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OR YOUR LOCAL DISTRICT ATTORNEY’S OFFICE

WHAT Expenses qualify for
compensation?

OCVC may provide compensation for these 
UNREIMBURSED expenses related to the crime (please 
keep receipts):

• Medical, dental care and prescriptions
• Counseling and rehabilitation for the victim
• Grief counseling for families of homicide victims
• Traditional healing
• Work loss and replacement of services the victim

would have performed if not for the injury
• Loss of support for dependents of a deceased victim,

and replacement of services the victim would have
performed if not for crime

• Crime scene cleanup
• Funeral and burial expenses
• Mileage reimbursement for medical, dental, and

counseling appointments for the victim

WOULD You like to
receive electronic information about 
the custody status of an offender?

OK VINE Services may be right for you.
Victim Information and Notification Everyday 
(VINE) 1-877-OK4-VINE or vinelink.com

This electronic notification custody status service 
is used to track offenders who are incarcerated in 
Oklahoma county jails and within the Department of 
Corrections.



HOW Do you file a claim?
To file a claim with OCVC contact the District Attorney’s 
Office in the county where the crime took place or call 
the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Program 
at 1-800-745-6098 or download a claim form at www.
ok.gov/dac/

More
• 	 Property losses and pain and suffering are NOT  
	 covered.
• 	 An attorney is NOT needed to file a claim.
• 	 The person who committed the crime does NOT  
	 have to be arrested or convicted to receive help  
	 from the program.
• 	 The maximum award may not exceed $20,000.   
	 This may be extended to $40,000 if there is  
	 excessive loss of wages due to serious injury or  
	 death of the victim.   
•	 There are maximum limits for certain expense  
	 categories. Limits are explained in the claim form  
	 instructions.

WHERE Does the money 
come from?

NO TAX PAYER dollars are used to fund the 
OCVC program. Funds for victims’ compensation 
come from those who commit crimes. Penalty 
assessments are paid by people who plead guilty 
or are found guilty of crimes in District and 
Federal Court. There does not have to be an arrest 
or conviction to receive victims’ compensation 
assistance.

 
	

WHEN Should a claim be filed 
and other eligibility requirements…

• 	 A claim should be filed with OCVC within one year  
	 of the injury or death of the victim.
• 	 The crime should be reported to law enforcement  
	 within 72 hours.
• 	 If the victim’s actions contributed to the injury or  
	 death, benefits may be reduced or declined.
• 	 All other sources of payment, such as medical  
	 insurance, should be used before OCVC can assist.

Reporting and filing 
deadlines may be 
waived or extended 
if the OCVC Board 
finds there is good 
cause for the delay, 
or if the victim 
was a minor or 
incapacitated adult.

WHO 
Benefits 
from Victims’ 
Compensation? 
Possibly you! 
Oklahoma Crime 
Victims Compensation 
(OCVC) may be 
available if you or 
someone you love 
suffered physical or 
psychological injury 
due to a violent 
crime that occurs 
ANYWHERE in the 
State of Oklahoma.


