Oklahoma, www.OK.gov <{$map[0].NAME}>

Contact  |  A-Z Health Index  |  Events & Meetings

get adobe reader

For Release: June 11, 2009
Contact: Pamela Williams
Office of Communications

Oklahoma State Board of Health Elects New Officers

The Oklahoma State Board of Health elected new officers for 2009-2010 during a regular meeting of the Board today in Oklahoma City. Barry L. Smith, an attorney from Mounds, was re-elected President. Dr. Jenny Alexopulos from Tulsa was re-elected Vice President, and Dr. R. Murali Krishna was elected Secretary-Treasurer.

Smith is an attorney in private practice specializing in health care law, litigation, and advocacy. He was appointed to the Board in 2004 and represents Adair, Sequoyah, Cherokee, Wagoner, Muskogee, Haskell, McIntosh, and Okmulgee counties.

Alexopulos is Vice-President of Academic Affairs, Senior Associate Dean, and Professor of Family Medicine with Oklahoma State University - Center for Health Sciences. She was appointed to the Board in 2005. Alexopulos represents Ottawa, Delaware, Craig, Mayes, Nowata, Rogers, Washington, Tulsa, Pawnee, and Osage counties.

Krishna is President and Chief Operating Office of INTEGRIS Mental Health. He was appointed to the Board in 2008. Krishna represents Logan, Oklahoma, Cleveland, McClain, Garvin, Murray and Payne counties.

The Oklahoma State Board of Health has nine members appointed by the governor with senate confirmation.


Creating a State of Health Logo