||Contact | A-Z Health Index | Events & Meetings|
Wagoner County Health Department
Child Passenger Safety
| Call today to schedule an appointment for a Car Seat Check |
| Call or come in to one of our offices to determine if you are eligible for a car seat |
Help protect what is most precious in our lives. The Wagoner County Health Department offers car seats to eligible participants.
Those eligible for a child restraint would be the legal guardian of the child who receives some form of government assistance, and only if the child is present.
However, we do give free installations and free seat checks if you already have a child restraint and want it checked or installed.
We have a certified CPS Technician who will educate and instruct you on how to properly install a child restraint. Call to schedule an appointment.
4 out of 5 kids are not as secure as they should be because their car seats are not being used correctly.
Properly installed car seats and booster seats reduce the chance of death in a motor vehicle crash by 71% for infants under 1 year and 54% for toddlers ages 1 - 4.
Know the law and protect your children.
Motor vehicle collisions (MVC) are the number one cause of unintentional death among children ages 1 to 19 years.
In 2017, 3,070 children died as occupants of motor vehicles during collisions, at a rate of 3.74 per 100,000 children.
Oklahoma's Child Passenger Safety Law
Birth - 2 Years: Rear-Facing
All children under age 2 must be properly secured in a rear-facing car seat.
2 - 4 Years: Forward-Facing
4 - 8 Years: Booster
8 Years and Older: Seat Belt
5 Ways Restraints Prevent Injury
Helpful CPS Links
NHTSA -- Nation Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Safe Kids USA
Copyright © State of Oklahoma