Oklahoma, www.OK.gov <{$map[0].NAME}>

Contact  |  A-Z Health Index  |  Events & Meetings

get adobe reader

Incident Command System (ICS) & the National Incident Management System (NIMS)

Implementation Activities for Hospitals and Medical Systems

On September 12, 2006 the National Incident Management System (NIMS) Integration Center released the initial version of the NIMS Implementation Activities for Hospitals and Healthcare Systems, which identified specific implementation measures for healthcare organizations. The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) required that participating hospitals complete Elements 7, 9, 10 and 11 by the end of FY 2006 (August 30, 2007).

On June 13, 2008 FEMA's Incident Management System Integration Division (formerly NIMS Integration Center) released a revised NIMS Implementation Objectives specific for Hospital and Healthcare Organizations.  These revised standards now include 14 objectives that healthcare organizations are encouraged to work toward in order to achieve NIMS compliance. 

NOTE:  The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), Office of the Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response (ASPR), Hospital Preparedness Program (HHP) requires all hospitals receiving funds or services under the HPP grant to demonstrate they are working toward full compliance.  

NIMS Training Resources

Incident Command System (ICS) courses can be taken online at: www.training.fema.gov/emiweb/is/crslist.asp

Oklahoma Office of Homeland Security website lists additional training opportunities available in Oklahoma.  Check it out at:

Training FAQ's

Creating a State of Health Logo