Oklahoma, www.OK.gov <{$map[0].NAME}>

Contact  |  A-Z Health Index  |  Events & Meetings

get adobe reader

FOR RELEASE: October 9, 2001
CONTACT: Dick Gunn

Health Department to Regulate New Law on Medical Micropigmentation

Due to the growing demand for medical micropigmentation in Oklahoma, Gov. Frank Keating signed House Bill 1964 regulating medical micropigmentation into law on June 4, 2001.

Legislation was enacted because the previous law did not provide sufficient regulation to assure the protection of the public's health for the procedure, which is becoming more widespread.

During medical micropigmentation, color or pigment is manually or electronically implanted in the skin with needles for repigmentation of areas involving reconstructive surgery or trauma as well as eyebrow, eyeliner, or lips. Medical micropigmentation does not include placing on the body pictures, images, numbers, signs, letters of the alphabet, or designs.

The new law created an advisory committee, appointed by the Commissioner of Health, working in conjunction with the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH), to approve curriculum and training developed and offered by the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education. The certification process will begin January 2002.

House Bill 1964 allows individuals who are physicians -- a Doctor of Medicine (M.D.), or a Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.), or a Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.) -- to perform and offer medical pigmentation services in their practices. According to the new law, nurses and other health professionals must be currently working in one of the above mentioned offices to perform the procedure.

Beginning January 2002, nurses and others who wish to perform medical micropigmentation in a physician's practice and under the supervision of a physician can become certified through the OSDH by first applying for application for certification then meeting the criteria for training or testing. Classroom curriculum, written and clinical examinations will be administered by the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education centers.

Members of the Medical Micropigmentation Advisory Committee are: Edward Shadid, M.D.; Sheila G. Simpson, D.O., Board Certified Family Practice; Russell Stratton, D.D.S., OU College of Dentistry; Bonnie Benien, R.N., and Linda Lea, R.N., BSN, all from Oklahoma City. Other advisory committee members are: Peggy Anderson, R.N., and a lay person, Susan Curry from Edmond.

For more information about micropigmentation, training, certification, or the medical micropigmentation advisory committee, call the OSDH Environmental Health Services at 405/271-5288.


Creating a State of Health Logo