Fire Extinguisher Licensing Act
Fact Sheet

Categories of Licensing and License Fees:
1. Portable Fire Extinguisher: Company -  $250.00

a. Company Qualified Agent -  $200.00

b. Technician - $75.00

c. Salesperson - $75.00

d. Trainee - $75.00

2. Pre-Engineered Fire Suppression Systems: Company – 250.00

a. Company Qualified Agent -  $200.00

b. Technician - $75.00

c. Salesperson - $75.00

d. Trainee - $75.00
3. Engineered Fire Suppression Systems: Company - $250.00

a. Company Qualified Agent -  $200.00 - Must provide NICET 3 in Special Hazards
b. Designer - $100.00

c. Technician - $75.00 - Must provide NICET 2 in Special Hazards
d. Salesperson - $75.00 - Must provide NICET 1
e. Trainee - $75.00

Renewal fees:

a. Company License -  $250.00

b. Company Qualified Agent - $100.00

c. Designer - $100.00

d. Technician - $35.00 

e. Salesperson - $35.00 

f. Trainee - $35.00

g. Duplicate license - $25.00

License Period:

1. License shall expire on September 30th of each year
2. Can renew a expired license by paying double the renewal fee

3. Can not renew if license has been expired for 2 years or more

a. The must start all over again and reapply and take test

Testing:

Everyone must take a State test except:
a. Any Trainee

Pre-Engineered Fire Suppression – Designer 

i. There is no Designer license for Pre-Engineered Fire Suppression systems

b. Retesting fee $50.00

NICET Levels that must provide documentation:

Engineered Fire Suppression Systems:

i. Q.A. - must have NICET level III

ii. Designer - must have NICET level I

iii. Technician - must have NICET level II

iv. Salesperson - must have NICET level I

Applications for Licensing:

1. Can be found on the State Fire Marshal’s website

a. http://www.ok.gov/fire/
2. Fill out application and mail to the Oklahoma State Fire Marshal’s office:

a. Include all supporting documentation

b. 2 passport size photos

c. 2 finger print cards

d. Payment

3. After application has been approved:

a. OSFM will mail a letter

i. Noting approval

ii. Stating which test you are approved to take

iii. Take letter to your nearest Oklahoma Technology Center

iv. After the OSFM receives conformation from tech center

1. OSFM will mail license to you 

2. If you fail you will be given a letter with what chapters you missed questions from.

3. Retesting

a. Complete a retesting form found on the website

b. Mail to the OSFM with a $50.00 fee
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