
CHAPTER 1.  ADMINISTRATIVE OPERATIONS
 
 
185:1-1-1.  Purpose 
   The rules of this Chapter have been adopted for the purpose of complying with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, 75 O.S. 250 et seq.  This Chapter was adopted in order for crime victims 
to be aware of their rights when filing a claim with the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Board, 
hereinafter referred to as the Board. 
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185:1-1-2.  Official office 
   The official office of the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Board is located in the offices of the 
Oklahoma District Attorneys Council. 
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185:1-1-3.  Membership and officers of the Board 
   The Board shall consist of three (3) members who shall be appointed by the Governor with the advice 
and consent of the Senate.  The first members appointed were appointed for terms of two (2), three (3) 
and four (4) years, while members appointed thereafter were and will be appointed to four-year (4-year) 
terms and until the successor is appointed and qualified.  At least one member of the Board shall be 
licensed to practice law in Oklahoma.  The Chairperson of the Board shall be elected by the Board as a 
whole on an annual basis.  The new Chairperson's responsibilities shall begin October 1 of each year.  
Members of the Board shall receive such compensation, subsistence allowances, mileage and expenses 
as provided by the State Travel Reimbursement Act. 
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185:1-1-4.  Powers and duties of the Board and Administrator 
 The Board or administrator shall have the duty to award compensation for economic loss arising from 
criminally injurious conduct if satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence that the requirements for 
compensation have been met.  The Administrator of the Crime Victim Compensation Board may 
determine initial victims’ claims and any victim’s claim under two thousand five hundred dollars 
($2500.00).  The Board may delegate any other victims’ claim to the administration of the Crime Victims 
Compensation Board at their discretion.  The claimant shall have the right to appeal to the Board for any 
claim in dispute. The Board shall have the power: 

 (1)  To hear and determine all matters relating to claims for compensation of two thousand five 
hundred dollars ($2500.00 )or more and may hear claims under two thousand five hundred dollars 
($2500.00).  The Board or administrator shall be able to reinvestigate or re-open claims without 
regard to statutes of limitation.  However, claims that have been inactive for a period of more than 
three (3) years from the date of the last action by the Board or administrator shall be deemed closed 
and any further action forever barred.  Claim files may be destroyed after nine (9) months, following 
the last Board or administrative action, provided, the claimant has not notified the Board staff of any 
intentions to request reconsideration of the claim. 
 (2)  To subpoena witnesses, compel their attendance, require the production of records and other 
evidence, administer oaths or affirmations, conduct hearings and receive relevant evidence.  

   (3)  To regulate its own procedures except as otherwise provided in the Act. 
    (4)  To adopt rules and regulations to implement the provisions of the Act. 
    (5)  To define any term not defined in the Act. 
    (6)  To prescribe forms necessary to carry out the purposes of the Act. 

(7)  To have access to any reports of investigations or other data necessary to assist the 
Board or administrator in making a determination of eligibility for compensation. 

    (8)  To publicize the availability of compensation and information regarding the filing of claims. 
(9)  For good cause shown, to order the claimant to submit to a mental or   physical examination or 
order the autopsy of a deceased victim if the results would be material to a claim.  The order shall 
specify the time, place, manner, conditions and scope of the examination or autopsy and the person 
by whom it is to be made.  The order shall also require the person to file with the Board a detailed 
written report of the examination or autopsy.  The report shall set out the findings of the person 
making the report including results of all tests made, diagnoses, prognoses and other conclusions 
and reports of earlier examinations of the same conditions. 
(10) (9) To order the claimant to supply any additional medical or psychological reports available 
relating to the injury or death for which compensation is claimed.   
(11) (10) To deny, withdraw or reduce an award of compensation upon finding that the claimant did 
not fully cooperate with the appropriate law enforcement agencies. 

    (12)(11)To reconsider a decision granting or denying a compensation award, based on its own 
motion or on request of the claimant, providing such motion is not made after three years from the 
last action by the Board on a claim. 
(13) (12) To suspend continue the application claims for compensation proceedings pending 
disposition of a criminal prosecution that has been commenced or is imminent, but the Board may 
make a tentative award. 
(14) (13) To join in civil action as a party plaintiff to recover the compensation awarded if the claimant 
brings such action. 
(15) (14) And the duty to prepare and transmit an annual report to the Governor, the Speaker of the 
House and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. 
(16) (15) To determine whether costs of services rendered are reasonable. 
(17) (16) The Board and administrator shall also have such other powers and duties as provided by  
Statute. 
(18) (17) To take judicial notice of general, technical, and scientific facts. within their specialized 
knowledge.  
(19) (18) In certain cases wherein mental health expenses are being claimed, the bBoard and or 
Administrator may request assistance from a panel of professionals in the mental health field.  The 
panel of professionals may only act in an advisory capacity to the Board. 
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(20) (19)  The Board or administrator shall have the authority to set limits of compensation on any 
medical or mental health treatment, and require that providers of medical or mental health treatments 
be licensed prior to compensating for said treatment. 
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185:1-1-5.  Meetings of the Board 
(a) The Board shall meet in compliance with the Open Meeting Act. 
(b) The Chairperson shall serve as presiding officer at all official meetings of the Board.  In the absence 
of the Chairperson, the remaining Board members   present at the meeting may designate a presiding 
officer for that meeting. 
(c) The Chairperson shall have the authority to vote on all matters coming before the Board. 
(d) A quorum shall consist of two (2) members. 
(e) In the event of a tie vote when only two members of the Board are conducting business, the matter or 
matters shall be continued to the next meeting. 
(f) The order of business at any meeting of the Board shall follow the agenda prepared in advance of the 
meeting.  Such other matters may be brought before the Board as shall be requested by any member in 
writing and presented to the Chairperson. 
(g) Proxies to vote shall not be permitted at the Board meetings. 
(h) The Administrator of the Board shall keep the Board apprised of all  relevant matters and shall seek its 
advice as deemed necessary. 
(i) Roberts Rules of Order, Revised, shall govern all meetings of the Board. 
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185:1-1-6.  Board staff 
 The Board shall be provided such office, support, staff and secretarial services as necessary by the 
District Attorneys Council. 
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185:1-1-7.  Amendment to rules and regulations 
   Any modification or amendment to the Rules and Regulations of the Board shall be made pursuant to 
the procedure as outlined in the Oklahoma Administrative Procedures Act. 
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185:1-1-8.  Opportunity to appear before the Board 
(a) Pursuant to Title 21 O.S. 1981 Supp. Secs. 142.1 through 142.18 of the Oklahoma Statutes, any 
claimant may be represented by licensed counsel, or may represent him/herself before the Board, for any 
claim of $2500.00 or more, under the following circumstances: 
    (1)  at the discretion of the claimant to provide support for a claim 
   filed with the Board for compensation; or, 
    (2)  at the request of the Board to provide testimony relative to a claim filed for compensation. 
(b) A claimant and/or counsel shall have the opportunity to appear before the Board and shall be so 
notified no less than fourteen (14) days in advance of the Board meeting in which his/her claim is to be 
considered.  If the claimant and/or counsel wish to appear before the Board to support the claim, the 
following procedure will be utilized by the claimant: 
    (1)  Complete the Invitation to Appear form (Appendix A) which notifies the claimant of the date, time 

and place of the meeting in which the Board will consider his/her claim. 
   (2)  Mail the complete Invitation to Appear form at least three (3) days prior to the scheduled meeting, 

to the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Board.  If subpoenas are requested, the claimant 
should follow procedures set forth in 185:1-1-13. 

   (3)  If the Board has not received the completed Invitation to Appear 
    form at least three (3) days prior to the scheduled meeting, it shall be  assumed that the 

claimant or     counsel does not wish to and will not appear before the Board to provide support for 
his/her claim. 

    (4)  It is not mandatory that a claimant or counsel appear before the Board 
    in order for a claim to be considered unless specifically so ordered by the 
    Board. 
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185:1-1-9.  Order to appear before the Board 
(a) If the Board wishes to have any person appear personally before it, and/or furnish records or other 
evidence, the Board will comply with the following procedure: 

(1)  Execute a subpoena (Appendix B or C) signed by the Chairperson or Administrator, stating date, 
time and place of the Board meeting and requested records wherein consideration will be given to the 
claim filed by the claimant. 
(2)  Mail the subpoena by certified mail, return receipt requested, ten (10) days in advance of meeting 
wherein attendance is required or obtain personal service of the subpoena within five (5) days. 
(3)  Should the person under subpoena be unable to comply with the terms of the subpoena, it shall 
be the responsibility of that person to so notify the Administrator either by mail or phone at least three 
(3) days prior to said meeting of the reason of inability to attend or produce records. 
(4)  It shall then be the responsibility of the Board to either: 

      (A)  continue consideration of the claim to the next regularly scheduled 
      meeting or, 
      (B)  to consider the claim without the appearance of the person or records 
      subpoenaed. 
(b) In certain cases, the failure of a claimant to appear before the Board when 
subpoenaed, may be considered failure to cooperate in the claim investigation and 
the claim may be denied, withdrawn, or reduced accordingly by the Board.  
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185:1-1-10.  Appearance relative to an appeal 
   If a claimant and/or counsel wish to personally appear before the Board with regard to an appeal of a 
claim that has been reduced or denied, the claimant must comply with the following procedure: 

(1)  Follow explicitly the appeals procedure as written in 185:10-1-10. 
(2)  Once the meeting date is set in a contested case (appeal) and the claimant so notified, the 
claimant shall have the responsibility of notifying the Administrator in writing at least five (5) days prior 
to the scheduled meeting if unable to attend and the reason.   
(3)  If a claimant and/or counsel wish to attend and are unable to do so, the hearing will be 
rescheduled for another meeting of the Board. 
(4)  When consideration of a claim has been rescheduled and the claimant and/or counsel is unable 
to attend such rescheduled meeting, the Board may consider the appeal on the records and any 
other additional evidence available. 
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185:1-1-11.  Recording, transcribing and transcripts 
   Under all circumstances, the Board proceedings will be recorded.  If any person requires a transcription 
of the proceedings, they shall comply with the following procedures: 

(1)  Notify the Administrator, in writing, within thirty (30) calendar days after the hearing for which 
transcription is requested. 
 (2)  In the case of an appeal, state in the letter of appeal to the Board that a record or transcript is 
requested.  The number of transcripts requested and to whom they should be mailed should also be 
stated. 
 (3) The responsibility for payment for transcribing and transcript copies is that of the requesting 
individual unless otherwise so ordered by the Board. 
 (4) The cost for such transcribing and transcript copies shall be determined by the Board. 
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185:1-1-12.  Testimony of witness 
   If the claimant wishes to present testimony of others in support of his/her claim, the claimant shall 
comply with the following procedure: 

(1)  Complete appropriate information on Invitation to Appear form including names and addresses of 
witnesses, telephone numbers, and nature of testimony. 
(2)  In an appeal of a Board decision, the witnesses' names, addresses, telephone numbers and 
nature of testimony must be included in the letter from the claimant stating his/her desire to appeal. 
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185:1-1-13.  Subpoena of witnesses and/or records and documents 
If the claimant wishes to have the Board issue subpoenas on his/her behalf either at the time of the 
initial Board consideration of the claim or at the time of appeal, the claimant shall: 
(1)  Indicate on the Invitation to Appear form that you wish to have witnesses subpoenaed on your 
behalf. 
(2)  In an appeal, the claimant must state whether he/she wishes the Board to subpoena any 
witnesses.  In order to preserve the Victims Compensation Revolving Fund for its intended use, the 
Board will not be responsible for paying witness fees or travel expenses. 
(3)  If the claimant requests subpoenas be issued to witnesses, it will be the responsibility of the 
requesting party to deliver the subpoenas.  If witnesses are unable to appear, it shall be the decision 
of the claimant as to whether or not the claim is considered as scheduled, or passed to the next 
regular meeting. 
(4)  In order to allow sufficient time for the Board to issue subpoenas and for service to be obtained 
on the witness, the claimant must deliver the completed request for a subpoena to the Board office no 
later than seven (7) working days prior to the hearing or appeal. 
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185:1-1-14.  Initial Board consideration 
 Any Board member may question the claimant and claimant's witnesses at any time during the 
hearing.  The Board may also limit the time for witnesses testimony and or discussion.  The procedure for 
claim consideration and Board decision will be as follows: 

(1)  Chairperson announces the claim to be considered. 
    (2)  The Administrative Staff or Victim-Witness Coordinator answers any questions the Board may 

have relative to the facts of the case.  
(3)  Claimant and/or counsel presents testimony (if present). 
(4)  Board questions claimant and/or counsel. 
(5)  Claimant and/or counsel presents witnesses (if present). 
(6)  Board questions witnesses. 
(7)  The Board goes into executive session, as necessary, for discussion of confidential information. 
(7)  (8) Board renders decision. 
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185:1-1-15.  Claims review and appellant procedures 
   Claims review and appellant procedures, including time constraints, can be found in 185:10-1-8 and 
185:10-1-10. 
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185:1-1-16.  Filing of support statements 
   If a claimant wishes to file a written statement regarding a claim, which was not attached to the claim 
submitted to the Board, the claimant's name and claim number shall be written at the top, right hand 
corner of each page and submitted to the Administrator at least five (5) ten (10) days prior to the Board 
meeting wherein the claim is to be considered. 
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185:1-1-17.  Claimant notification of Board decision 
   Claimants will be mailed a decision and order within fifteen (15) twenty (20) calendar days of the 
meeting wherein the decision is rendered. 
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CHAPTER 10. CRIME VICTIMS COMPENSATION PROGRAM 
 
185:10-1-1.  Purpose 
   The rules of this Chapter have been adopted for the purpose of complying with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, 75 O.S. 250 et seq.  The purpose of the Board shall be to hear and 
decide all matters relating to the Crime Victims Compensation claims.  The Board or administrator shall 
award compensation to victims of crime for economic loss arising from criminally injurious conduct if 
satisfied by a preponderance of the evidence that the requirements for compensation have been met. 
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185:10-1-2.  Title of the Act 
   The title of the Act under which the rules of this Chapter are being promulgated is known as the 
Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Act, hereinafter referred to as the Act.  It is codified in the 
Oklahoma Statutes as Title 21 O.S. 142.1 et seq. as amended. 
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185:10-1-3.  Definitions 
   The following words and terms, when used in this Chapter, shall have the following meaning, unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 
   "Allowable expenses" means:  

(A)   charges incurred for needed products, services and accommodations, including, but not limited 
to, medical care, wage loss, rehabilitation, rehabilitative occupational training, and other remedial 
treatment and care.  
(B)  any reasonable expenses related to funeral, cremation or burial, up to the statutory limit. 

 (C) reasonable costs for counseling family members of a homicide victim, and 
(D) reasonable costs associated with homicide crime scene clean up. 

   "Board" means the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Board, hereinafter referred to as the 
Board. 
   "Claimant" means any of the following persons applying for compensation under this act: 
       (A) a victim, 
       (B) a dependent of a victim who has died because of criminally injurious conduct, or 

 (C) a person authorized to act on behalf of any of the persons listed above.  The Board has the 
 discretion to require sufficient proof of authority to act on behalf of a victim. 

   "Collateral source" means a source of benefits or advantages for economic loss for which the 
claimant would otherwise be eligible to receive compensation under this Act which the claimant has 
received, or which is readily available to the claimant from the sources identified by statute. 
   "Criminally injurious conduct" means a misdemeanor or felony which occurs or is attempted in 
Oklahoma, or against a resident of this state in a state that does not have an eligible crime victims 
compensation program, as such term is defined in the Federal Victims of Crime Act of 1984, Public Law 
98-473;  that results in bodily injury,  threat of bodily injury or death to a victim. 

(A) “Criminally injurious conduct” results in personal injury or death to a victim which is: 
 (i)  punishable by fine, imprisonment or death, or 

(ii) if the act is committed by a child, could result in such child being adjudicated a delinquent 
child. 

(B) Pursuant to 21 O.S. 142.11, an award may be made whether or not any person is prosecuted or 
convicted as an adult offender or adjudicated a delinquent child.  Proof of conviction of a person 
whose acts give rise to a claim or a copy of the adjudication order for a delinquent child whose acts 
give rise to a claim is conclusive evidence that the crime was committed.  The Board or administrator 
may continue a claim pending disposition of a criminal prosecution or delinquent child adjudication 
that has been commenced or is imminent, but may make a tentative award. 
(C) The term "criminally injurious conduct" shall not include acts arising out of the negligent 
maintenance or use of a motor vehicle unless the vehicle was: 
        (i) operated or driven by the offender while under the influence of alcohol, with a blood alcohol 

level in excess of the legal limit, or any other intoxicating substance or,  
(ii) operated or driven by the offender with the intent to injure or kill the victim or, 
(iii) in a manner imminently dangerous to another person and evincing a depraved mind, 
although without any premeditated design to injure or effect the death of any particular person. 
(iv)  or the offense involved willful, malicious or felonious failure to stop after being involved in a 
personal injury accident to avoid detection or prosecution, provided the victim of the accident 
was a pedestrian or was operating a vehicle moved solely by human power or a mobility device 
at the time of contact.  

(D)  The term “criminally injurious conduct” shall include an act of terrorism, as defined in Section 
2331 of Title 18, United States Code, committed outside the United States. 

 
"Dependent" means a natural person wholly or partially dependent upon the victim for care or support, 
and includes a child of a victim born after the death of the victim where the death occurred as a result of 
criminally injurious conduct. 
   "Economic loss" means monetary detriment consisting only of allowable expense, work loss, 
replacement services loss and, if injury causes death, economic loss and replacement services loss of a 
dependent, but shall not include non economic loss. 
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   "Economic loss of a dependent" means loss after death of the victim of contributions of things of 
economic value to the dependent, not including services which would have been received from the victim 
if he or she had not suffered the fatal injury. 
   "Non-economic detriment" means pain, suffering, inconvenience, physical impairment and 
nonpecuniary damage. 
   "Replacement services loss" means expenses reasonably incurred in obtaining ordinary and 
necessary services in lieu of those the victim would have performed, not for income, but for the benefit of 
self or family, if the victim had not been injured or died. 
   "Replacement services loss of a dependent" means the loss reasonably incurred by dependents 
after death of the victim in obtaining ordinary and necessary services in lieu of those the deceased victim 
would have performed for their benefit had the deceased victim not suffered the fatal injury, less 
expenses of the dependent avoided by reason of death of the victim and not subtracted in calculating the 
economic loss of the dependent. 
   "Victim" means a person victimized within the State of Oklahoma who suffers personal injury or death 
as a result of criminally injurious conduct and shall include a resident of this state who is injured or killed 
by an act of terrorism committed outside the United States.  
   "Work loss" means loss of income from work the victim would have performed if such person had not 
been injured or died, reduced by any income from substitute work actually performed by the victim or by 
income the victim would have earned in available appropriate substitute work that he or she was capable 
of performing but unreasonably failed to undertake, or loss of income from work the victim’s caregiver 
would have performed if the injuries of the victim sustained as a result of criminally injurious conduct had 
not created the need for the caregiver to miss work to care for the injured victim. 
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185:10-1-4.  Eligibility criteria for compensation 
(a)  The criminally injurious conduct leading to the filing of the compensation claim must have occurred in 
Oklahoma.  Beginning November 1, 1989, residents of Oklahoma who are victimized in states without 
eligible crime victims compensation programs, as such term is defined in the federal Victims of Crime Act 
of 1984, Public Law 98-473, will be eligible claimants under the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation 
Act.    Proof of conviction of the person causing the criminally injurious injury to the victim is conclusive 
evidence that the crime was committed. 
(b)  The incident must have occurred on or after October 19, 1981. 
(c)  The incident must have been reported to law enforcement officials within   72 hours or would have 
been reported within the period of time except for good  cause shown.  In claims wherein the victim is 
under the age of eighteen (18), the crime resulting in the claim must have been reported to authorities 
within seventy-two (72) hours after disclosure to a responsible adult except for good cause shown.  This 
shall also apply to persons who are diagnosed as mentally handicapped. 
(d)  The claim for compensation must be filed in the Oklahoma City office within one (1) year of the 
incident date or death of the victim.  The Board may, at its discretion, waive this requirement, if the Board 
finds there was good cause for failure to file the claim within one (1) year, but in no event shall the filing of 
a claim be permitted after two (2) years from the date of injury or death upon which the claim is based.  
The good cause exception shall be permitted only for injury or death occurring on or after November 1, 
1989.  If the victim is mentally handicapped, or is a child under eighteen (18) years of age, the Board may 
use the date the criminal incident was disclosed to a responsible adult when establishing whether or not 
the claim was timely filed. 
(e)  The victim must have suffered personal physical or psychological injury or death as a result of the 
criminal action of another. 
(f)  The claimant and/or victim must have cooperated with law enforcement officials, the District Attorneys 
office, and the Crime Victims Compensation Board during entire investigation.  In the event the Board or 
administrator  finds the claimant and/or victim was not cooperative, a claim may be denied, withdrawn, or 
reduced. 
(g)  The net amount of compensation requested in the claim must not have been paid by a collateral 
source, however, the Board or administrator shall not require any claimant to seek or accept any 
collateral source contribution, unless the claimant was receiving such benefits prior to the occurrence 
giving rise to the claim under the provisions of the Act. 
(h)  The claimant and/or victim was not the offender or an accomplice of the offender, and, the 
compensation award shall not be used to benefit the offender or accomplice.  Number one through five 
four below were developed in accordance with Section 7129 of the Victims of Crime Act. 

(1)  In determining whether a compensation award can be made without unjustly enriching an 
offender, the Board or administrator shall evaluate whether the victim has reported the crime and is 
cooperating with the criminal justice system in the investigation and prosecution of the crime, and 
whether the victim will do what is possible to prevent access by the offender to compensation paid to 
the victim.  If the victim is cooperating fully, and if the offender will not benefit from or have access to 
a substantial portion of any cash award made by the Board to the victim, then the award shall not be 
declined on the basis that the award would benefit the offender. 
(2)  A determination that the award would benefit the offender shall not be based solely on the 
presence of the offender in the household at the time of the award.  The presence of the offender in 
the household is only one factor to be considered in determining that he/she would benefit from the 
award; a determination of whether the offender will benefit from an award shall be made in each 
case, based on the totality of the circumstances. 
(3)  In determining whether an award would benefit the offender, the Board must weigh whether the 
benefit to the offender is substantial or in-consequential.  Factors to be considered include the 
amount of the award and whether a substantial portion of the compensation award will be used 
directly by or on behalf of the offender.  If the offender has direct access to a cash award and/or if a 
substantial portion of it will be used to pay for his/her living expenses, that portion of the award that 
will substantially benefit the offender may be reduced or denied.  When enrichment is inconsequential 
or minimal, the award may not be reduced or denied. 
(4)  Collateral resources available to the victim from the offender shall be examined.  Collateral 
resources may include court-ordered restitution, an offending spouse's medical insurance, or other 
resources of the offender available to cover the victim's expenses.  In evaluating the availability of 
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collateral resources, a determination shall be made first as to whether the offender has a legal 
responsibility to pay; second, whether the offender has resources to pay; and third, whether payment 
is likely.  The victim shall not be penalized for the failure of an offender to meet legal obligations to 
pay for the costs of the victim's recovery.  If the offender fails to meet legal responsibilities to pay 
restitution or provide for the medical and support needs of a spouse or child, or if the offender 
impedes payment of insurance that may be available to cover a spouse's or child's expenses, the 
Board will attempt to meet the victim's needs to the extent allowed, and may pursue whatever actions 
are appropriate to seek reimbursement from the offender.  The Board is subrogated to any restitution 
the offender may owe the victim if an award is made. 

(i)  The claim must not have been the result of negligent maintenance or use of a motor vehicle by the 
offender, unless the vehicle was operated or driven by the offender while under the influence of alcohol or 
any other intoxicating substance or, unless the vehicle was operated or driven by the offender with the 
intent to injure or kill the victim or in a manner imminently dangerous to another person and evincing a 
depraved mind, although without any premeditated design to injure or effect the death of any particular 
person or the offense involved willful, malicious or felonious failure to stop after being involved in a 
personal injury accident to avoid detection or prosecution, provided the victim of the accident was a 
pedestrian or was operating a vehicle moved solely by human power or a mobility device at the time of 
contact.  
(j) Compensation may be diminished or denied to the extent or degree of responsibility for the cause of 
the injury or death attributable to the victim, as determined by the Board or administrator.  Compensation 
may also be diminished or denied if the Board or administrator finds that the victim was legally intoxicated 
or under the influence of a controlled dangerous substance (CDS), and the victim's intoxicated state 
contributed to his/her injury or death.  Any person over the age of 18, injured while voluntarily riding with a 
legally intoxicated driver or someone under the influence of a CDS, may be found to have contributed to 
his/her injury or death, provided there is evidence that the victim knew of the drivers intoxicated state 
prior to the injury. 
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185:10-1-5.  Types of compensation available 
     Compensation is available for economic loss sustained by a victim or dependent arising from 
criminally injurious conduct of another.  Economic loss would include:  Allowable expenses (i.e. medical, 
psychiatric, dental, optical, rehabilitation; work loss, caregiver work loss, replacement services loss; and, 
if injury causes death, expenses related to burial or cremation, homicide crime scene clean up, economic 
loss and replacement services loss of a dependent.  Future economic loss is also compensable but may 
be reduced or discontinued if recipients circumstances change.  Compensation is limited to the amounts 
set forth by Statute. 
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185:10-1-6.  Maximum compensation amounts and methods of payment 
(a)  Compensation payable to a victim or claimant sustaining economic loss due to injury or death may 
not exceed the statutory limit. 
(b)  Compensation for work loss, replacement services loss, dependents economic loss and dependents 
replacement services loss may not exceed the statutory limit. 
(c)  The Board or administrator may provide for the payment to a claimant in a lump sum or in    
installments. 
(d) Upon request of the claimant, the Board or administrator may convert future economic loss, other than 
allowable expense, to a lump sum, but only upon a finding by the Board, or administrator that the award 
in a lump sum will promote the interest of the claimant. 
(e) An award payable in installments for future economic loss may be made only for a period that the 
Board can reasonably determine future economic loss and may be modified by the Board provided there 
is a finding that a significant change in circumstances has occurred. 
(f) The Board may review claims in the order in which they appear on the docket.  Claim payments will be 
made in the same manner.  Once the Crime Victims Compensation Fund has been depleted, all 
remaining claims on the docket may be continued and placed on the next docket when funds become 
available. 
(g)  Chiropractic care is compensable at a rate of no more than what is allowed by the rules of the State 
Insurance Board. 
(h) (g)  Mental health treatment for the victim is a compensable loss.  The Board may, at any time, refer a 
claim to the Mental Health Review Panel for review and advice regarding length and relevance of 
treatment being provided, and whether the treatment was as a direct result of the crime.  The Mental 
Health Review Panel shall consists of two psychologists, one psychiatrist, one licensed professional 
counselor and one licensed social worker.   Panel members agree to provide this service to the Board at 
no cost.  Panel members may create documents to assist them in their review of the claims with the 
guidance and support of the Victims Compensation division staff.  After the Mental Health Review Panel 
reports their findings, the claim will be set on a future Board docket for review and decision. 
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185:10-1-7.  Garnishment and assignment of award 
(a)  An award shall not be subject to execution, attachment, garnishment or other process, except for 
child support and further, except that an award for allowable expense shall not be exempt from a claim of 
a creditor to the extent such creditor has provided products, services or accommodations, the costs of 
which are included in the award. 
(b)  An assignment by the claimant to any future award is unenforceable, except: 

(1)  For work loss to assure payment of court-ordered alimony, maintenance or child support; or 
(2)  For allowable expense to the extent that the benefits are for the cost of products, services or 
accommodations necessitated by the injury or death. 
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185:10-1-8.  Application review procedure 
(a)  A victim, dependent of a victim, or person legally acting on behalf of the victim, must first secure a 
copy of the Official Victims Compensation Claim Form. from their local District Attorney's office or from 
the Crime Victims Compensation Board office in Oklahoma City.  In the event assistance is needed by 
the claimant in completing the form, such assistance will be provided by the victim-witness coordinator, or 
by the staff located at the District Attorneys Council in Oklahoma City. 
(b)  A claim form must be completed, signed and received by at the Board District Attorneys Council 
within one (1) year of the incident date or death of the victim.  If the Board or administrator finds good 
cause for failure to file the claim within one (1) year, the filing period may be extended up to, but not 
exceeding, two (2) years, beginning with incidents occurring on or after November 1, 1989. 
(c)  The victims compensation staff shall log the claim form as being received and forward it to the victim-
witness coordinator in the district where the crime occurred.  Upon completion, the claim shall be returned 
to the Oklahoma City office for processing. 
(d)  The Board, victim-witness coordinators, and staff have the authority to conduct investigations and/or 
request any additional information from the victim and/or claimant, the investigating law enforcement 
agency, medical personnel and/or facilities, witnesses, employers and others as may be deemed 
necessary for the proper review and verification of the claim. 
(e)  The staff shall make a thorough analysis of the claim once it is completed and received from the 
victim-witness coordinator.  The staff/ Victim Witness Coordinator will then prepare the claim summary 
and submit it to the Board no less than ten (10) days in advance of the Board meeting wherein the claim 
is to be considered.  
(f)  Once the claim has been cleared reviewed (staff review and summary completed), the claim will be 
placed on the next appropriate Board or administrative docket for consideration. A claim must be cleared 
reviewed at least fifteen (15) calendar days prior to a Board meeting for consideration at that meeting. 
Those claims not cleared reviewed fifteen (15) calendar days prior to a regular meeting shall be 
considered at the next scheduled Board meeting.  New claims will be reviewed by the staff in the order in 
which the completed claims are received in the Oklahoma City office. 
(g)  Agendas and supporting material shall be mailed to the Board no less than ten (10) calendar days in 
advance of the Board meeting. 
(h)  Notification of Board meetings shall be filed with the Secretary of State in accordance with the Open 
Meeting Law.  Copies of the meeting agendas giving date, location and time of meetings shall be posted 
in conspicuous places on    the premises of the building wherein the Board meetings will be held and/or at 
offices of the Crime Victims Compensation Board.  Claimants whose compensation claims are to be 
considered by the Board will be mailed notification of the meeting no less than fourteen (14) calendar 
days in advance and will have the opportunity to appear and be heard, and to offer evidence and 
argument on any issue relevant to the claim.  Claimants may also examine witnesses and offer evidence 
in reply to any matter of an evidentiary nature in the record relevant to the claim 
 (i)  Once a decision is made by the Board, the claimant shall be mailed notification of the decision within 
twenty (20) days.  On claims which are declined, the decision and order of the Board shall be sent 
certified mail. 
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185:10-1-9.  Advance (emergency) award of compensation 
   In the event a claimant requests advance claim consideration or requests an emergency award, the 
Administrator shall review said request and determine, based on the evidence of hardship so written and 
described, whether or not the claim shall be expedited and placed on the next Board docket.  If the claim 
is expedited, the Board may review the claim for an emergency award, provided that elements of 
eligibility appear met, and out-of-pocket loss is verified.  The decision of the Administrator as to whether 
or not a claim is expedited for Board review is not appealable.  Notice requirements may be waived with 
written consent of the claimant. 
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185:10-1-10.  Appeals procedure 
(a)  In the event a claim for compensation is denied, the Crime Victims Compensation Board staff shall 
notify the claimant by certified mail, return receipt requested within twenty (20) days.   
(b)  The claimant shall have the right to appeal and may do so by notifying the Crime Victims 
Compensation Board Administrator, in writing, by certified mail, return receipt requested, of the intent to 
appeal within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of the notification letter setting forth the Board's or 
administrative decision. 
(c)  If the claimant is not satisfied with the Board's decision, he/she shall then be entitled to a hearing 
before the Board.  The hearing shall be held within one hundred twenty (120) calendar days of the date of 
the notice from the claimant stating intent to appeal. 
(d)  In an appeals hearing, all parties shall be afforded an opportunity to appear and be heard.  A record 
of the proceedings shall be made and shall be transcribed upon request of any party who shall pay 
transcription costs unless otherwise ordered by the Board.  Also, a copy of the documentation provided to 
the Board for use in deciding the claim shall be copied and mailed to the claimant ten (10) calendar days 
in advance of the meeting.  Transcription  requests must be made within sixty (60) days of proceeding. 
(e)  The Board may, without a hearing, settle a claim by stipulation, agreed settlement, consent order or 
default. 
(f)  The Board shall render its decision in writing, relative to the appeal within ten (10) twenty (20) 
calendar days of the hearing.  and the applicant will be notified by mail. 
(g)  In the event the claimant remains dissatisfied with the decision of the Board subsequent to the 
appeals hearing, the claimant may file a petition with the District Court of Oklahoma County or in the 
county wherein the claimant currently resides.   
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185:10-1-11.  Subrogation rights of the Board 
   Upon an award of compensation by the Board or administrator for personal injury or death, the Board shall be 
subrogated to the rights of the claimant to the extent of the award. 
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185:10-1-12.  Penalty for false claims 
The filing of a false claim for compensation pursuant to the Oklahoma Crime Victims Compensation Act 
shall constitute a misdemeanor, and shall be punishable by a fine not to exceed One Thousand Dollars 
($1,000.00) or by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not to exceed one (1) year, or by both such 
fine and imprisonment. 
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185:10-1-13.  Establishment of guardianship for minor children (Revoked) 
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185:10-1-14.  Life insurance as a collateral source 
 Life insurance is a collateral source as defined by O.S. 21, 142.3(4f). 
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185:10-1-15.  Prorating expenses 
   In the event the expenses submitted by the claimant exceed the maximum allowable award, the Board 
may or may not prorate an award evenly. 
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CHAPTER 15.  SEXUAL ASSAULT EXAMINATION FUND  
 
 
185:15-1-1.  Purpose 
   The purpose of the Sexual Assault Examination Fund is to provide the victim of sexual assault with a 
forensic medical examination for the procurement of evidence to aid in the investigation and prosecution 
of a sexual assault offense and to provide to the victim medications as directed by the medical authority 
conducting the examination.  Medications provided to the victim by the medical authority conducting the 
examination may only be provided to said victim on a one-time initial basis for the immediate trauma and 
medical examination of said victim.  In no event shall payment from the Sexual Assault Examination Fund 
exceed the statutory maximum.  The effective date of the Act authorizing the Sexual Assault Examination 
Fund was July 1,1981. 
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185:15-1-2.  Definitions 
 The following words and terms, when used in this Chapter, shall have the following meaning, unless 
the context clearly indicates otherwise. 
 "Fund" means the Sexual Assault Examination Fund as established in Title 21 of the Oklahoma 
Statutes, Sections 142.19 and 142.20. 
   "Qualified Registered Nurse"  To be considered qualified to perform a forensic sexual assault 
examination and receive payment through the Sexual Assault Examination Fund, Registered Nurses 
must be registered with the State Board of Nurse Registration and receive at least 20 40 hours of in-
service training in the field of forensic evidence collection and rape trauma. 
 "Sexual assault" means: 
       (A) rape or rape by instrumentation, as defined in Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes; or 
       (B) forcible oral sodomy, as defined in Title 21 of the Oklahoma Statutes. 
 "Sexual assault forensic examination" means procedures performed by a physician or a Qualified 
Registered Nurse to collect from the body of the victim, evidence of the sexual assault.  This may include 
vaginal swabbing, vaginal wash, taking of blood samples, pubic combing, and any other procedures 
requested by the investigating law enforcement agency to obtain evidence of the crime of sexual assault. 
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185:15-1-3.  Application by victim 
(a)  In order to be eligible for payment by the fund for expenses of a sexual assault forensic examination, 
the victim of the crime must sign, prior to the examination, the portion of the Official Application for Sexual 
Assault Examination Payment Appendix A of this Chapter Application provided by the Oklahoma Crime 
Victims Compensation Board.  If the victim is under the age of 18, or under the supervision of a legal 
guardian, the parent or guardian of the victim must also sign the application form. 
(b)  The victim is personally responsible for obtaining all required signatures on the application. 
(c)  (b) The victim's application must be accompanied by a copy of an itemized statement from the 
medical facility where the examination was conducted and/or from the Physician or Qualified Registered 
Nurse, if applicable. 
(d) (c) Should medications be prescribed by the medical authority conducting the sexual assault 
examination, a receipt will be required prior to reimbursement of said medication.  Medication fees may 
be included in the hospital bill, providing the medication was dispensed at the hospital. 
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185:15-1-4.  Duties of the physician or qualified registered nurse 
(a)  The physician or qualified registered nurse who conducts the forensic examination of the victim must 
complete and sign the portion of the Official Application for Sexual Assault Examination Payment (refer to 
Appendix A of this Chapter), designated "II.  Examining Physician or Qualified Registered Nurse." 
The physician or qualified registered nurse is responsible for collecting the evidence in a professional 
manner and preserving the evidence for shipment to a law enforcement forensic laboratory in the manner 
designated by the law enforcement officer in charge of investigating the sexual assault of the victim. 
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185:15-1-5.  Duties of the District Attorney 
(a)  The District Attorney, or authorized Assistant District Attorney, for the District where the sexual 
assault was committed must complete and sign that portion of the Official Application for Sexual Assault 
Examination Payment (refer to Appendix A of this Chapter), designated "III.  District Attorney." 
(b)  The District Attorney or authorized Assistant District Attorney, by his/her signature on the application, 
must affirm that: 
   (1)  the crime was committed within his/her jurisdiction; 
   (2)  the crime could be the basis of a legitimate criminal prosecution by the State of Oklahoma; and 
   (3)  the District Attorney, or authorized Assistant District Attorney, recommends that the Fund pay the 

expense of the forensic examination and/or medications incident to the sexual assault as deemed 
necessary by the medical authority conducting the examination, not to exceed the statutory 
maximum.  at the time the forensic exam was performed, there existed reason to believe that the 
individual was the victim of a sexual assault in his/her jurisdiction.   
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185:15-1-6.  Insurance 
(a)  The payment of a sexual assault examination will be made, regardless of whether the victim is 
medically insured, providing said examination is approved by the District Attorney or an authorized 
Assistant District Attorney in the jurisdiction where the sexual assault occurred. 
(b)  In order to provide anonymity to the sexual assault victim and maintain confidentiality, any victim who 
has obtained a forensic sexual assault examination, will not be required to provide information to the 
Board relative to employment or insurance; and, shall not be required to file a claim with any private 
insurance company for the payment of a forensic sexual assault examination. 
(c)  If the victim or claimant chooses to file an insurance claim for the sexual assault examination, 
reimbursement should be made to the Sexual Assault Examination Fund upon payment from the 
insurance company. 
(d)  For sexual assault exams performed on adults and children, Medicaid or any other federally funded 
program is considered a collateral source and payment will not be made unless the denial of benefits is 
provided.   
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185:15-1-7.  Limitation of payment by the fund 
(a)  In all cases, the maximum payment by the fund for any one forensic sexual assault examination shall 
not exceed the statutory maximum. 
(b)  Payments from the Fund shall be made directly to the medical facility where the examination was 
performed. 
(c)  Under no circumstances shall the Fund make any payment for the expenses of medical treatment of 
the victim, or for any other expense other than the expense of the forensic sexual assault examination, 
unless authorized by statute. 
(d)  In the event there is a fee from the physician or a qualified registered nurse, as well as a bill from the 
hospital, the statutory maximum shall be prorated between both service providers if both bills are 
submitted at the same time. 
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