COUNCIL ON LAW ENFORCEMENT EDUCATION AND TRAINING
Post Office Box 11476
Oklahoma City, OK 73136-0476
RESERVE PEACE OFFICERS - FACT SHEET

Appointment of municipal police officers: The authority for appointment of municipal police reserve officers is found in
TITLE 11, SECTION 34-101, of the OKLAHOMA STATUTES.

Appointment of county deputy reserve officers: The authority for appointment of county deputy reserve officers is found
in TITLE 19, SECTION 547, of the OKLAHOMA STATUTES.

Standards for training and certification of reserve peace officer: Title 70, Section 3311, of the Oklahoma Statutes
establishes minimum standards for the training and certification of reserve peace officers. The Council on Law Enforcement
Education and Training (CLEET) derives its authority from this statute.

Examination required for certification: Reserve peace officers, within one year of their commission or appointment as a
reserve officer, must satisfactorily complete a minimum 160-hour CLEET approved certification course and satisfactorily
complete all practicum work and pass all written examinations required for certification.

Requirements for attending training:
In order to attend CLEET approved certification training, reserve officers must meet, as a minimum, the following conditions:

1. Be at least 21 years of age, prior to certification as a peace officer.

2. Be a United States citizen or in resident alien status, as defined by U.S. Immigration & Naturalization Service.

3. Must be a high school graduate or have GED certificate. (Minimum requirements)

4, Must not have been convicted in state or federal court for any felony, crime of moral turpitude, or a crime of domestic
violence.

5. Must have fingerprint clearance from Federal Bureau of Investigation and the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation.

6. Must have been administered an approved psychological examination and had same evaluated by a state licensed
psychologist, and have an original affidavit from the psychologist attesting to the officer's suitability for "employment
as a peace officer."

7. Must be commissioned or appointed by employing agency prior to attending CLEET approved certification training.

8. Must be First Aid and CPR certified prior to attending CLEET approved training.

9. Must not have been involuntarily committed to an Oklahoma state mental institution.

10. Must submit all required documentation and enrollment materials.

Prohibited Affiliation: Title 47, Section 956(B) of the Oklahoma State Statutes states “No officer of the Department of Public
Safety, or any law enforcement officer of any political subdivision of the state shall have an interest, financial or otherwise, in
a wrecker or towing service, nor shall a wrecker or towing service employ such officer.”

Workers’ Compensation Insurance: Reserve peace officers must be covered by Workers’ Compensation Insurance as
required under Title 85, Section 3 of Oklahoma Statutes.

Reserve Officers Hours of Service:
° For cities or counties having a total population of less than two hundred thousand (200,000) persons, a reserve officer
shall serve not more than one hundred ten (110) hours per calendar month.

° For cities or counties having a total population of two hundred thousand (200,000) or more persons, a reserve officer
shall serve not more than one hundred forty (140) hours per calendar month.

Authority of Reserve Peace Officer while on-duty:
When on duty, reserve peace officers have same authority as full time certified peace officers, under Oklahoma Statutes.
Counties and municipalities may choose to limit assignment or authority of reserve peace officers under their jurisdiction.

Municipal reserve officers may be assigned to work alone prior to CLEET certification. County reserve officers must work with
a full-time officer until CLEET certified. This disparity is due to the factthat O. S. Title 11, 34-101 (municipalities) is “silent” with
respect to this issue while O. S. Title 19-547 (counties) specifically prohibits working alone until certified.

Authority of Reserve Peace Officer while off-duty:

Off duty reserve peace officers, with specific authority from the employing agency, may be permitted to carry off-duty weapons.
Authority is found under Title 21, Section 1289.23, of the Oklahoma Statutes. If such authority is granted, it must meet
requirements of this section. Counties and municipalities may choose not to permit off-duty weapon status.

Authority "employed":
The authority of a reserve peace officer exists only when the officer is "employed" by a law enforcement agency. If the reserve
officer leaves the agency, for any reason, the officer has no authority beyond that of a private citizen. The reserve officer's
certification with the State of Oklahoma remains valid, unless revoked, suspended, or the reserve officer is de-certified, as
provided for under Title 70, Section 3311, and/or, the administrative rules and regulations of CLEET.

-over-




Compensation:
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), as interpreted by the U. S. Department of Labor (DOL) states “public sector employers

may not allow their employees to volunteer, without compensation, additional time to do the same work for which they are
employed.” Department of Labor regulations, 29 CFR, section 553.103 defines “same types of services to mean similar or
identical services.” Substantially, persons who perform law enforcement duties/functions for which they are paid as an
employee, may not “volunteer” their services to the same agency. Whether the person is a civilian, or is commissioned, is not
an issue. DOL/FLSA regulations do not prohibit a person receiving compensation from one agency volunteering similar
services to a separate agency.

Dual Office Holding:

Senate Bill 620 amended O.S. 51, 1991, Section 6 allows “any person holding a state office or position who is a reserve force
deputy sheriff or reserve municipal police officer to hold another state office.” This allows an officer who is salaried in one
jurisdiction to be compensated as a reserve officer in a separate jurisdiction, provided all statutory and agency requirements
are met, and with knowledge and approval of appropriate agency administrators.

Senate Bill 1132, effective November 1, 2000, provides that any person who is a dispatcher or confinement officer at a
municipal law enforcement agency may serve as a hon-compensated reserve police office for the same agency.

Agreement - requirements of Title 70, Section 3311:

Reserve peace officers who have been absent during mandatory training, or who have not satisfactorily completed skills
proficiency portions of the academy may be denied the opportunity to participate in progress examinations or certification
examination. Upon satisfactory completion of remedial training and/or skills exercises, such examinations may be administered
by a CLEET Field Representative.

Reserve peace officers attending CLEET approved certification training must agree to do so under requirements of Title 70,
Section 3311, of the Oklahoma Statutes, and the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training (CLEET) Administrative
Rules and Regulations governing the Reserve Certification Program.

Approval of Reserve Academy:

CLEET does not actually conduct the Reserve Academy or certification training. CLEET issues approval for reserve academies
to be conducted by agencies meeting minimum standards for the conduct of such academies, including, but not limited to:
curriculum, facility, academy coordinator, instructors and scheduling.

Training and Qualification Requirements beyond certification:
Effective January 1, 2008, each officer must meet minimum standards for firearms requalification annually. Such requalification
will be reported to the Council on a specific form designated by CLEET.

There are no requirements that reserve peace officers receive training beyond that required for certification. The employing
agency may mandate training requirements for their reserve officers.

DISQUALIFICATIONS

Oklahoma State Statute Title 70 and Attorney General's Opinion 84-101 prohibits any individual who has ever been convicted
of a felony crime from becoming a commissioned peace officer, for that individual is not authorized to carry a firearm.

Falsification or a wilful misrepresentation of information in an employment application, or records of evidence, or in testimony
under oath.

No person who has had a police or peace officer certification from another state revoked or voluntarily surrendered shall be
considered for certification by CLEET within five (5) years of the effective date of any such revocation or voluntary surrender
of certification.

FEDERAL DOMESTIC VIOLENCE FIREARM LEGISLATION

The Gun Control Act makes it unlawful for a person who is the subject of a qualifying protection order to possess or receive
firearms or ammunition (section 922(g)(8) of the Gun Control Act). Under the ATF’s interpretation of the Official Use Exception,
this provision does not apply to persons “performing official duties on behalf of a Federal, State or local law enforcement
agency.” The ATF says that if officers are “authorized or required to carry their service weapon at all times, the exception
applies to their service weapon at all times.” “The exception does not apply for officers who are ‘off-duty’ at the end of a shift,
and are not authorized by statute, regulation, or official department policy to possess their duty weapons for the purpose of
performing official duties.”

NOTE: The RESERVE PEACE OFFICERS - FACT SHEET is designed to provide information and answers to the most frequently asked
questions regarding the Oklahoma Statutes governing the "employment" and certification requirements for reserve peace officers. Itis not
intended to include all information or address specific local issues.

Additional information may be obtained by contacting the Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training in Oklahoma City, (405) 239-
5100, or from a CLEET Field Representative. FACT-FRM.RES - Revised 12/5/07



