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BEAUTY SALON ¢ BARBER SHOP ¢ NAIL SALON
ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE APPLICATION INFORMATION
Keep This Document for Your Records!

Establishment License Applicants must meet these requirements and submit this documentation to the Board:
e The Establishment License Application/Affidavit must be completed and notarized.

e If the Applicant is NOT a corporation, he or she must complete the Affidavit Verifying Lawful Presence in
the United States, unless the Applicant has already filed the Affidavit with this office. This form must be notarized.
Except as provided above, ANY APPLICATION RECEIVED WITHOUT THIS AFFIDAVIT WILL BE REJECTED.

e If the Applicant IS a corporation, a copy of the Certificate of Incorporation from the Secretary of State must be
enclosed with this Application. CORPORATE APPLICATIONS RECEIVED WITHOUT THIS CERTIFICATE WILL BE REJECTED.

e Applicants who are assuming operation of an existing establishment should submit a copy of either the Lease
Agreement or the Bill of Sale from the previous owner, so that the Board may update the previous owner’s records.

e If this establishment is a franchise, submit a copy of your franchise agreement.

* Payment of $50 ($45 for initial license fee, $5 for an Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Rules and Statutes Book) must be enclosed with the application. Payment should be either by cashier’s check or money
order. Personal checks are not accepted and will be returned.

* Applicants who do not hold a current license issued by this Board must submit a current (newer than one year) full
face photograph. A passport-size photo is recommended.

If the stated requirements are met, and the information provided in the affidavit is acceptable, the Board will issue a license.
This license is subject to approval by a State Inspector, who will inspect the salon within thirty days after the license is issued.

Under Oklahoma law, operating an establishment without a license is a misdemeanor. Applicants who, for any reason, have
opened an establishment without applying for a license are subject to a $10 penalty fee, and/or other legal recourse available
to the Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.

Establishment licenses are not transferable from one person to another. Licenses are transferable from one location to another,
if the Board is notified in writing prior to the location change. This notification must be notarized. Licensees who move their
establishments must obtain and submit a Change Order Request to the Board PRIOR to the move.

Licensees are required to report changes in permanent mailing address to the Board immediately. Licensees who sell or close
their establishments, either temporarily or permanently, must also notify the Board in writing immediately.

Licensees are responsible for keeping their establishments in compliance with all city or county building and zoning codes. State
Inspectors may ask to view code compliance certificates during an inspection.

Applicants with questions concerning the licensing process are encouraged to contact the License Department directly at (405)
522-7620. Agency staff will gladly offer assistance. Compliance with the Oklahoma State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
Law, Rules, and Regulations is both expected and appreciated.
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ESTABLISHMENT LICENSE APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT
i ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY! o

5 ESTABLISHMENT INFORMATION:

Establishment Name:

Address*: Suite or Unit Number, if applicable:
*If street address is not available, attach specific directions.

City: ZIP Code: Establishment Telephone: ( )

For what type of license is application being made? (Check ONE): Date applicant will open or assume operation: / i

[ Beauty Establishment ($45 license fee + $5 Rule Book = $50 TOTAL DUE)  Is Applicant assuming operation of an existing establishment? [JYes [] No

0 Barber Establishment ($45 license fee + $5 Rule Book = $50 TOTAL DUE) e If yes, name and address of current owner:
] Nail Establishment ($45 license fee + $5 Rule Book = $50 TOTAL DUE)

* If yes, submit copy of lease or bill of sale.
e If a franchise, submit copy of franchise agreement.
Is the establishment located at the Applicant’s residence? [J Yes [ No
e If yes, is establishment separated by a door that can be kept closed during working hours? [JYes [ No
* If yes, does the establishment have a separate entrance? [J Yes [ No
Is the establishment sign prominently displayed? [] Yes [] No

Are all floors constructed of, or covered with, easily cleaned, hard surface, non-pervious floor covering? [1Yes [] No
Is the establishment located inside, or part of, another business, such as a department store or tanning salon? [] Yes [ No

¢ If yes, name of other business:
Is the establishment in compliance with all local electrical, plumbing, fire and ventilation codes? [] Yes [] No

Days and hours of operation:
SUN MON TUE WED THU FRI SAT

APPLICANT INFORMATION:

Applicant’s Name:

Home Address:

City: State: ZIP Code:

Home Telephone: ( ) Social Security Number: - - Date of Birth: i /

Does the Applicant hold any other license with this Board? 1 Yes [ No

If yes, what type of license is held? (Check all that apply.) O Instructor [ Cosmetologist [ Barber [ Manicurist 0 Facialist (] Demonstrator [ Other
Is a photo of the Applicant enclosed? 0 Yes 0 No

e If no, is a photo of the Applicant on file with this Board? 0 Yes [ No ¢ If both questions are answered NO, photo is required with this application.

Is a co-owner affiliated with this establishment ? [ Yes 01 No e If yes, does co-owner hold a license with this Board? 1] Yes [1 No
* If yes, co-owner’s File Number: ¢ If no, contact the Board for further instructions.

I solemnly swear that the foregoing statements are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief.

(SEAL)

Signature of Applicant Signature of Co-Applicant, if applicable
Subscribed and sworn before me this day of 20

State of County of

My commission expires Notary Public




OKLAHOMA STATE BOARD OF SR
COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING GOVERNOR

SHERRY G. LEWELLING

2401 NW 23rd Street, Suite 84, Oklahoma City, OK 73107 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
www.cosmo.ok.gov

NOTICE!
URGENT!
IMMEDIATE RESPONSE REQUIRED!

Effective November 1, 2007, Oklahoma law requires all natural persons fourteen (14) years of age or older
applying for or renewing a license to verify his or her lawful presence in the United States by executing a
sworn affidavit indicating that the person is either a U.S. citizen, U.S. national, legal permanent resident
alien, or qualified alien. 56 O.S. Supp. 2007 § 71. You must complete and return either the Option 1
affidavit or the Option 2 affidavit, whichever is applicable.

The appropriate affidavit must be completed and returned within thirty (30) days. LICENSE APPLICATION
OR RENEWAL MAY BE DENIED, SUSPENDED OR REVOKED FOR FAILURE TO COMPLETE AND RETURN THIS
AFFIDAVIT AS REQUIRED BY LAW. Faxed copies are not acceptable.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETION OF THE AFFIDAVIT FORM
1. If you are a U.S. citizen (by either birth or naturalization) or a U.S. national, you must complete the
Option 1 Affidavit.

2. If you are a legal permanent resident alien, or otherwise qualified alien, you must submit the Option 2
Affidavit. You must also submit documents that support your qualified alien status, such as a front and
back copy of your Permanent Resident Alien Card (green card) or a copy of your INS form I-94. The Board
will review the completed form and may request additional information and status documentation as
needed to comply with this law. A new Option 2 Affidavit is required each year with your renewal.

3. You must sign the affidavit in the presence of a notary public or other officer authorized by State law to
notarize affidavits. The Board’s office is staffed with notaries who are available to provide notary service
at no cost to applicants. Office hours are 7:30 AM to 4:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding legal
holidays. Proper ID is required to complete the notary. The Board will not accept an affidavit that has
not been properly notarized.



AFFIDAVIT VERIFYING LAWFUL PRESENCE IN THE UNITED STATES

OPTION 1 -VERIFICATION OF CITIZENSHIP

[PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY — ALL INFORMATION MUST BE COMPLETED AND YOUR SIGNATURE
NOTARIZED]

Affidavit of

[Applicant’s Name — First, Middle, Last]

[Social Security Number]

[Date of Birth]

, of lawful age, being first duly sworn,

[Print Applicant’s Name]

upon oath states, under penalty of perjury, as follows:

| AM A UNITED STATES CITIZEN.

[Signature of Applicant]

Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this ___ day of i
20

Notary

Commission Number:
My Commission Expires:
State of:
County of:

SEAL



OPTION 2 - AFFIDAVIT VERIFYING QUALIFIED ALIEN STATUS
[PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY — ALL INFORMATION MUST BE COMPLETED AND YOUR SIGNATURE NOTARIZED]

Affidavit of

Applicant’s Name [First, Middle, Last]

Alien Registration Number of Form [-94 Number

NOTE: Attach a legible copy of the front and back of the federal document that entitles you to work in the USA. We will accept a front and
back copy of your resident alien (green) card.

Social Security Number

Date of Birth

Nationality [Country or Origin]

, of lawful age, being first duly [Applicant’s Name]
sworn upon oath states, under penalty of perjury, as follows:

I'am a qualified alien under the Immigration and Nationality Act, and | am lawfully present in the United
States.

[Signature of Applicant]

Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me this day of 5220

Notary

Commission Number:
My Commission Expires:
State of:
County of:

SEAL



