||Contact | A-Z Health Index | Events & Meetings|
Statutes and Rules
In 1994 the Oklahoma Legislature passed §63-1-114.1 that established the Oklahoma Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program (OCLPPP) within the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH).
The links below contains the full text of rules for Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention as well as rules regarding reportable conditions in Oklahoma. All children in Oklahoma shall receive a blood lead test at the age of 12 months and again at 24 months, regardless of Medicaid status. If a child has not yet had their 6th birthday and has never had a blood lead test, a blood lead test shall be performed. All blood lead test results for Oklahoma residents shall be reported to the Oklahoma Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program regardless of blood lead level or age of patient. Lead levels are part of reportable conditions and must be reported by a method approved by the Oklahoma State Department of Health's Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program. Blood lead results are not reported through PHIDDO. Please call (405) 271-6617 and ask for the Lead Department for information on reporting blood lead results.
Reportable Conditions information: Reportable Conditions for Oklahoma Rules
The Oklahoma Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program has created a set of management guidelines which may be used by medical professionals to ensure that children with elevated blood lead levels are receiving appropriate follow-up testing and additional referrals or follow-up when required. Also listed below are the management guidelines for blood lead levels in adults.
Copyright © State of Oklahoma