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 COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING
STATUTES




TITLE 59
SECTION 61.1 BARBER LICENSURE

A. Except as provided in subsection B of Section 61.4 of this title, the
State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering is hereby authorized to promulgate
rules which govern the examining and licensing of barbers, barber apprentices,
barber instructors, and barber colleges; the defining of categories and limitations
for such license; the sanitary operation and sanitation of barber shops and barber
colleges; and the establishment and levying of administrative fines not to exceed
Fifty Dollars ($50.00) for those licensed and not to exceed Five Hundred Dollars
($500.00) for those not licensed. Each day a violation continues shall be a
separate offense.

B. Except as provided in Subsection B of Section 61.4 of this title, the
State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering shall have the power and duty to issue
and renew annual barber, barber apprentice, barber instructor and barber college
licenses, to inspect barber license, and to inspect the sanitary operating practices
of barbers and the sanitary condition of barber shops and barber colleges.

C. The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering may suspend, revoke,
or refuse to issue or renew any barber, barber instructor, barber apprentice, or
barber college license for:

1. Unsanitary operating practices or unsanitary conditions of barber shops or
barber colleges;

2. Unsanitary operating practices barbers, apprentice barbers, or barber
instructors;

3. Making a material misstatement in the application for a license, in the renewal
of a license, or in the records which are maintained by barber instructors or
colleges to comply with Sections 61.1 through 61.6 of this title or the
regulations promulgated pursuant thereto; or

4. Employment of an unlicensed person as-a barber, barber apprentice, or barber
instructor. :

SECTION 61.2 BARBER FEES
Fees for licenses issued by the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering to

practice barbering as adopted by the Board pursuant to Section 1-106.4 of Title 63
of the Oklahoma Statutes shall not be less than:

Barber College $200 per year
Barber Apprentice $10.00 per year
Barber Examination Fee $35.00 per exam
Barber Instructor License Fee $50.00 per year
Barber Instructor Examination Fee $50.00 per year
Barber License Fee $25.00 per year

Barber License Renewal after Expiration ~ $50.00 per year
Barber Instructor License Renewal After




Expiration ' $75.00 per year

SECTION 61.3 OKLAHOMA COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING

. There is hereby created in the State Treasury a revolving fund for the State Board
of Cosmetology and Barbering, to be designated the “Oklahoma Cosmetology and
Barbering Fund”. Al unexpended funds within the State Board of Barber
Examiners revolving fund provided for in Section 155 of Title 62 of the
Oklahoma Statutes shall be transferred to the Oklahoma Cosmetology and
Barbering Fund. All property, records, and any outstanding financial obligations
and encumbrances of the State Board of Barber Examiners are hereby transferred
to the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.

All personnel of the State Board of Barber Examiners shall be transferred to the
State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering at the same salary such personnel is
receiving on June 30, 1985, ' '

OKLAHOMA COSMETOLOGY AND BARBERING STATUTES
SECTION 199.1 DEFINITIONS

As used in the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act:

1. “Apprentice” means a person who is engaged in learning the practice of
cosmetology in a cosmetology or salon;

2. “Barber” means any person who engages in the practice of barbering;

3. “Barbering” means any one or any combination of the following practices,
when done upon the upper part of the human body for cosmetic purposes and
when done for payment either directly or indirectly for the general public,
constitutes the practice of barbering, to wit: Shaving or trimming the beard
or cutting the hair; giving facial or scalp massages or treatment with oils,

- creams, lotions or other preparations, either by hand or mechanical
appliances; singeing, shampooing or dyeing the hair or applying hair tonics;
applying cosmetic preparations, antiseptics, powders, oils, clays or lotions to
scalp, face, neck or upper part of the body; and removing superfluous hair
from the face, neck or upper part of the body;

4. “Barber establishment” means an establishment or place of business where
one or more persons are engaged in the practice of barbering, but shall not
include barber schools or colleges;

5. “Barber instructor” means a person licensed by the Board as a qualified
teacher of barbering;

6. “Barber school” or “barber college” means an establishment operated for
the purpose of teaching barbering;

7. “Beard” means the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering;




8.

10.

11

12,

13.

“Cosmetic studio” means any place or premises where demonstrators give
demonstrations, without compensation, for the purpose only of advertising
and selling cosmetics;

“Cosmetician” means a person licensed by the Board to perform patron
services limited to hair arranging and application of makeup, including, but
not limited to, using hairstyling tools and products. Services must be
performed in a licensed establishment-limited to photo studios and cosmetic
studios; _ '

“Cosmetology” means any one or combination of practices generally and
usually performed by and known as the occupation of beauticians, beauty
culturists, beauty operators, cosmeticians, cosmetologists; or hairdressers or
any other person holding himself or herself out as practicing cosmetology by
whatever designation and within the meaning of the Oklahoma Cosmetology
and Barbering Act and in or upon whatever place or premises. Cosmetology
shall include, but not be limited to, anty one or combination of the following
practices: Bleaching, cleansing, curling, cutting, coloring, dressing,
removing, singeing, styling, waving, or similar work upon the hair of any
person by any means, whether with hands or mechanjcal or electrical
apparatus or appliances. Nothing in the Oklahoma Cosmetology and
Barbering Act shall be construed to prohibit the use of hands or mechanical
or electrical apparatus or appliances for the nonpermanent removal of hair
from the human body without puncturing of the skin or the use of cosmetic
preparations, antiseptics, tonics, lotions, or creams, or massaging, cleansing,
stimulating, exercising, beautifying, or similarly working the scalp, face,
neck, arms, or the manicuring of the nails of any person, exclusive of such of
the foregoing practices as are within the scope of practice of the healing arts
as provided by law;

« “Cosmetology salon” means any place business or premises where practice
gy Y

any of the practices of cosmetology are performed The term “cosmetology
salon” shall not include a cosmetology school or a cosmetic studio;
“Cosmetology school” means any place or premises where instruction in any
or all the practice of cosmetology is given. ‘Any.person, firm, institution or
corporation, who holds himself, herself or itself out as a school to teach and
train, or any person, firm, institution or corporation who shall teach and train
any other person or persons in any of the practices of cosmetology is hereby
declared to be engaged in operating a cosmetology school, and shall be
subject to the provisions of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act.
Licensed cosmetology schools may offer education to secondary and post
secondary students-in this state; -

“Demonstrator” means a person who is not licensed in this state as an
operator or instructor and who demonstrates any cosmetic preparation. The
person shall be required to obtain a Demonstrator license from the Board
before making any such demonstrations;

14. Facial/Esthetics instructor” means a person licensed by the Board as a

qualified teacher of the art and science of facial and esthetics theory and
practice; )




15. “Facial operator” means any person who gives facials for compensation;

16. “Hairbraiding technician” means a person licensed by the Board to
perform hairbrading, hairweaving techniques, and hair extensions in a
licensed cosmetology establishment; :

17. “Manicurist” means a person who gives manicures, gives pedicures, or
applies artificial nails;

18. Manicurist/Nail technician instructor” means a person licensed by the
Board as a qualified teacher of the art and science of nail technology theory

. and practice;

19. “Master instructor” means a person who gives instruction in cosmetology
or any practices thereof}

20. “Operator” means any person who engages in, follows or performs any of
the practices of cosmetology;

21. “Public school” means any state-supported institution conducting a
cosmetology program; and

22. “Student” means a person who is enrolled in and attending a cosmetology or
barbering school for the purpose of learning the practice of cosmetology or
barbering,

SECTION 199.2 STATE BOARD OF COSMETOLOGY AND
BARBERING

A. 1. There is hereby re-created, to continue until July 1, 2017, in accordance
with the provisions of the Oklahoma Sunset Law, a State Board of
Cosmetology and Barbering which shall be composed of eleven (11) members
to be appointed by the Governor and to serve at the pleasure of the Governor.

2. One member shall be appointed from each congressional disirict and the
additional member shall be appointed at large. However, when congressional
districts are redrawn, each member appointed prior to July 1 of the year in
which such modification becomes effective shall be based on the redrawn
districts. Appointments made after July 1 of the year in which such
modification becomes effective shall be from any redrawn districts which are
not represented by a board member until such time as each of the modified
congressional districts are represented by a board member. One member shall
be appointed at-large. '

3. At the same time of appointment, the members shall be citizens of this
state, at Jeast twenty-five (25) years of age, and shall be high school graduates,
Eight members shall, at the time of appointment, have had at least five (5)
years’ continuous practical experience in the practice of cosmetology or
barbering in this state, one member shall be a lay person, one member shall be
an administrator of a licensed private cosmetology school; one member shall
be an administrator of a licensed barber school, and one member shall be an
administrator of a public school licensed to teach cosmetology.




5. If any member retires or ceases to practice his or her profession during the
term of membership on the Board, such terms shall automatically cease and
the Governor shall appoint a like-qualified person to fulfill the remainder of
the term.

B. The terms of office for Board members shall be four (4) years ending June 30.
C. Each member shall serve until a successor is apj)ointed and qualified.
D. Six members of the Board shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business,

E. The Governor may remove any member of the Board at any time at the Governor’s
discretion. Vacancies shall be filled by the appointment by the Governor for the
unexpired portion of the term.

F. The Board shall organize by electing from its membership a chair and vice-chair, each
to serve for a period of one (1) year. The presiding officer shall not be entitled to vote
upon any question except in the case of a tie vote,

Members shall be reimbursed for their actual and necessary traveling expenses as
provided by State Travel Reimbursement Act. -

G. Within thirty (30) days after the end of each fiscal year, the Board shall make a full
report to the Governor of all its receipts and expenditures, and also a full statement of its
work during the year, together with such recommendations as the Board deems
expedient, :

H. The Board may expend funds for suitable office space for the transaction of its
business. The Board shall adopt a common seal for the use of the executive director in
- authenticating Board documents.

I. The Boatd shall meet at its office for the transaction of such business as may come
before it on the second Monday in January, March, May, July, September, and November
and at such other times as it may deem advisable.

SECTION 199.3 POWERS OF BOARD - INSPECTIONS/INVESTIGATIONS —
MEMBERS OF ARMED FORCES |

A. In order to safeguard and protect the health and general welfare of the people of the
State of Oklahoma, the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering is hereby vested with
the powers and duties necessary and proper to enable it to fully and effectively carry out
the provisions of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act.

B. The Board shall have the powers and duties to:
1. Promulgate rule pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act relating to
standards of sanitation which must be observed and practiced by all cosmetology




- schools, cosmetology salons, barbers; barber instructors, barer apprentices, or
barber colleges. The Board shall furnish copies of the rules to the owner or
manager of each cosmetology school or cosmetology salon operating in this state.
It shall be the duty of each owner or manager to post a copy of the rules in a
conspicuous place in each of the establishments or schools;

2. Conduct examinations of applicants for certificates of registration as
manicurists, cosmetologists, facial operators, hairbraiding technician,
manicurist/nail technician instructor, facial/esthetics instructor, master instructor,
cosmetician, barber, barber instructor, or barber apprentice at such times and
places determined by the Board. Applications for all examinations shall be made
on forms approved by the Board;

3. Keep a record of all its proceedings. The Board shall keep a record of all
applicants for certificates, licenses and permits, showing the name of the
applicant, the name and location of the place of occupation of business, if any,
and the residence address of the applicant, and whether the applicant was granted
or refused a certificate, license or permit. The records of the Board shall be valid
and sufficient evidence of matters contained therein, shall constitute public
records. Records shall be open to public inspection at all reasonable times and
subject to the Oklahoma Open Records Act;

4. Issue all certificates of registration, licenses, permits, notices and order;

5. Establish limited specialty licenses for cosmetician, facial/esthetics instructor,
hairbraiding technician, manicurist/nail technician instructor, barber, barber
instructor, or barber apprentice within the practice of cosmetolo gy or barbering,
The Board shall also promulgate rules for special licenses, including but not
limited to reduced curriculum requirements, as the Board may deem appropriate
and necessary to further the purposes of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and
Barbering Act; >

6. Make regular inspections of all cosmetology and barber schools and
cosmetology and barber establishments licensed to operate in this state, and
reports thereof shall be kept and maintained in the office of the Board;

7. Make investigations and reports on all violations of the Oklahoma
Cosmetology and Barbering Act;

- 8. Take samples of beauty supplies for the purpose of chemical analysis;
provided, that if the owner demands payment for the sample taken, payment at the
regular retail price shall be made; ‘

9. Refuse, revoke, or suspend licenses, certificates of registration or permits afier
notice and an opportunity for a full hearing, pursuant to Article I of the




Administrative Procedures Act, on proof of violation of any of these provisions or
the rules established by the Board;

10. Entering into any contracts necessary to implement or enforce the provisions
of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act or rules promulgated thereto;
and

11. Apply to a court of competent jurisdiction for an order enjoining an
unlicensed person from practicing cosmetology or barbering or holding himself

or herself out as a practitioner of cosmetology or barbering. Injunctive relief
granted by the court shall be without bond.

C.1. Any person whose license, certificate of registration, or permit has been
suspended or revoked may, after the expiration of thirty (30) days, make
application to the Board for reinstatement thereof,

2. Reinstatement of any such license, certificate of registration, or permit shall
rest in the sound discretion of the Board.,

3. Any action of the Board in refusing, revoking, or suspending a license,
certificate of registration, or permit may be appealed to the district court of the
county of the appellant’s residence pursuant to the Administrative Procedures
Act. : :

D. 1. In any case where a licensec becomes a member of the Armed Forces of the
United States, such license shall not lapse by reason thereof but shall be
considered and held in full force and effect without further payment of license
fees during the period of service in the Armed Forces of the United States and for
six (6) months after honorable release from the Armed Forces of the United States
the licensee may resume practice pursuant to a license without other or firther
examination by notifying the Board in writing. '

2. The period of time in which the licensee shall have been a member of the
Armed Forces of the United States shall not be computed in arriving at the
amount of fee or fees due or to become due by such licensee.

SECTION 199.4 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering shall employ an executive director who
shall be in charge of the office of the Board. The executive director shall have such
qualification as shall be established by rules of the Board; provided, the executive
director shal] not be actively engaged in'the practice of cosmetology or barbering while
serving as executive director. The executive director shall;

1. Devote his or her entire time to the duties of the office;
2. Receive salary and benefits as provided by law;




Keep and preserve all books and records pertaining to the Board

4. Have authority, in the name of and in behalf of the Board, to issue all licenses,
certificates of registration, permits, orders, and notices;

5. Have authority to collect all fees and penalties provided for by the Oklahoma
Cosmetology and Barbering Act;

6. Make quarterly reports to the Board of all monies collected and sources from

which derived;

Have authority to approve payrolls and all claims for the Board;

Have authority to employ staff;

Keep a continuous inventory of all properties, excluding supplies, belonging

1o the Board; and

10. Perform such other duties as may be directed by the Board.
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SECTION 199.4 POSITIONS AND SALARIES

- The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering shall create positions and fix the
salaries of officials and employees necessary to carry out the purposes of the
Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act and the administration thereof.

. The employees shall include not less than five nor more than nine cosmetology
and barbering inspectors. Only licensed instructors shall be employed as
cosmetology or barbering inspectors by the Board.

‘SECTION 199.6 UNLAWFUL ACTS

The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering is hereby authorized to
promulgate rules for governing the examination and licensure of cosmetologists,
manicurists, nail technicians, estheticians, cosmeticians, hair braiding technicians,
master instructors, manicurist instructors, esthetics instructors, barbers, and barber
instructors. The Board is hereby authorized to govern the sanitary operation of
cosmetology and barbeting establishments and to administer fines not to exceed
Fifty Dollars ($50.00) for those licensed and not to exceed F ive Hundred Dollars
($500.00) for those not licensed. Each day a violation continues shall be
construed as a separate offense. :

The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering shall have the power and duty to
implement rules of the Board, to issue and renew licenses, to inspect cosmetology
and barbering establishments and schools, and to inspect the sanitary operating
practices of cosmetology and barbering licensees, including sanitary conditions of
cosmetology and barbering establishments and schools,

It shall be unlawful and constitute a misdemeanor, punishable upon conviction by
a fine of not less than Fifty Dollars ($50.00), nor more than One Hundred Fifty
Dollars ($150.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than thirty




(30) days, or both such fine and imprisonment, for any person, firm, or
corporation in this state to: : _

1.

Operate or attempt to operate a cosmetology school, cosmetology
establishment salon, or barber college without having obtained a license
therefore from the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering; .

Give or attempt to give instruction in cosmetology or barbering, without
having obtained an instructor’s license from the Board;

Practice or offer to practice barbering, cosmetology or manicuring without
having obtained a license therefore from the Board;

Operate a cosmetic studio without having obtained a license therefore from

the Board;

Demonstrate a cosmetic preparation without having obtained a demonstrator’s
license from the Board; :

Permit any person in one’s employ, supervision, or control to practice
cosmetology unless that person has obtained an appropriate license from the
Board; :

Willfully violate any rule promulgated by the Board for the sanitary
management and operation of a or barber, cosmetology school;

- or

Violate any of the provisions of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering
Act

D . The provisions of the Oklahoma and Barbering Act shall not apply to the
following persons while such persons are engaged in the proper discharge of their
professional duties:

[y
.

Funeral directors; -

. Persons in the Armed Services;

Persons authorized to practice the healing arts or nursing;

or

Regularly employed sales people working in retail establishments engaged in
the business of selling cosmetics in sealed packages.

SECTION 199.7 BEAUTY SCHOOLS-EXAM ELIGIBLITY




A. Each cosmetology and barber school shall be licensed annually by the State Board of
Cosmetology and Barbering. Application for the first year’s license for a cosmetology
school shall be accompanied by a fee of Four Hundred Dollars ($400.00), which shall be
retained by the Board if the application is approved and a license is issued. The annual
renewal license fee for cosmetology schools shall be One Hundred Twenty-five Dollars
($125.00).

B. 1. No license or renewal thereof for a cosmetology school shall be issued unless the
owner thereof furnishes to the Board a good and sufficient surety bond in the principal
sum of Two Thousand Dollars ($2,000.00) for the first instructor and an additional One
Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) for each additional instructor, executed by a surety
company authorized to do business in this state, and conditioned in the faithful
performance of the terms and conditions of all contracts entered into between the owner
of the cosmetology or barber school and all persons enrolled therein.

2. The surety bond shall be in a form approved by the Attorney General and filed in the
Office of the Secretary of State. Suit may be brought on the bond by any person injured
by reason of the breach of the conditions thereof.

C. It shall be the duty of the owner or manager of'a cosmetology or barber school to enter
into a written contract with all students before permitting students to attend any classes.
Contracts shall be made out in triplicate, the original copy to be retained by the school,
the duplicate to be given to the student, and the triplicate to be filed with the executive
director of the Board.

D. No license for a cosmetology or barber school shall be issued unless the owner thereof
presents evidence satisfactory to the Board that the school has satisfactory facilities and
equipment and has instructors qualified to give a course of study as provided in the
Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act.

E. There shall be included in the curriculum for cosmetology and barber schools, courses
of study in theory of cosmetology and related theory, studies in manipulative practices,
sterilization and sanitation, shop management, and such other related subjects as may be
approved by the Board. '

F. 1. The Board shall adopt a curriculum of required courses of instruction in theory and
training of either one thousand five hundred (1,500) clock hours or an equivalent number
of credit hours as recognized by the United States Department of Education or a regional
or national accreditation entity recognized by the United States Department of Education
in a basic course of cosmetology to be taught in all cosmetology or barbering schools in
the state. The basic cosmetology or barbering shall be designed to qualify students
completing the course to take the examination for a an operator’s license.

2. Cosmetology students in vocational, trade, and industrial cosmetology classes in

public schools shall qualify by completing one thousand (1,000} hours in a basic course
of cosmetology and five hundred (500) hours of approved related subjects to be selected

10




from, but not limited to, the following high school courses in a public school:

psychology, biology, general science, American history, art, typing I, typing II, business
arithmetic, salesmanship, bookkeeping I, bookkeeping I, related mathematics, English I,
English IIl and English [V.

G. 1. No person shall be eligible to give instruction in cosmetology or barbering unless
the person is the holder of a current unrevoked instructor’s license issued by the Board.

2. Each cosmetology or barber school shall employ at least one instructor for the first
fifteen students registered therein, and at least one additional instructor shall be employed
for each additional group of fifieen students, or major fraction thereof,

H. A cosmetology or barbering school may be operated in and as part of an accredited
high school. :

L. A cosmetology or barber school owner or cosmetology salon or barber establishment
owner shall charge students for cosmetic materials, supplies, apparatus, or machines used
by them in practice work, but students shall be required to furnish their own books and
hand instruments of trade. A reasonable charge may be made by a cosmetology or barber
school for clinical work performed by students upon persons who are not students
therein. No instructor shall be permitted to do professional or clinical work in a
cosmetology or barber school at any time.

J. No cosmetology salon or barber establishment shall ever be operated in or as a part ofa
cosmetology school.

K. 1. Students shall:

a. have an eighth-grade education or the equivalent thereof,

b. be at least sixteen (16) years of age unless they are public or private school
students who will be sixteen (16) years of age by November 1 of the year in
which cosmetology or barbering instruction begins, and

¢. be of good moral and ethical character.

2. Credit shall not be given to any person by the Board or by a cosmetology or barber
school for hours spent in attending a cosmetology or barber school unless the person has
registered with the Board as a student prior to the attendance, except that a student who
has attended a cosmetology or barber school out of state may receive credit for such
attendance for transfer upon proper certification a provided by rules of the Board.

3. No student shall be credited with more than eight (8) hours’ attendance in a
cosmetology or barber school in any one (1) day.
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4. No person shall be eligible to take the Board-issued examination for an operator’s
license unless such person is at least seventeen (17) years of age or a high school
+ graduate,

L. 1. No student shall be eligible to take the examination for a Board-issued license
without furnishing to the Board the affidavit of the owner of the cosmetology or barber
school that the student has satisfactorily completed the requirements specified in
paragraph 1 of subsection F of this section, except public and private school students who
will complete the requirements specified in paragraph 2 of subsection F of this section by
the close of the current school year may take the examination next preceding the end of
the school year. )

2. Students who are eligible to take the examination shall be given an oral examination
if requested by their instructor.

M. No person shall be eligible to register for the examination for an instructor’s license
unless such person is a high school graduate, or has obtained a General Equivalency
Diploma (GED) as to which the applicant shall qualify by tests to be prescribed by the
Board and conducted by qualified examiners selected by the Board and has:

1. Satisfactorily completed all hours required for the appropriate specialty course and
an additional one thousand (1,000) instructor training hours or thirty-three credit hours
prescribed by the Board in a cosmetology school in this state; or

2. Completed all hours required for the appropriate specialty course, five hundred
(500) instructor training hours prescribed by the Board in a cosmetology school in this
state and has been engaged in the practice of cosmetology for at least the preceding two
(2) years.

N. The Board shall have the power to conduct examinations around the state at public
locations including, but not limited to technology center schools.

O. Each cosmetology or barber school shall prominently display in a conspicuous place
about or to the side of the entrance thereto a sign bearing the words “BEAUTY
SCHOOL” or “BARBER SCHOOL”, which words shall be in plain letters at least three
(3) inches high and at least one (1) inch wide. '

SECTION 199.8 APPRENTICES
A. Each person training as an apprentice shall be required to have the same qualifications
as a student for admission in to a cosmetology or barber school, and shall be registered
with the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering before commencing the training.
B. No apprentice shall engage in any of the practices of cosmetology or barbering except

under the immediate supervision of a licensed instructor in a cosmetology or barber
establishment approved by the Board for apprentice training.
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the license by paying the regular renewal license fee and a late fee of Ten Dollars
($10.00), which becomes due two (2) months after the expiration date.

D. Any person who fails to renew within the required time may make application with
subsequent renewal and penalty fees.

E. Before person may take an examination to renew an expired license after a period of
five (5) years, such person shall, after registering for examination, register in a
cosmetology for the given number of review hours in accordance with the following
timetable and schedule based upon the number of year the license has expired, and
upon the type of license held.

Number of Years License Expired Review

License Type License Expired Hours
Required
Basic Cosmetologist 5 years 250 hours
10 years 500 hours
15 years or more 1000 hours
Cosmetician 5 years 120 hours
10 years. 200 hours
15 years or more © 250 hours
Manicurist 5 years 120 hours
10 years 200 hours
15 years or more 250 hours
Facial Operator 5 years 120 hours
10 years 200 hours
15 years or more 250 hours
Hairbraiding Technician 5 years 120 hours
10 years 200 hours
15 years or more 250 hours
Master Instructor 5 years 200 hours
10 years 300 hours
15 years or more 400 hours
Facial/Esthetics Instructor 5 years 200 hours
‘ 10 years 300 hours
15 years or more 400 hours
Manicurist/Nail Technician Instructor5 years 200 hours
' 10 years 300 hours
15 years or more 400 hours
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C. All apprentices must wear a badge which desigllates-ﬂlem as an apprentice and is
furnished by the Board with the apprentice registration receipt.

D. Only one apprentice may be registered to receive training in any cosmetology or
barber establishment at any one time.

E. Completion of three thousand (3,000) hours of apprentice training in a cosmetology or
barber establishment is the equivalent of one thousand five hundred (1,500) hours’
training in a cosmetology or barber school and shall entitle the apprentice to take the
operator’s examination.

SECTION 199.9 FACILITIES — LICENSES REQUIRED

A, The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering shall not issue a license for a
cosmetology or barber establishment until an inspection has been made for the salon and
equipment, including the sanitary facilities thereof, Temporary approval pending
inspection may be made upon sworn affidavit by the license applicant that all
requirements have been met. No license shall be issued for a cosmetology or barber
establishment to be operated in a private home or residence unless the salon is located in
a room or rooms not used or occupied for residential purposes.

B. 1. Except as otherwise provided in the Oklahoma and Barbering Act, it shall be
unlawful for any person to practice cosmetology in any place other than a licensed or a
cosmetology establishment, or g-cosmetology barber school licensed by the Board.

2. In an emergency such as illness, invalidism, or death, a licensed operator may
perform cosmetology or barbering services for a person by appointment in a place other
than a licensed cosmetology or barer establishment or cosmetology or barber school.

C. A person licensed as an operator may perform cosmetology services in a barbershop .
A person licensed as a barber may perform barbering services in a cosmetology salon.
Any salon which provides both cosmetology and barbering services must obtain a license
from the Board.

TITLE 59 O.S. SECTION 199.10 EXPIRATION AND RENEWAL OF LICENSES

A. Alllicenses issued under the provisions of the Oklahoma Cosmetology Act shall be
issued for a period of one (1) year. The expiration date of the license shall be the
last day of the month in which the applicant’s birthday falls,

B. Application for renewal must be made on or before the last day of the month in
which the applicant’s birthday falls, and shall be accompanied by the appropriate
fees. _

C. Any person who fails to renew the license within the required time, may make
application for renewal at any time within five (5) years from the expiration date of
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3. The applicant has continuously engaged in the practices or occupation for
which a reciprocity license is applied for at least three (3) years immediately prior to such
application.

B. The Board may issue a license without examination to an otherwise qualified
applicant from a state, territory or foreign country or province that does not license
practitioners if applicant can show adequate proof of having engaged in the practlce or
occupation for which a license is applied for at least three (3) years nnmedlately prior to
such application.

C. An applicant for an instructor’s license without examination shall possess the
equivalent of a high school education,

D. Payment of the reciprocity fee shall constitute payment of the first annual 11cense
fee.

E. The Board may establish by rule any administrative or other fees associated with
- processing application for licensure without examination.

SECTION 199.14 FEES

A. The following fees shall be charged by the State Board éf Cosmetology:

Registration as an apprentice or student .................. $ 5.00
Examination forlicense .............cooiiiniiiiin.s, $15.00
Cosmetology school lcense (imitial) . ....... .........o... $400.00
Cosmetology school license (renewal) . ................... $125.00
Renewal Advanced Operator license (annual) .. ............ $25.00 .
Facial Operator license (annual)........ e $ 25.00
Cosmetology Operator license (annual). . ............... ... $ 25.00
- Manicurist license (annual) ..............c.coiiiii... $25.00
Facial/Esthetics Instructor license (annual) ................ $30.00
Cosmetician license (annual) ........................... $25.00
Hairbraiding Technician (annual) ........................ $ 25.00
Mé.nicurist/N ail Technician Instructor (annual).............. $ 30.00
Demonstrator license (annual) . ........ B $20.00




Master Instructor license (annual) .. ..... ................ $ 30.00

Cosmetology salon license (initial) ...................... $45.00
Cosmetology salon license (renewal)....................... $ 30.00
Cosmetic Studio license (initial). .......................... $ 50.00
Cosmetic Studio license (renewal) ...................... .. .. $ 30.00
Reciprocity license (initial) . ............................. $ 30.00
Reciprocity processing fee .. ......covvreiinnnn . $ 30.00
Duplicate license (in case of loss or destruction of original) . . ... $ 5.00
Notary fee......co.oiiiiiiiinin e $ 1.00
Certification of Records .. ..o, $ 10.00

B. In addition to the fees specified in subsection A of this section, the Board shall

charge a total penalty Ten Dollars ($10.00), as provided for in Section 199.10 of
this title,

C. Any person licensed as an advanced operator prior to July 1, 1985, may renew
the advanced cosmetologist license annually by payment of the fee required by
this section and by being in compliance with the rules promulgated by the State
Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.

SECTION 199.15 STATE COSMETOLOGY FUND -
REPORT OF FEES AND PENALTIES - CHARGES AGAINST FUND

A. There is hereby created in the State Treasury for the Oklahoma State Board of
Cosmetology and Barbering a revolving fund to be designated the State
Cosmetology and Barbering Fund. - The fund shall be a continuing fund not -
subject to fiscal year limitations and shall consist of all fees and penalties
collected pursuant to the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act or rules
promulgated thereto and any other funds obtained or received by the State Board
of Cosmetology and Barbering pursuant to the Oklahoma Cosmetology and
Barbering Act. All monies accruing to the credit of said fund are hereby
appropriated and may be budgeted and shall be expended by the Board for the
purposes of implementing, administering and enforcing the Oklahoma
Cosmetology and Barbering Act. Expenditures from the fund shall be made upon
warrants issued by the State Treasurer against claims filed as prescribed by law
with the Director of the Office of Management and Enterprise Services for
approval and payment. :
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B. At the close of each fiscal year the Board shall pay into the General Revenue
Fund of the state ten percent (10%) of the gross fees and penalties so charged,
collected and received by the Board. Other than the ten percent (10%) all fees
and penalties charged and monies collected and received, are hereby dedicated,
appropriated- and pledged to the accomplishment and fulfillment of the purposes
of the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act.

C. All expenses, per diem, salaries, wages, travel, rents; printing, supplies,
maintenance, and other costs incurred by the Board in the performance of its duty
and in accomplishment and fulfillment of the purposes of the Oklahoma
Cosmetology and Barbering Act shall be a proper charge against and paid from
the State Cosmetology and Barbering Fund. In no event shall any claim or
obligation accrue against the State of Oklahoma nor against the Cosmetology and
Barbering Fund in excess of the ninety percent (90%) or the amount of fees and
penalties collected and paid in to the Treasury pursuant to the provisions of the
Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act.
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F. Each person holding a license shall notify the Board of any change in the mailing
address of such person within thirty (30} days after any change,

SECTION 199.11 CAUSES FOR DENIAL REVOCATION OR
SUSPENSION OF LICENSE

The State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering is hereby authorized to deny,
revoke, suspend or refuse to renew any license, certificate, or registration that is
authorized to issue under the Oklahoma Cosmetology and Barbering Act for any
of the following causes:

1. Conviction of a felony as shown by a certified copy of the record of the court;

2. Gross malpractice or gross incompetence;

3. Fraud practiced in obtaining a license or registration;

4. A license or certificate holder’s continuing to practice while afflicted with an
infectious, contagious, or communicable disease;

5. Habitual drunkenness or addiction to use of habit forming drugs;

6. Advertising by means of statements known to be false or deceptive;

7. Continued or flagrant violation of any rules of the Board, or continued
practice by a Board licensee in a cosmetology salon or Barber shop wherein
violations of the.rules of the Board are being committed within the knowledge of
the operator;

8. Failure to display license or certificate as required by the Oklahoma
Cosmetology and Barbering Act;

9. Continued practice of cosmetology or barbering after expiration of a license
therefore;

10. Employment by a salon or barber shop owner or manger of any person to
perform any of the practices of cosmetology or barbering who is not duly licensed
to perform the services; or

11. Practicing cosmetology in an immoral or unprofessional manner.

SECTION 199.13 RECIPROCITY

A." The State Board of Cosmetology may issue a reciprocity license without
examination to an otherwise qualified applicant if:
1. The applicant has complied with the requirements of another state, territory or
foreign country or-province;
2. The applicant holds a current license from a state, territory, or province whose
- the requirements for registration are substantially equal to those in force in this state at
the time of filing application for a reciprocity license; and
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