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COSMETIC STUDIO LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION 

Keep This Document For Your Records! 
 

Cosmetic Studio License Applicants must meet these requirements and submit this documentation to the Board: 
 

• The Application for Cosmetic Studio License must be completed and notarized. 
 
• The Cosmetic Studio License Affidavit must be completed and notarized. 

 
• If the Applicant is NOT a corporation, he or she must complete the Affidavit Verifying Lawful Presence in 
the United States, unless the Applicant has already filed the Affidavit with this office. This form must be notarized.     
Except as provided above, ANY APPLICATION RECEIVED  WITHOUT THIS AFFIDAVIT WILL BE DENIED. 

 
• If the Applicant IS a corporation, a copy of the Articles of Incorporation must be enclosed with this Application. 
CORPORATE APPLICATIONS RECEIVED WITHOUT ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION WILL BE DENIED. 

 
• Applicants who are assuming operation of an existing cosmetic studio must submit a Shop 
  Clearance Form from the previous owner, so that the Board may update the previous owner’s records. 
  In the event that the previous owner cannot be reached, a copy of the applicant’s lease or property title 
  may be submitted instead. 
 
• Payment of $55 ($50 for initial license fee, $5 for an Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology 
  Rules and Statutes Book) must be enclosed with the application. Payment should be by either 
  cashier’s check or money order. Personal checks are not accepted and will be returned. 
 
• Applicants who do not hold a current license issued by this Board must submit a current (newer 
  than one year), 2” x 3” full face photograph. This rule does not apply to corporations. 

 
If the stated requirements are met, and the information provided in the affidavit is acceptable, the Board will issue a 
license. This license is subject to approval by a State Inspector, who will inspect the studio within thirty days after the 
license is issued. 
 
Under Oklahoma law, operating a cosmetic studio without a license is a misdemeanor. Applicants who, for any 
reason, have opened a salon without applying for a license are subject to a $10 penalty fee, and/or other legal 
recourse available to the Board of Cosmetology. 
 
Studio licenses are not transferable from one person to another. Licenses are transferable from one location to 
another, if the Board is notified in writing prior to the location change. This notification must be notarized. Licensees 
who are moving their studios should obtain a Change of Location Affidavit from the Board. 
 
Licensees are required to report changes in permanent mailing address to the Board immediately. Licensees who sell 
or close their studios, either temporarily or permanently, must also notify the Board in writing immediately. 
 
Licensees are responsible for keeping their studios in compliance with all city or county building and zoning codes. 
State Inspectors may ask to view code compliance certificates during an inspection. 
 
Applicants with questions concerning the licensing process are encouraged to contact the License Department 
directly at (405) 522-7620. Agency staff will gladly offer assistance. Compliance with the Oklahoma State Board of 
Cosmetology Law, Rules, and Regulations is both expected and appreciated. 
 
 
 
Revised January 2011 
 
 
 



Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology 
2401 NW 23rd Street, Suite 84 

Oklahoma City, OK 73107-2453 
Studio Department 405.522.7620 • Fax 405.521.2440 

 www.cosmo.ok.gov 
 

COSMETIC STUDIO LICENSE AFFIDAVIT 
   The Application for Cosmetic Studio License must be attached. 

 
 

Applicant’s Name: ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

Studio Name:  _________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Studio Address (Street or Box):  __________________________________________Suite/Unit Number: __________________ 

City _______________________________________ Zip Code: __________________ County:  ________________________ 

Studio Telephone: (      ) _________________________  Applicant’s Home Telephone: (      )  __________________________ 

File Number: _______________________________   

If no street address is available, give specific directions to salon location: ___________________________________________ 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Circle days studio will be open:           Sunday     Monday    Tuesday    Wednesday    Thursday    Friday    Saturday 
Hours of Operation: _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Date studio will open, or date new owner will assume operation: __________________________________________________ 
 
Does the Applicant hold any other license with this Board?  o Yes  o No  • If yes, what type of license is held? 
  (Check all that apply.)   o Instructor  o Cosmetologist  o Manicurist  o Facialist  o Demonstrator 
 
Is a photo of the Applicant enclosed? o Yes  o No   • If no, is a photo of the Applicant on file with this Board? o Yes  o No 
• If the answer to both questions above is NO, a photo MUST be included with this application. 
 
Is the Applicant assuming operation of an existing studio? o Yes  o No 
• If yes, name and address of current studio owner: ___________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Is the studio located at the Applicant’s residence? o Yes  o No 
 • If yes, is studio separated by a door that can be kept closed during working hours? o Yes  o No 
 • If yes, does the studio have a separate entrance? o Yes  o No 
 
Is the studio business sign prominently displayed? o Yes  o No 
 
Does the studio have hot and cold running water? o Yes  o No 
 
Is the studio located inside, or part of, another business, such as a department store or tanning salon? o Yes  o No 
 • If yes, name of other business: _________________________________________________________________ 
 
Has the studio met all local electrical, plumbing, fire and ventilation code requirements? o Yes  o No 
 
I understand that all employees who do not hold either a Cosmetologist/Operator or Facialist license must apply for and 
obtain a Demonstrator license from this Board. I also understand the limitations placed by law upon Demonstrator 
licensees.  o Yes  o No 
 
I solemnly swear that the foregoing statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
(SEAL) 
 
_____________________________________________ _____________________________________________ 
Signature of Studio Co-Owner, if applicable   Signature of Applicant 
 
Subscribed and sworn before me this ____________ day of _____________________________________  20 _______ 
State of __________ County of  ____________________     
My commission expires ___________________________        Notary Public __________________________________ 
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APPLICATION FOR COSMETIC STUDIO LICENSE 
The Cosmetic Studio Affidavit is part of this application and must be attached. 

 

 
      
 
      File #____________________________ 
  (office use only) 
 
 
         
 
 

 u Applicant, Notify This Office Immediately of Any Change of Address 

 Owner’s Social Security #: ______________________ Home Phone: _____________________ Birth Date: ____________________ 

 
Salon Mailing Address, if different 
(Physical location will appear on license): 
 
 
__________________________________ 
 
 
__________________________________ 

 
 

u FEES - Send Cashier's Check or Money order made payable to OSBC.  PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT ACCEPTED. 
 

 Initial Cosmetic Studio - $50.00 
       + $5.00 for a Rule Book 

            Total Due - $55.00 
 
 

q q q Application must be signed before a Notary Public or it will be returned to you!  q q q 
 

I solemnly swear that the foregoing statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 

  
 (SEAL)  
            ________________________________________________ 
                                      Signature of Primary Salon Owner 

 Subscribed and sworn before me this  ____________ day of  _____________________________________ 20  ______ 

 State of  __________ County of  ____________________ 
       
 My commission expires ___________________________ Notary Public __________________________________ 
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PRINT SALON OWNER’S NAME AND HOME ADDRESS IN THIS BOX: 
  
 

PRINT SALON NAME AND PHYSICAL ADDRESS IN THIS BOX: 
 

 



 

 
 
 

NOTICE! 
URGENT! 

 IMMEDIATE RESPONSE REQUIRED! 
 

Effective Nov. 1, 2007, Oklahoma law requires all natural persons fourteen (14) years of age or older 
applying for or renewing a license to verify his or her lawful presence in the United States by executing a 
sworn affidavit indicating that the person is either a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, legal permanent resident 
alien, or qualified alien. 56 O.S. Supp. 2007 § 71.  You must complete and return either the Option 1 
affidavit or the Option 2 affidavit, whichever is applicable.   
  
The appropriate affidavit must be completed and returned within thirty (30) days.  LICENSE 
APPLICATION OR RENEWAL MAY BE DENIED, SUSPENDED OR REVOKED FOR FAILURE 
TO COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS AFFIDAVIT AS REQUIRED BY LAW.  Faxed copies are not 
acceptable.   
 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE AFFIDAVIT FORM 
1.  If you are a U.S. citizen (by either birth or naturalization) or a U.S. national, you must complete the 
Option 1 Affidavit.  
2.  If you are a legal permanent resident alien, or otherwise qualified alien, you must submit the Option 2 
Affidavit.  You must also submit documents that support your qualified alien status, such as a front and 
back copy of your Permanent Resident Alien Card (green card) or a copy of your INS form I-94.   The 
Board will review the completed form and may request additional information and status documentation as 
needed to comply with this law.  A new Option 2 Affidavit is required each year with your renewal. 
3.  You must sign the affidavit in the presence of a notary public or other officer authorized by  State law to 
notarize affidavits.  The Board’s office is staffed with notaries who are available to provide notary service at 
no cost to applicants.  Office hours are 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m, Monday through Friday, excluding legal 
holidays.  Proper ID is required to complete the notary.  The Board will not accept an affidavit that has 
not been properly notarized. 
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AFFIDAVIT VERIFYING LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES 

 
OPTION 1 –VERIFICATION OF CITIZENSHIP 

 
[PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY – ALL INFORMATION MUST BE COMPLETED AND YOUR 

SIGNATURE NOTARIZED] 
 

Affidavit of 
 

__________________________________________ 
[Applicant’s Name – First, Middle, Last] 

 
__________________________________________ 

[Social Security Number] 
 
 

_______________________________________, of lawful age, being first duly sworn,  
 [Print Applicant’s Name] 
 
upon oath states, under penalty of perjury, as follows: 
 
 
 I AM A UNITED STATES CITIZEN. 
 
      _________________________________ 
      [Signature of Applicant] 
 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this ___ day of ____________________, 
20 ______. 
 
 
      ________________________________ 
      Notary 
 
Commission Number: ________________________________ 
My Commission Expires: _____________________________ 
State of: ___________________________________________ 
County of: _________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 S E A L 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
OPTION 2 – AFFIDAVIT VERIFYING QUALIFIED ALIEN STATUS 

 
[PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY – ALL INFORMATION MUST BE COMPLETED AND YOUR SIGNATURE 

NOTARIZED] 
 

Affidavit of 
 
______________________________________________________ 
Applicant’s Name [First, Middle, Last] 
 
______________________________________________________ 
Alien Registration Number of Form I-94 Number  
 
NOTE:   Applicant must attach a legible copy of the front and back of the federal document that                 

entitles you to work in the USA.  We will accept a front and back copy of your resident   
alien (green) card. 

 
______________________________________________________ 
Social Security Number 
 
______________________________________________________ 
Date of Birth 
 
______________________________________________________ 
Nationality [Country or Origin] 
 
_____________________________________________, of lawful age, being first duly [Applicant’s Name]  
sworn upon oath states, under penalty of perjury, as follows: 
 
 I am a qualified alien under the Immigration and Nationality Act, and I am lawfully present in the 
United States. 
 
              
  ________________________________________________ 
      [Signature of Applicant] 
 
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this ____ day of __________________________, 20 ________. 
    
 
      ________________________________ 
      Notary 
 
Commission Number: _______________________________ 
My Commission Expires: ____________________________ 
State of: __________________________________________ 
County of: ________________________________________ 
 
  
 
 S E A L 

 
 


