vehicle crashes continue to be the leading cause of death of children 4 years and older. This policy statement provides 4 evidence-based recommendations for best practices in the choice of a child restraint system to optimize safety in passenger vehicles for children from birth through adolescence : (1) rear facing car safety seats for most infants up to 2 years of age; (2) forward-facing car safety seats for most children though 4 years of age; (3) belt-positioning booster seats for most children through 8 years of age; and (4) lap-and-shoulder seat belts for all who have outgrown booster seats. In addition, a fifth evidence-based recommendation is for all children younger than 13 years to ride in the rear seats of vehicles.

Each year in the U.S., nearly 1,400 children (ages 14 and under) die in motor vehicle crashes and another 280,000 are injured -- primarily because they are not properly secured in vehicles. In 2007, Oklahoma lost 89 children under the age or 14 in motor vehicle crashes.

"Most parents believe they are taking all the right steps to protect their kids in the car. They are shocked to learn how complex installing a car seat correctly really is," states Kiowa County Health Department Administrator Brandie O’Connor. “With hundreds of car seats and several different types of seat belt systems in cars, the potential combinations are numerous, which is one reason installation can be so difficult.”

During this event, parents and caregivers will be taught by Nationally Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians on how to properly secure their child in the vehicle.  A limited number of car seats will be available to eligible families while supplies last.  To qualify, the caregiver must be the legal guardian of the child, must show proof of government aid (such as food stamps, WIC, Medicaid, etc.) There is 10.00 dollars co-pay per seat. Child must be present or parent within 8 weeks of the due date.  Early arrival is suggested. For more information please contact the Kiowa County Health Department at (580) 726-3316.
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