||Contact | A-Z Health Index | Events & Meetings|
24/7 Tobacco-Free Schools
The new state law, also known as, the 24/7 Tobacco-Free Schools Act is effective Aug. 20th, 2015. It requires that schools be tobacco free 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This law prohibits the use of tobacco in any form, by anyone, at any place, and at any time while on school grounds and during any school sponsored functions held off campus, including school vehicles and school-sponsored activities. The full text of the law is available online.
Although 24/7 Tobacco-Free Schools is a state-law, it is important for schools to assess and modify school policy accordingly to ensure it includes all details as stated in the law. While going through the process to update policy, you may also want to clearly define terminology, add additional language around enforcement guidelines, and restrictions around e-cigarette and vapor products.
Reasons for Tobacco-Free School Environments
No Tobacco Use Signs
If you are interested in obtaining the "No Tobacco Use" signs used by the Oklahoma State Department of Health please submit the order form with the school policy to the firstname.lastname@example.org. Metal signs are available to schools that have not previously received them while supplies last at no cost. Schools may also purchase additional signs from the Oklahoma Correction Industries.
Purchasing Information Contact:
Oklahoma Correctional Industries Sales Office
Copyright © State of Oklahoma