

November 17, 2014

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

John C. Hawkins, Pryor, was sworn in Friday, November 14, 2014 as a member of the Oklahoma Ethics Commission. Hawkins was appointed to the position by Senate President Pro Tempore Brian Bingman for a five-year term that will expire in July of 2019. Hawkins was sworn in by his predecessor, prominent retired banker, M. Robert McKinney.

The Commission is responsible for promulgating rules of ethical conduct for campaigns for state office and state questions and for the ethical conduct of state officers and employees. The Commission also has the authority to investigate and prosecute violations of its Rules.

The Ethics Commission is a Constitutional agency composed of five members. The following appointing authorities each have an appointment to the Commission, with appointees serving staggered 5 year terms: the Governor, President Pro Tempore of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, and the Attorney General.

Hawkins has been in the insurance industry full time since 1980. He has worked tirelessly for the Pryor Area community, serving on the Pryor Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors, serving twice as Chairman of the Board. Additionally, Hawkins has served on the Oklahoma Small Business Commission, served as Chairman of the Northeast Oklahoma Area Workforce Investment Board, and has received a Governor's Commendation as the Workforce Oklahoma Distinguished Business Person of the Year Award.