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IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR ALL LICENSEES
 OF THE STATE OF OKLAHOMA DENTAL BOARD

FORMAL SWEARING IN CEREMONY OF NEW LICENSEES
The Board of Dentistry was one of the first four state agencies created at Statehood along with the Board of Pharmacy, the Board of Health and the Pure Food Commission that no longer exists. When new dentists received their license, they signed a dental board roll book that was and is currently in the possession of the State Dental Board. This process ceased sometime in the late 1930’s.  Beginning in 2013 the Board of Dentistry is going to bring back some of that history. We will be having a formal license swearing in ceremony for all licensees sometime in September of 2013 at the State Capital. We will have a new formal roll book that lists every dentists and hygienist licensed in the State of Oklahoma by license number with an original signature.  We ask that anyone currently licensed or retired please attend this ceremony.  We will be announcing more information and details throughout the year. 

MOVING TO A NEW BUILDING
Sometime in mid to late 2013, the Board of Dentistry will be moving to a new building.  The new offices will be located on Lincoln behind the State Banking Commission and we will be sharing the building with the Board of Pharmacy and the Veterinary Board.  Because we were two of the first four state agencies, both the Dental Board and the Pharmacy Board are planning on incorporating part of our history in the new building. If you have any historical pictures of the board, dentistry or other documents or items you would like to donate (or let us make a copy of) we would greatly appreciate it.  Currently, we have the very first hygiene license donated to the Board by the family of Ms. Riggins, the first licensed hygienist and a dental license #365 issued in 1905 to Dr. Arthur Seids. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY WEBSITE
The State of Oklahoma passed a law two years ago to consolidate the State’s purchasing and control of all computers, phones and other electronic equipment. The Dental Board staff has been working with the agency in charge of this since this act went into effect. Currently, we have no access to or control of our website. As a result, we have started a facebook page “Oklahoma Board of Dentistry” and are asking all licensees to refer to it for information from the Board until the point that our website is complete. Please bear with us during this time. 

NEW LAWS and HELPFUL INFORMATION

1. NEW LAW: New Dates for Expiration of Licenses; NO GRACE PERIOD.  Your license expires on December 31, 2012 and is late on January 1, 2013.  Late fees apply as of January 1, 2013.   You may be reinstated for up to 1 year.  After 1 year you will have to reapply as a new licensee and retake the State jurisprudence exam.  (The reason for this change was primarily due to issues that have arisen in Medicaid and insurance billing as well as hospital credentialing for dentists.)

a. *Please check your OBN and DEA registrations* Each of these registrations are due every three years.  If your OBN registration is due this year, it is due on January 1, 2013.  You can be fined for each prescription written if you do not have a valid OBN registration on January 1st. Most DEA registrations are due in July every three years.

b. *RETIREMENT* If you are considering retiring please be aware that if your dental license is in retirement status and/or you do not practice for a 5-year period, (hygiene license is 2 years) you are then required to retake the WREB exam before you will be able to reinstate. If you are unsure about permanent retirement, we recommend you renew and maintain an active license. You may not practice dentistry without an active license even as a retiree.  

2. NEW LAW: Notice to the Board of a death related to a dental office or dental procedure; Dentist is required to notify the board within 24 hours of the time they were notified of the death and submit a written report within 30 days. Previously this requirement was to notify the Board in writing within 30 days.

3. NEW LAW: Anyone conducting dentistry telemedicine on a patient that is located in the State of Oklahoma must have a valid Oklahoma Dental license to Practice. (This is one of the first laws of its kind and was passed to prevent sales of home kits with instructions online as well as illicit prescription writing by out of state dentists.)

4. NEW LAW: “Every dentist SHALL notify the Board within 24 hours of discovery that an employee or other person has forged or authorized without the dentists permission, a prescription via telecommunications device, electronic prescribing device, written prescription or otherwise communicated information with the intent of allowing a person to obtain a controlled dangerous substance in the dentists name or by any identifiable license number of the dentist.”
(There are predatory employees that seek employment in medical offices with the intent of finding ways to obtain prescription medication. Some of this is due to addiction and occasionally it is for the purpose of illicit sales. These people are a liability to your practice. Unfortunately we have had a number of these type of cases where a dentist doesn’t want to turn them in or get them in trouble, however, they then move on to another medical office and put others in danger. Under DEA and OBN rules, you are already required to guard against diversion and notify them of a violation. This rule will be consistent with those existing rules. )

5. NEW LAW; “Every dentist shall ensure that each prescription written shall identify the name and current address of the issuing dentist.” “You shall not issue a prescription on a form that lists the name of another dentist not presently licensed by the Oklahoma Board of Dentistry.”
(We have had a number of cases this year where we were called by a pharmacist and/or the pharmacy board and DEA about an unlicensed dentist writing prescriptions and in fact it was someone who bought out a practice of someone no longer licensed.  Again, this law is consistent with current regulations enforced by DEA and OBN.) 


If you have any questions, please contact the Board at (405) 524-9037 or www.dentist.state.ok.us
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