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OAC 185:1-1-4

CHAPTER 1. ADMINISTRATIVE OPERATIONS

Section

185:1-1-1 Purpose

185:1-1-2 Official office

185:1-1-3 Membership and officers of the Board

185:1-14 Powers and duties of the Board and Administrator
185:1-1-5. Meetings of the Board

185:1-1-6. Board staff

185:1-1-7. Amendment to rules and regulations

185:1-1-8. Opportunity to appear before the Board
185:1-1-9, Order to appear before the Board

185:1-1-10.  Appearance relative to an appeal

185:1-1-11, Recording, transcribing and transcripts
185:1-1-12. Testimony of witness

185:1-1-13.  Subpoena of witnesses and/or records and documents
185:1-1-14.  Initial Board consideration

185:1-1-15 Claims review and appellant procedures [REVOKED]
185:1-1-16.  Filing of support statements

185:1-1-17.  Claimant notification of Board decision
Appendix A. Invitation to Appear [REVOKED]

Appendix B. Subpoena [REVOKED]

Appendix C. Subpocena Duces Tecum [REVOKED]

[Authority: 21 0.S., §§ 142.) through 142.18; 750 S, §§ 302 and 307)
[Source: Codified 6-1 3-91

185:1-1-1. Purpose

The rules of this Chapter have been adopted for the pur-
pose of complying with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act, 75 0. S. 250 ct seq. This Chapter was adopted
in order for crime victims to be aware of their rights when filing
a claim with the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation
Board, hereinafter referred to as the Board,

185:1-1-2. Official office

The official office of the Oklahoma Crime Victims Com-
pensation Board is located in the offices of the Oklahoma
District Attorncys Council.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1153, ¢ff 2-28-94)

185:1-1-3. Membership and officers of the
Board

The Board shall consist of three (3) members who shall

be appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of

the Senate. The first members appointed were appointed for
terms of two (2), three (3) and four (4) years, while members
appointed thereafter were and will be appointed to four-year
(4-ycar) terms and until the successor s appointed and qual-
ificd. At least one member of the Board shall be licensed to
practice law in Oklahoma. The Chairperson of the Board shall
be elected by the Board as a whole on an annual basis. The new
Chairperson's responsibilitics shall begin October 1 of each
year. Members of the Board shall receive such compensation,
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subsistence allowances, mileage and expenses as provided by
the State Travel Reimbursement Act.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2-28-94; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2640, eff 7-25-02)

185:1-1-4. Powers and duties of the Board and
Administrator
The Board or administrator shall have the duty to award
compensation for cconomic loss arising from criminally inju-
rious conduct if satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence
that the requirements for compensation have been met. The
Administrator of the Crime Victim Compensation Board may
determine initial victims' claims and any victim's claim under
ten thousand dollars (310,000.00). The Board may delegate
any other victims' claim to the administration of the Crime
Victims Compensation Board at their discretion. The claimant
shall have the right to appeal to the Board for any claim in
dispute. The Board shall have the power:
(1) To hear and determine all matters relating to claims
for compensation of ten thousand dollars ($10,000.00)
or more and may hear claims under ten thousand dollars
(3$10,000.00). The Board or administrator shall be able to
reinvestigate or re-open claims without regard to statutes
of limitation. However, claims that have been inactive for
a pertod of more than three (3) years from the date of the
last action by the Board or administrator shall be deemed
closed and any further action forever barred. Claim files
may be destroyed by the district attorneys council and or
the local distnct attorney's office after a claim is closed.
Claims which have been declined may be destroyed afier
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nine (9) months, following the last Board or admunistrative
action, provided the claimant has not notified the Board
staff of any intentions to request reconsideration of the
claim.

(2) To subpoena witnesses, compel their attendance,
require the production of records and other evidence,
administer oaths or affirmations, conduct hearings and
receive relevant evidence.

(3)  To regulate its own procedures except as otherwise
provided in the Act.

(4) To adopt rules and regulations to implement the
provisions of the Act.

(5) Todefine any term not defined in the Act.

(6)  To prescribe forms necessary to carry out the pur-
poses of the Act.

(7)  To have access to any reports of investigations or
other data necessary to assist the Board or administrator in
making a determination of eligibility for compensation.
(8) To publicize the availability of compensation and
information regarding the filing of claims.

(9)  To order the claimant to supply any additional med-
ical or psychological reports available relating to the injury
or death for which compensation is claimed.

(10) To deny, withdraw or reduce an award of compensa-
tion upon finding that the claimant did not fully cooperate
with the appropriate law enforcement agencies.

(11)To reconsider a decision granting or denying a com-
pensation award, based on its own motion or on request
of the claimant, providing such motion 1s not made after
three years from the last action by the Board on a claim.
(12) To continue claims for compensation pending
disposition of a criminal prosccution that has been com-
menced or is imminent, but the Board may make a tenta-
tive award.

(13) Tojoin in civil action as a party plaintiff to recover
the compensation awarded if the claimant brings such
action.

(14) And the duty to prepare and transmit an annual
report to the Governor, the Speaker of the House and the
President Pro Tempore of the Senate.

(15) Todetermine whether costs of services rendered are
reasonable.

(16) The Board and administrator shall also have such
other powers and duties as provided by

Statute.

(17) Totake judicial notice of general, technical, and sc1-
entific facts.

(18) Incertain cascs wherein mental health expenses are
being claimed, the Board or Administrator may request
assistance from a panel of professionals in the mental
health ficld. The panel of professionals may only act in an
advisory capacity to the Board.

(19) The Board or admimstrator shall have the authority
to set limits of compensation on any medical or mental
health treatment, and require that providers of medical or
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mental health treatments be licensed prior to compensat-
ing for said treatment.

|Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2-28-94; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2640, eff 7-25-02; Amended at 22 Ok Reg 1062, eff 5-26-05; Amended at 25
Ok Reg 1899, eff 6-26-08}

185:1-1-5. Meetings of the Board

(a) The Board shall meet in compliance with the Open Meet-
ing Act.

(b) The Chairperson shall serve as presiding officer at all of-
ficial meetings of the Board. In the absence of the Chairperson,
the remaining Board members present at the meeting may des-
ignate a presiding officer for that meeting.

(¢) The Chairperson shall have the authority to vote on all
matters coming before the Board.

(d) A quorum shall consist of two (2) members.

(¢) In the event of a tie vote when only two members of the
Board are conducting business, the matter or matters shall be
continued to the next meeting.

(f)  The order of business at any meeting of the Board shall
follow the agenda prepared in advance of the meeting. Such
other matters may be brought before the Board as shall be
rcquested by any member in writing and presented to the
Chairperson.

(g) Proxies to vote shall not be permitted at the Board meet-
ings.
(h) The Administrator of the Board shall keep the Board

apprised of all relevant matters and shall seek its advice as
dcemed necessary.

(i) Roberts Rules of Order, Revised, shall govern all meet-
ings of the Board.

[Source: Amendedat 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2-28-94]

185:1-1-6. Board staff

The Board shall be provided such office, support, staff
and secretarial services as necessary by the District Attomeys
Council.

[Source: Amendedat 11 Ok Reg 1153, ¢ff 2-28-94]

185:1-1-7. Amendment to rules and regulations
Any modification or amendment to the Rulcs and Regula-

tions of the Board shall be made pursuant to the procedure as

outlined in the Oklahoma Administrative Procedure Act

185:1-1-8. Opportunity to appear before the
Board
(a) Pursuant to Title 21 O.S. 1981 Supp. Seccs. 142.1

through 142.18 of the Oklahoma Statutes, any claimant may be
represented by licensed counsel, or may represent him/hersel f
betore the Board, for any claim of $10,000.00 or more, under
the following circumstanccs:
(1)  at the discretion of the clatmant to provide support
tor a claim tiled with the Board for compensation; or,
(2)  atthe request of the Board to provide testimony rel-
atve to a claim filed for compensatton.
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(b) A claimant and/or counsel shall have the opportunity to
appear before the Board and shall be so notified no less than
fourteen (14) days in advance of the Board meeting in which
his/her claim is to be considered. If the claimant and/or coun-
sel wish to appear before the Board to support the claim, the
tollowing procedure will be utilized by the claimant:
(1) Complete the Invitation to Appear form which noti-
ties the claimant of the date, time and place of the meeting
in which the Board will consider his/her claim.
(2)  Mail the complete Invitation to Appear form at least
three (3) days prior to the scheduled meeting, to the Okla-
homa Crime Victims Compensation Board. If subpoenas
are requested, the claimant should follow procedures set
forthin 185:1-1-13,
(3)  If the Board has not received the completed Invi-
tation to Appear form at least three (3) days prior to the
scheduled meeting, it shall be assumed that the claimant
or counsel does not wish to and will not appear before the
Board to provide support for his/her claim.
(4)  Itis not mandatory that a claimant or counsel ap-
pear before the Board in order for a claim to be considered
unless specifically so ordered by the Board.

[|Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2
1062, eff 5-26-05; Amended at 25 Ok Reg 18

-28-94; Amended at 22 Ok Reg
99, eff 6-26-08]

185:1-1-9. Order to appear before the Board
(a)  Ifthe Board wishes to have any person appear personally
before it, and/or furnish records or other evidence, the Board
will comply with the following procedure:
(1)  Execute a subpocna signed by the Chairperson or
Administrator, stating date, time and place of the Board
meeting and requested records wherein consideration will
be given to the claim filed by the claimant.
(2)  Mail the subpoena by certified mail, return reccipt
requested. ten (10) days in advance of meeting wherein
attendance is required or obtain personal service of the
subpoena within five (5) days
(3)  Should the person under subpoena be unable to
comply with the terms of the subpoena, i1t shall be the
responsibility of that person to so notity the Administrator
cither by mail or phone at least three (3) days prior to said
meeting of the reason of inability to attend or produce
records.
(4)  ltshall then be the responsibility of the Board to ei-
ther:
(A) continue consideration of the claim to the
regularly scheduled meetin gor,
(B)  to consider the claim without the appearance of
the person or records subpoenaed.
(b) Incertain cases, the failure of aclaimant to appear before
the Board when subpoenacd, may be considered failure to co-
operate in the claim investigation and the claim may be denied.
withdrawn, or reduced accordingly by the Board.

next

[Seurce: Amended a1 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2
K99 ¢tf6-26-08)
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185:1-1-10. Appearance relative to an appeal
If a claimant and/or counsel wish to personally appear
before the Board with regard to an appeal of a claim that has
been reduced or denied, the claimant must comply with the
following procedure:
(1) Follow explicitl
in 185:10-1-10,
(2)  Once the meeting date is set in a contested case
(appeal) and the claimant so notified, the claimant shall
have the responsibility of notifying the Administrator in
writing at least five (5) days prior to the scheduled meeting
if unable to attend and the reason.
(3) Ifaclaimant and/or counsel wish to attend and are
unable to do so, the hearing will be rescheduled for another
meeting of the Board.
(4)  When consideration of a claim has been resched-
uled and the claimant and/or counsel is unable to attend
such rescheduled meeting, the Board may consider the
appeal on the records and any other additional cvidence
available.

y the appeals procedure as written

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff2-28-94)

185:1-1-11. Recording, transcribing and
transcripts
Under all circumstances, the Board proceedings will be
recorded. Ifany person requires a transcription of the proceed-
ings, they shall comply with the following procedures:
(1) Notify the Administrator, in writing, within thirty
(30) calendar days after the hearing for which transcri ption
is requested,
(2)  Inthe case of an appeal, state in the letter of appeal
to the Board that a record or transcript is requested. The
number of transcripts requested and to whom they should
be mailed should also be stated.
(3) The responsibility for payment for transcribing and
transcript copies is that of the requesting individual unless
otherwise so ordered by the Board.
(4)  The cost for such transcribing and transcript copies
shall be determined by the Boar

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok R

eg 1153, ¢fF 2-28.94; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2640, ¢ff 7-25.02)

185:1-1-12, Testimony of witness

If the claimant wishes to present testimony of others in
support of his/her claim, the claimant shall comply with the
following procedure:

(1Y Complete appropriate information on Invitation to

Appear form including names and addresscs of wilnesses,

telephone numbers, and nature of testimony.

(2)  In an appeal of a Board decision, the witnesses'
names, addresses, telephone numbers and nature of tes-
timony must be included in the fetter from the claimant
stating his/her desire to appeal.
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185:1-1-13.  Subpoena of witnesses and/or records
and documents
If the claimant wishes to have the Board issue subpoenas
on his/her behalf either at the time of the initial Board consid-
eration of the claim or at the time of appeal, the claimant shall:
(1) Indicate on the Invitation to Appear form that you
wish to have witnesses subpoenaed on your behalf.
(2)  Inanappeal, the claimant must state whether he/she
wishes the Board to subpoena any witnesses. [n order
to preserve the Victims Compensation Revolving Fund
for its intended use, the Board will not be responsible for
paying witness fees.
(3)  Ifthe claimant requests subpoenas be issued to wit-
nesses. it will be the responsibility of the requesting party
to deliver the subpoenas. If witnesses are unable to appear,
it shall be the decision of the claimant as to whether or not
the claim is considered as scheduled, or passed to the next
regular meeting.
(4) In order to allow sufficient time for the Board to
issue subpoenas and for service to be obtained on the
witness, the claimant must deliver the completed request
for a subpoena to the Board office no later than seven (7)
working days prior to the hearing or appeal.

[Source: Amended at 11 Uk Reg 1153, cff 2-28-94)

185:1-1-14. Initial Board consideration
Any Board member may question the claimant and
claimant's witnesses at any time during the hearing. The
Board may also limit the time for witnesses testimony and or
discussion. The procedure for claim consideration and Board
decision will be as follows:
(1)  Chairperson announces the claim to be considered.
(2) The Administrative Staff or Victim-Witness Coor-
dinator answers any questions the Board may have relative
to the facts of the case.
(3) Claimant and/or counsel presents testimony (if
present).
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(4)  Board questions claimant and/or counsel.

(5) Claimant and/or counsel presents witnesses (if
present).

(6) Board questions witnesses.

(7) The Board goes into executive session, as neces-

sary, for discussion of confidential information.
(8) Board renders decision.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2-28-94; Amended at 22 Ok Reg
1062, eff 5-26-05]

185:1-1-15. Claims review and appellant

procedures {[REVOKED)]

{Source: Revoked at 22 Ok Reg 1062, eff 5-26-05)

185:1-1-16. Filing of support statements

If a claimant wishes to file a written statement regarding
a claim, which was not attached to the claim submitted to the
Board, the claimant's name and claim number shall be written
at the top, right hand comer of cach page and submitted to the
Administrator at least ten (10) days prior to the Board meeting
wherein the claim is to be considered.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 153, ¢ff 2-28-94; Amended at 22 Ok Reg
1062, et 5-26-05}

185:1-1-17. Claimant notification of Board
decision

Claimants will be mailed a decision and order within
twenty (20) calendar days of the meeting wherein the decision

is rendered.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2-28-94: Amended at 22 Ok Reg
1062, eff 5-26-05}
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APPENDIX A. INVITATION TO APPEAR [REVOKED]

ISource: Amended at |1 Ok Reg 1153, eff 2-28-94: Revoked at 19 Ok Reg 2640, eff 7-25-02]

APPENDIX B. SUBPOENA IREVOKED)

[Source: Revoked at 19 Ok Reg 2640, eff 7-25-02)

APPENDIX C. SUBPOENA DUCES TECUM [REVOKED)]

ISource: Revoked at 19 Ok Reg 2640, eff 7-25-02)
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OAC 185:10-1-3

CHAPTER 10. CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION PROGRAM

Section

185:10-1-1.  Purpose

185:10-1-2.  Title of the Act

185:10-1-3.  Definitions

185:10-1-4, Eligibility criteria for compensation

185:10-1-5.  Typesof compensation available

185:10-1-6.  Maximum compensation amounts and methods of payment
185:10-1-7.  Garnishment and assignment of award

185:10-1-8.  Application review procedure

185:10-1-9.  Advance (emergency) award of compensation

185:10-1-10.  Appeals procedure

185:10-1-11.  Subrogation rights of the Board

185:10-1-12.  Penalty for false claims

185:10-1-13.  Establishment of guardianship for minor children [REVOKED]
185:10-1-14. Life insurance as a collateral source | REVOKED]
185:10-1-15. Prorating expenses

[Authority: 21 0.S., §§ 142.1 through 142.18)
[Source: Codified 6-13-91)

185:10-1-1. Purpose

The rules of this Chapter have been adopted for the pur-
pose of complying with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedures Act, 75 0.S. 250 et seq. The purpose of the Board
shall be to hear and decide matters relating to the Crime Vic-
tims Compensation claims. The Board or administrator shall
award compensation to victims of crime for economic loss
arising from criminally injurious conduct if satisficd by a
preponderance of the evidence that the requirements for com-
pensation have been met.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, eff 2-28-94; Amended at 22 Ok Reg
1064, ¢ff 5-26-05]

185:10-1-2. Title of the Act

The title of the Act under which the rules of this Chapter
arc being promulgated is known as the Oklahoma Crime Vic-
tims Compensation Act, hereinafter referred to as the Act. 1t is
codified in the Oklahoma Statutes as Title 21 0.S. 142.1 et seq.
as amended.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, eff2-28-94)

185:10-1-3. Definitions
The following words and terms, w
shall have the following mcaning,
dicates otherwise.
"Allowable expenses" mcans:
(A) charges incurred for needed products, services
and accommodations, including, but not limited to,
medical care, wage loss, rchabilitation, rchabilitative
occupational training, and other remedial treatment
and care.
(B) any rcasonable cxpenscs related to funcral, cre-
mation or burial, up to the statutory limit.

hen used in this € hapter,
unless the context clearly in-
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(C) reasonable costs for counseling family mem-
bers of a homicide victim, and

(D) reasonable costs associated with homicide
crime scene clean up.

(E) reasonable cost of vehicle impound fees asso-
ciated with the collection and security of crime scenc
cvidence.

"Board" means the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensa-
tion Board, hereinafter referred to as the Board,

"Claimant” means any of the following persons applying
for compensation under this act:

(A) avictim,

(B) adependent of a victim who has died because o
criminally injurious conduct, or

(C)  aperson authorized to act on behalf of any of the
persons listed above. The Board has the discretion to
require sufficient proof of authority to act on behalf of
a victim,

"Collateral source" means a source of benetits or ad-
vantages for cconomic loss for which the claimant would
otherwise be eligible to reccive compensation under this Act
which the claimant has received, or which is readily available
to the claimant from the sources identificd by statute.

"Criminally injurious conduct"” means a misdemeanor
or felony which occurs or is attempted in Oklahoma, or against
a resident of this state in a state that does not have an eligible
crime victims compensation program, as such term is defined
in the Federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984, Public Law
98-473; that results in bodily injury, threat of bodily injury or
death to a victim.

(A)  "Criminally injurious conduct” results in per-
sonal injury or death to a victim which is:

(i) punishable by fine, impnsonment or death,
or
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(i) if the act is committed by a child, could
result in such child being adjudicated a delinquent
child.

(B) Pursuant to 21 O.S. 142.11, an award may be

made whether or not any person is prosecuted or con-

victed as an adult offender or adjudicated a delinquent
child. Proof of conviction of a pcrson whose acts give

rise to a claim or a copy of the adjudication order for a

delinquent child whose acts give rise to a claim is con-

clusive evidence that the crime was committed. The

Board or administrator may continue a claim pending

disposition of a criminal prosecution or delinquent

child adjudication that has been commenced or is
imminent, but may make a tentative award.

(C) The term "criminally injurious conduct” shall

not include acts arising out of the negligent main-

tenance or use of a motor vehicle unless the vehicle
was:

(i) operated or driven by the offender while
under the influence of alcohol, with a blood alco-
hol level in excess of the legal limit, or any other
intoxicating substance or,

(ii)  operated or driven by the offender with the
intent to injure or kill the victim or,
(iii)  operated in a manner imminently danger-
ous to another person and evincing a depraved
mind, although without any premeditated design
to injure or effect the death of any particular per-
son or the offense involved willful, malicious or
fclonious failure to stop after being involved in a
personal injury accident to avoid detection or pros-
ccution, provided the victim of the accident was a
pedestrian or was operating a vehicle moved solely
by human power or a mobility device at the time of
contact.
(iv) one or more vehicles that results in the
death of the victim due to the reckless disregard
for the safety of others by the offender. As used in
this division, reckless disregard for the safety of
others is defined as the omission to do something
which a recasonably careful person would do, or the
lack of the usual and ordinary care and caution in
the performance of an act usually and ordinanly
exercised by a person under similar circumstances
and conditions.
(D) The term "criminally injurious conduct” shall
include an act of terrorism, as defined in Section 2331
of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside
the United States.

"Dependent" means a natural person wholly or partially
dependent upon the victim for care or support, and includes a
child of a victim born after the death of the victim where the
death occurred as a result of criminally injurious conduct.

"Economic loss" means monetary detriment consisting
only of allowable expense, work loss, replacement services
loss and, if injury causes death, economic loss and replace-
ment services loss of a dependent, but shall not include non
cconomig loss.
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"Economic loss of a dependent' means loss after death
of the victim of contributions of things of economic value to
the dependent, not including services which would have been
received from the victim if he or she had not suffered the fatal
injury.

"Non-economic detriment” means pain, suffering, in-
convenience, physical impairment and nonpecuniary damage.

"Replacement services loss" means expenses reasonably
incurred in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu of
those the victim would have performed, not for income, but for
the benefit of self or family, if the victim had not been injured or
died.

"Replacement services loss of a dependent”" means
the loss reasonably incurred by dependents after death of the
victim in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu
of those the deceased victim would have performed for their
benefit had the deceased victim not suffered the fatal injury,
less expenses of the dependent avoided by reason of death of
the victim and not subtracted in calculating the economic loss
of the dependent.

"Victim" means a person victimized within the State of
Oklahoma who suffers personal injury or death as a result of
criminally injurious conduct and shall include a resident of this
state who is injured or killed by an act of terrorism committed
outside the United States.

"Work loss" means loss of income from work the victim
would have performed if such person had not been injured or
died, reduced by any income from substitute work actually
performed by the victim or by income the victim would have
camned in available appropriate substitute work that he or she
was capable of performing but unreasonably failed to under-
take, or loss of income from work the victim's caregiver would
have performed if the injuries of the victim sustained as a result
of criminally injurious conduct had not created the need for the
caregiver to miss work to care for the injurcd victim.

(Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, cff 2-28-94; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2046, ¢ff 7-25-02; Amended at 22 Ok Reg 1064, eff 5-26-05. Amended at 25
Ok Reg 1900, eff 6-26-08]

185:10-1-4. Eligibility criteria for compensation
(a) The criminally injurious conduct leading to the filing
of the compensation claim must have occurred in Oklahoma.
Beginning November 1, 1989, residents of Oklahoma who are
victimized in states without eligible crime victims compensa-
tion programs, as such term is defined in the federal Victims
of Crime Act of 1984, Public Law 98-473, will be eligible
claimants under the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation
Act. Proof of conviction of the person causing the criminally
injurious injury to the victim 1s conclusive evidence that the
crime was commmitted.

(b) The incident must have occurred on or after October 19,
1981.

(¢) Theincident must have been reported to law enforcement
officials within 72 hours or would have been reported within
the period of time except for good cause shown. In claims
wherein the victim is under the age of eighteen (18), the crime
resulting in the claim must have been reported to authorities
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within seventy-two (72) hours after disclosure to a responsible
adult except for good cause shown. This shall also apply to
persons who are diagnosed as mentally handicapped.
(d) The claim for compensation must be filed in the Okla-
homa City office within one (1) year of the incident date or
death of the victim. The Board may, at its discretion, waive this
requirement, if the Board finds there was good cause for failure
to file the claim within one (1) year, but in no event shall the
filing of a claim be permitted after two (2) years from the date
of injury or death upon which the claim is based. The good
cause exception shall be permitted only for injury or death oc-
curring on or after November 1, 1989, If the victim is mentally
handicapped, or is a child under eighteen (18) years of age, the
Board may use the date the criminal incident was disclosed to
a responsible adult when establishing whether or not the claim
was timely filed. The Board may, at its discretion, extend the
filing deadline beyond two (2) years in child sexual assauit
cases.
(e)  The victim must have suffered
injury or death as a result of the crimi
() The claimant and/or victim must have cooperated with
law enforcement officials, the District Attorneys office, and the
Crime Victims Compensation Board during entire investiga-
tion. In the event the Board or administrator finds the claimant
and/or victim was not cooperative, a claim may be denied,
withdrawn, or reduced.
(8) The net amount of compensation requested in the claim
must not have been paid by a collateral source, however, the
Board or administrator shall not require any claimant to seek or
accept any collateral source contribution, unless the claimant
was receiving such benefits prior to the occurrence giving rise
to the claim under the provisions of the Act.
(h)  The claimant and/or victim was not the offender or an
accomplice of the offender, and, the compensation award shall
not be used to benefit the offender or accomplice. Number one
through four below were developed in accordance with Section
7129 of the Victims of Crime Act.
(1) In determining whether a compensation award can
be made without un justly enriching an offender, the Board
or administrator shall evaluate whether the victim has
reported the crime and is cooperating with the criminal
Justice system in the investigation and prosecution of the
crime, and whether the victim will do what is possible to
prevent access by the offender to compensation paid to
the victim. If the victim is cooperating fully, and if the of-
fender will not benefit from or have access to a substantial
portion of any cash award made by the Board to the victim,
then the award shall not be declined on the basis that the
award would benefit the offender.
(2) A determination that the award would benetfit the
offender shall not be based solely on the presence of the
offender in the houschold at the time of the award. The
presence of the offender in the houschold is only one factor
to be considered in determining that he/she would benefit
from the award; a determination of whether the offender
will benetit from an award shall be made in cach case,
bascd on the totality of the circumstances.

physical or psychological
nal action of another.
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3) In detennining whether an award would benefit the
offender, the Board must weigh whether the benefit to the
offender is substantial or in-consequential. Factors to be
considered include the amount of the award and whether a
substantial portion of the compensation award will be used
directly by or on behalf of the offender. If the offender
has direct access to a cash award and/or if a substantial
portion of it will be used to pay for his/her living expenses,
that portion of the award that will substantially benefit the
offender may be reduced or denied. When enrichment is
inconsequential or minimal, the award may not be reduced
or denied.
(4)  Coliateral resources available to the victim from
the offender shall be examined. Collateral resources may
include court-ordered restitution, an offending spouse's
medical insurance, or other resources of the offender
available to cover the victim's expenses. In evaluating
the availability of collateral resources, a determination
shall be made first as to whether the offender has a legal
responsibility to pay; second, whether the offender has
Treésources to pay; and third, whether payment is likely. The
victim shall not be penalized for the failure of an offender
to meet legal obligations to pay for the costs of the victim's
recovery. Ifthe offender fails to meet legal responsibilities
to pay restitution or provide for the medical and support
needs of a spouse or child, or if the otfender impedes pay-
ment of insurance that may be available to cover a spouse's
or child's expenses, the Board will attempt to meet the
victim's needs to the extent allowed, and may pursue what-
cver actions are appropriate to seck reimbursement from
the offender. The Board is subrogated to any restitution
the offender may owe the victim ifan award is made.
(i)  The claim must not have been the result of negligent
maintenance or use of a motor vehicle by the offender, unless
the vehicle was operated or driven by the offender while under
the influence of alcohol or any other intoxicating substance or.
unless the vehicle was operated or driven by the offender with
the intent to injure or kill the victim or in a manner imminently
dangerous to another person and evincing a depraved mind, al-
though without any premeditated design to injure or effect the
death of any particular person or the offense involved willful,
malicious or felonious failure to stop after being involved in
a personal injury accident to avoid detection or prosecution,
provided the victim of the accident was a pedcstrian or was
operating a vehicle moved solely by human power or a mobil ity
device at the time of contact.
() Compensation may be diminished or denied to the extent
or degree of responsibility for the cause of the injury or dcath
attributable to the victim, as determined by the Board or ad-
ministrator. Compensation may also be diminished or denied
if the Board or administrator finds that the victim was legally
Intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled dangerous
substance (CDS), and the victim's intoxicated state contributed
to his/her injury or death. Any person over the age of 18, in-
jured while voluntarily riding with a legally intoxicated driver
or someone under the influence of a CDS, may be found to
have contributed to his/her injury or death, provided there is



OAC 185:10-1-4

Crime Victims Compensation Board

evidence that the victim knew of the drivers intoxicated state
prior to the injury.

(k) the offense involving one or more vehicles results in the
death of the victim due to the reckless disregard for the safety
of others by the offender. As used in this division, reckless
disregard for the safety of others is defined as the omission to
do something which a reasonably careful person would do,
or the lack of the usual and ordinary care and caution in the
performance of an act usually and ordinarily exercised by a
person under similar circumstances and conditions.

{Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, eff 2-28-94; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2646, off 7-25-02; Amended at 22 Ok Reg 1064, eff 5-26-05; Amended at 25
Ok Reg 1900, eff 6-26-08)

185:10-1-5. Types of compensation available
Compensation is available for economic loss sustained
by a victim or dependent arising from criminally injurious
conduct of another. Economic loss would include: Allowable
cxpenses (i.e. medical, psychiatric, dental, optical, rehabili-
tation; work loss, caregiver work loss, replacement services
loss; and, if injury causes death, expenses related to burial or
cremation, homicide crime scene clean up, economic loss and
replacement services loss of a dependent, vehicle impound
fees. Future economic loss is also compensable but may be
reduced or discontinued if recipients circumstances change.
Compensation is limited to the amounts set forth by Statute.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, eff 2-28-94; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2646, eff 7-25-02, Amended at 25 Ok Reg 1900, eff 6-26-08]

185:10-1-6. Maximum compensation amounts
and methods of payment

(a) Compensation payable to a victim or claimant sustaining
cconomic loss due to injury or death may not exceed the statu-
tory limit.

(b) Compensation for work loss, replacement services loss,
dependents cconomic loss and dependents replacement ser-
vices loss may not exceed the statutory limit.

(¢) The Board or administrator may provide for the payment
to a claimant in a lump sum or in installments.

(d) Upon request of the claimant, the Board or administrator
may convert future economic loss, other than allowable ex-
pense, to a lump sum, but only upon a finding by the Board, or
admunistrator that the award in a lump sum will promote the
interest of the claimant.

(e) An award payable in instaliments for future economic
loss may be made only for a period that the Board can reason-
ably determine future economic loss and may be modificd by
the Board provided there is a finding that a significant change
in circumstances has occurred.

() The Board may review claims in the order in which they
appear on the docket. Claim payments will be made in the same
manner. Once the Crime Victims Compensation Fund has been
depleted, all remaining claims on the docket may be continued
and placed on the next docket when funds become available.
(g) Mental health treatment for the victim is a compensable
loss. The Board may, at any time, refer a claim to the Mental
Health Review Panel for review and advice regarding length
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and relevance of treatment being provided, and whether the
trcatment was as a direct result of the crime. Panel members
agree to provide this service to the Board at no cost. Panel
members may create documents to assist them in their review
of the claims with the guidance and support of the Victims
Compensation division staff. After the Mental Health Review
Panel reports their findings, the claim will be set on a future
Board docket for review and decision.

(h) When a person files a claim, all health care providers
that have been given notice of a pending claim, shall refrain
from all debt collection activities relating to medical treatment
received by the person in connection with such claim until
an award is made on the claim or until a claim is determined
to be noncompensable pursuant to the provisions of this act.
The statute of limitations for collection of such debt shall be
tolled during the period in which the applicable health care
provider is required to refrain from debt collection activities
under this subsection. For the purposes of this section, debt
collection activities means repeatedly calling or writing to the
claimant and threatening either to turn the matter over to a debt
collection agency or to an attorney for collection, enforcement,
or filing of other process. The term shall not include routine
billing about the status of the claim. This requirement will
pertain to all claims pending and all claims filed after the time
of the enactment of 21 OS 142.9 H.

[Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, eff 2-28-94; Amended at 22 Ok Reg
1064, ¢ff 5-26-05; Amended at 25 Ok Reg 1900, eff 6-26-08]

185:10-1-7. Garnishment and assignment of
award
(a) An award shall not be subject to execution, attachment,
gamnishment or other process, except for child support and
further, except that an award for allowable expense shall not
be exempt from a claim of a creditor to the extent such creditor
has provided products. services or accommodations, the costs
of which are included in the award.
{b)  Anassignment by the claimant to any future award is un-
enforceable, except:
(1)  For work loss to assure payment of court-ordered
alimony, maintenance or child support; or
(2)  For allowable expense to the extent that the benetits
are for the cost of products, services or accommodations
neccessitated by the injury or death.

|Source: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, eff2-28-94)

185:10-1-8. Application review procedure

(a) A victim, dependent of a victim, or person legally acting
on behalf of the victim, must first secure a copy of the Official
Victims Compensation Claim Form. In the event assistance is
needed by the claimant in completing the form, such assistance
will be provided by the victim-witness coordinator, or by the
staff located at the District Attorneys Council in Oklahoma
City.

(b) A claim form must be completed, signed and received at
the Distnict Attorneys Council within one (1) year of the inci-
dent date or death of the victim. [f the Board or administrator
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tinds good cause for failure to file the claim within one (1) year,
the filing period may be extended up to, but not exceeding,
two (2) years, beginning with incidents occurring on or after
November 1, 1989. In child sexual assault cases, the Board
may at its discretion, extend the filing deadline beyond two (2)
years.

(¢) The victims compensation staff shall log the claim
form as being received and forward it to the victim-witness
coordinator in the district where the crime occurred, Upon
completion, the claim shall be returned to the Oklahoma City
office for processing.

(d) The Board, victim-witness coordinators, and staff have
the authority to conduct investigations and/or request any
additional information from the victim and/or claimant, the in-
vestigating law enforcement agency, medical personnel and/or
facilities, witnesses, employers and others as may be deemed
necessary for the proper review and verification of the claim.,
(¢)  The staff shail make a thorough analysis of the claim
once it is completed and received from the victim-witness
coordinator.

() Once the claim has been reviewed (staff review and
Summary completed), the claim will be placed on the next
appropriate Board or administrative docket for consideration.
A claim must be reviewed at least fifteen (15) calendar days
prior to a Board meeting for consideration at that meeting.
Those claims not reviewed fifteen (15) calendar days prior to
a regular meeting shall be considered at the next scheduled
Board meeting. New claims will be reviewed by the staff in
the order in which the completed claims are received in the
Oklahoma City office.

(g) Agendas and supporting material shall be mailed to the
Board no less than ten (10) calendar days in advance of the
Board meeting.

(h)  Notification of Board meetings shall be filed with the
Secretary of State in accordance with the Open Meeting Law.
Copies of the meeting agendas giving date, location and time of
meetings shall be posted in conspicuous places on the premises
of the building wherein the Board meetings will be held
and/or at offices of the Crime Victims Compensation Board,
Claimants whose compensation claims are to be considered
by the Board will be mailed notification of the meeting no less
than fourtecn (14) calendar days in advance and wilj have the
Opportunity to appear and be heard, and to offer cevidence and
argument on any issue relevant to the claim.

(1) Once a decision is made by the Board, the claimant shall
be mailed notification of the decision within twenty (20) days.

185:10-1-9, Advance (emergency) award of
compensation

In the event a claimant requests advance claim considera-
tion or requests an cmergency award, the Administrator shall
review said request and determine, based on the evidence of
hardship so written and described, whether or not the claim

shall be expedited and placed on the next Board docket. If

559

the claim is expedited, the Board may review the claim for an
cmergency award, provided that elements of eligibility appear
met, and out-of-pocket loss is verified. The decision of the
Administrator as to whether or not a claim is expedited for
Board review is not appealable. Notice requirements may be
waived with written consent of the claimant.

[Source: Amendedat 11 Ok Reg 1157, ¢ff2-28-94)

185:10-1-10. Appeals procedure

(a) In the event a claim for compensation is denied, the
Crime Victims Compensation Board staff shall notify the
claimant by mail, within twenty (20) days.

(b) The claimant shall have the right to appeal and may
do so by notifying the Crime Victims Compensation Board
Administrator, in writing, of the intent to appeal within thirty
(30) calendar days of the date of the notification letter setting
forth the Board or administrative decision,

(c) If the claimant is not satisfied with the decision, he/she
shall then be cntitled to a hearing before the Board. The hear-
ing shall be held within one hundred twenty (120) calendar
days of the date of the notice from the claimant stating intent to
appeal.

(d) In an appeals hearing, all parties shall be afforded an
opportunity to appear and be heard, A record of the proceed-
ings shall be made and shall be transcribed upon request of
any party who shall pay transcription costs unless otherwise
ordercd by the Board, Transcription requests must be made
within sixty (60) days of proceeding,

(¢) The Board may, without a hearing, scttle a clajm by stip-
ulation, agreed scttlement, consent order or default.

(0 The Board shali render its decision in wniting, relative to
the appeal within twenty (20) calendar days of the hearing.

(8) In the event the claimant remains dissatisfied with the
decision of the Board subsequent to the appeals hearing, the
claimant may file a petition with the District Court of Okla-
homa County or in the county wherein the claimant currently
resides,

[Source: Amended at | Ok Reg 1157, eff 2-28-94, Amended at 22 Ok Rep
1064, et 5-26-05)

185:10-1-11. Subrogation rights of the Board

Upon an award of compensation by the Board or ad-
ministrator, the Board shall be subrogated to the rights of the
claimant to the extent of the award.

[Seurce: Amended at 11 Ok Reg 1157, ¢ff 2.28-94, Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2646, ¢fF 7-25-02, Amended at 22 Ok Reg 1064, ¢f'5-26-05)

185:10-1-12. Penalty for false claims

The filing of a false claim for compensation pursuant to the
Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Act shall constitute a
misdemeanor, and shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed
One Thousand Dollars ($1.000.00) or by imprisonment in the
county jail for a term not to exceed one (1) year, or by both such
fine and imprisonment.
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185:10-1-13.  Establishment of guardianship for

minor children [REVOKED]

Source: Revoked at |1 Ok Reg 1157, et 2-28-94]

185:10-1-14. Life insurance as a collateral source

|[REVOKED]

[Source: Added at |1 Ok Reg 1157, ctf 2-28-94; Revoked at 22 Ok Reg 1064,

off §-26-05]
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185:10-1-15. Prorating expenses

In the event the expenses submitted by the claimant exceed
the maximum allowable award, the Board may or may not pro-
rate an award evenly.

{Source: Added at 11 Ok Reg 1157, eff 2-28-94)
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CHAPTER 15. SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION FUND

Section

185:15-1-1.  Purpose

185:15-1-2.  Definitions

185:15-1-3.  Application by victim

185:15-14.  Duties of the physician or qualified registered nurse
185:15-1-5.  Duties of the District Attorney [REVOKED)
185:15-1-6.  Insurance

185:15-1-7.  Limitation of payment by the fund

Appendix A.

[Authority: 21 0.5, §§ 142.19 and 142.20]
[Seurce: Codified 6-13-91]

185:15-1-1. Purpose

The purpose of the Sexual Assault Examination Fund is
to provide the victim of sexual assault with a forensic med-
ical examination for the procurement of evidence to aid in
the investigation and prosecution of a sexual assault offensc
and to provide to the victim medications as directed by the
medical authority conducting the examination, Medications
provided to the victim by the medical authority conducting the
cxamination may only be provided to said victim on a one-time
initial basis for the immediate trauma and medical examination
of said victim. In no event shall payment from the Sexual
Assault Examination Fund exceed the statutory maximum.
The effective date of the Act authorizing the Sexual Assault
Examination Fund was July 1, 1981.

[Source: Amended at 9 Ok Reg 3301, cff8-15-92)

185:15-1-2. Definitions

The following words and terms,
shall have the following meaning,
dicates otherwise.

"Fund" means the Sexual Assault Examination Fund
as established in Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes, Sections
142.19 and 142.20.

"Qualified Registered Nurse"
ified to perform a forensic sexual
receive payment through the Sexual Assault Examination
Fund, Registered Nurses must be registered with the State
Board of Nurse Registration and reccive at least 40 hours of
in-service training in the field of forensic evidence collection
and rape trauma,

""Sexual assauit" means:

(A) rape or rape by instrumentation, as defined in
Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes; or

(B) forcible sodomy, as defined in Title 21 of the
Oklahoma Statutes.

"Sexual assault forensic examination" means pro-
cedures performed by a physician or a Qualified Registered
Nurse to collect from the body of the victim, evidence of the
scxual assault. This may include vaginal swabbing, vaginal
wash, taking of blood samples, pubic combing, and any other

when used in this Chapter,
unless the context clearly in-

To be considered qual-
assault examination and

Official Application for Sexual Assault Examination Payment [REVOKED)

procedures requested by the investigating law enforcement
agency to obtain evidence of the crime of sexual assault.

[Source: Amended at 9 Ok Reg 3301, eff 8-15-92; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2649, eff 7-25-02, Amended at 22 Ok Reg 1069, eff 5-26-05]

185:15-1-3. Application by victim

(a) In order to be cligible for payment by the fund for ex-
penses of a sexual assault forensic cxamination, the victim of
the crime must sign, prior to the examination, the portion of'
the Official Sexual Assault Examination Application provided
by the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Board, If the
victim is under the age of 18, or under the supervision of a legal
guardian, the parent or guardian of the victim must sign the
application form.,

(b) The victim's application must be accompanied by a
copy of an itemized statement from the medical facility where
the examination was conducted and/or from the Physician or
Qualified Registered Nurse, if applicable.

(¢)  Should medications be prescribed by the medical au-
thority conducting the sexual assault cxamination, a receipt
will be required prior to reimbursement of said medication.
Medication fees may be included in the hospital bill, providing
the medication was dispensed at the hospital.

[Source: Amended at 9 Ok Reg 3301, eff 8-15-92;

Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2649, ¢ff 7-25-02; Amended at 220k Reg 1069, eff 5.

26-05)

185:15-1-4. Duties of the physician or qualified
registered nurse

(a)  The physician or qualified registered nurse who conducts
the forensic examination of the victim must complete and
sign the portion of the Official Application for Sexual Assault
Examination Payment designated ". Examining Physician or
Qualified Registered Nurse."

(b)  The physician or qualified registered nurse is responsi-
ble for collecting the evidence in a professional manner and
preserving the cvidence for shipment 10 a law enforcement
forensic laboratory in the manner designated by the law cn-
forcement officer in charge of investigating the sexual assault
of the victim.

[Source: Amended at 9 Ok Reg 3301, cff 8-15.97. Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2649 eff 7-25-02; Amended at 22 0k Reg 1069, ¢ff'5-26-05)
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185:15-1-5. Duties of the District Attorney

[REVOKED]

(Source: Amended at 9 Ok Reg 3301, eff 8-15-92; Amended at 19 Ok Reg
2649, eff 7-25-02; Amended at 22 Ok Reg 1069, eft 5-26-05; Revoked at 25
Ok Reg 1904, eff 6-26-08]

185:15-1-6. Insurance

(a) The payment of a sexual assault examination will be
made, regardless of whether the victim is medically insured.
(b) In order to provide anonymity to the sexual assault vic-
tim and maintain confidentiality, any victim who has obtained
a forensic sexual assault examination, will not be required to
provide information to the Board relative to employment or
insurance; and, shall not be required to file a claim with any
private insurance company for the payment of a forensic sexual
assault examination.

(c) If the victim or claimant chooses to file an insurance
claim for the sexual assault examination, reimbursement
should be made to the Sexual Assault Examination Fund upon
payment from the insurance company.

(d) For sexual assault exams performed on adults and
children, Medicaid or any other federally funded program is
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considered a collateral source and payment will not be made
unless the denial of benefits is provided.

{Source: Amended at 9 Ok Reg 3301, eff 8-15-92; Amended at 22 Ok Reg
1069, etf 5-26-05; Amended at 25 Ok Reg 1904, e1f 6-26-08)

185:15-1-7. Limitation of payment by the fund

(a) I[nall cases, the maximum payment by the fund for any
one forensic sexual assault examination shall not exceed the
statutory maximum.

(b) Payments from the Fund shall be made directly to the
medical facility where the examination was performed.

(c)  Under no circumstances shall the Fund make any pay-
ment for the expenses of medical treatment of the victim, or for
any other expense other than the expense of the forensic sexual
assault examination, unless authorized by statute.

(d) Intheeventthere is a fee from the physician or a qualified
registered nurse, as well as a bill from the hospital, the statutory
maximum shall be prorated between both service providers if
both bills are submitted at the same time.

{Source: Amended at 9 Ok Reg 3301, eff 8-15-92; Amended at 22 Ok Reg
1069, eff 5-26-05)



