Oklahoma, www.OK.gov <{$map[0].NAME}>

Contact  |  A-Z Health Index  |  Events & Meetings

get adobe reader

FOR RELEASE: May 14, 2007
CONTACT: Pamela Williams
Office of Communications

Oklahoma State Board of Health Elects New Officers

The Oklahoma State Board of Health elected new officers for 2007-2008 during
a regular meeting of the Board today in Oklahoma City. Barry L. Smith, an attorney from Mounds, was elected President. Dr. Jenny Alexopulos from Tulsa was elected Vice President, and Alfred Baldwin Jr., from Enid, was elected Secretary Treasurer. Smith is an attorney in private practice specializing in health care law, litigation, and advocacy. He was appointed to the Board in 2004 and represents Adair, Sequoyah, Cherokee, Wagoner, Muskogee, Haskell, McIntosh, and Okmulgee counties.

Alexopulos is chair of the Department of Family Medicine and Associate Professor of Family Medicine with the Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine. She was appointed to the Board in 2005. Alexopulos represents Ottawa, Delaware, Craig, Mayes, Nowata, Rogers, Washington, Tulsa, Pawnee, and Osage counties.

Baldwin is a retired science teacher from Enid and pastor of the First Missionary Baptist Church in Enid. He was appointed to the Board in 2005 and represents Cimarron, Texas, Beaver, Harper, Woodward, Woods, Major, Alfalfa, Grant, Garfield, Kay and Noble counties.

The Oklahoma State Board of Health has nine members appointed by the governor with Senate confirmation.



Creating a State of Health Logo