
WHAT IS OKLAHOMA CRIME  
VICTIMS COMPENSATION? 

  
Legislation that provides a method 
of compensation and assistance to 
persons who are victims of 
criminal acts and who suffer 
physical or psychological injury or 
death as a result.  
 
 

 
WHO CAN APPLY? 

  
Eligible applicants are:  
� a victim; 
� a dependent of  a deceased  
 victim; 
� a person authorized to act on 

behalf  of  the victim or  
 dependent   

HOW DO I KNOW  
IF I AM ELIGIBLE?  

 
� The crime must be reported to 

a law enforcement agency 
within 72 hours.  

 
� The claim for compensation 

must be filed within one (1) 
year of  injury, death or disclo-
sure (if  victim is a minor). The 
one-year deadline can be ex-
tended up to two years for 
good cause.  

 
� The claimant must cooperate 

fully in the investigation and 
prosecution of  the offender.  

 
� Compensation shall not bene-

fit the offender or accomplice. 
 
� Claimant could face a reduc-

tion or denial of  a claim if  
there were any actions by the 
victim that may have contrib-
uted to the injury or death. 

 
 
 
 
 

WHERE DOES THE  
MONEY COME FROM? 

 
Funds awarded to victims of crime 
come from assessments placed on 
persons pleading guilty or con-
victed of crimes at the District and 
Federal Court level.  

 
TO FILE A CLAIM: 

 

Contact your nearest 

District Attorney’s Office 

or the Oklahoma  

Crime Victims  

Compensation Program. 



WHO SHOULD I CONTACT  
FOR MORE INFORMATION?  

 
Crime Victims Compensation Board 
Oklahoma District Attorneys Council 

421 NW 13th St., Suite 290 
Oklahoma City, OK 73103 

Phone: (405)264-5006 
Toll Free: (800) 745-6098 

FAX: (405) 264-5097  
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WHAT TYPE OF  
ASSISTANCE IS AVAILABLE?  

  
Out of  pocket expenses allowable 
under this program are: 
� Medical and dental care; 
� Prescriptions; 
� Counseling and rehabilitation; 
� Work loss or loss of  support; 
� Caregiver work loss; 
� Homicide crime scene  
 clean-up; 
� Funeral and burial expense. 
 
 

SOME EXTRA INFO ... 
 
� Property loss and pain and 

suffering are not covered. 
� No attorney is needed to file a 

claim. 
� No arrest or conviction is  
 required. 
� The maximum award is 

$20,000. 

 
TO FILE A CLAIM: 

 
Contact your nearest 

District Attorney’s Office 

or the Oklahoma Crime 

Victims Compensation Program. 


